You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-02 01:13:55

blochl
Member
Registered: 2018-08-31
Posts: 73

[Solved] Patch to pacman-contrib - where to send?

Hi,

I have a patch for pacman-contrib that fixes an error on my system. To whom should I send it? My gut feeling says to do a `git send-email` to arch-dev-public, with cc to the people who are listed in the AUTHORS.md file. Am I right?

Last edited by blochl (2020-06-02 08:37:38)

Offline

#2 2020-06-02 01:57:38

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 23,727
Website

Re: [Solved] Patch to pacman-contrib - where to send?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bu … guidelines

But have you confirmed that it is a bug?  You say it fixes an error on your system.  What is the error?  Has anyone else replicated it?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2020-06-02 01:58:47

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,905
Website

Re: [Solved] Patch to pacman-contrib - where to send?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#4 2020-06-02 02:28:30

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,439

Re: [Solved] Patch to pacman-contrib - where to send?

Actually it is https://git.archlinux.org/pacman-contri … atches.txt because pacman and pacman-contrib were split apart.

So instead of the "pacman-dev" mailing list, use the "pacman-contrib" mailing list.

@blochl,

arch-dev-public is the publicly readable, but internal, list which is used for coordinating distribution-level discussions. It's not related to sending patches to any project.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#5 2020-06-02 04:20:25

blochl
Member
Registered: 2018-08-31
Posts: 73

Re: [Solved] Patch to pacman-contrib - where to send?

Trilby wrote:

But have you confirmed that it is a bug?  You say it fixes an error on your system.  What is the error?  Has anyone else replicated it?

It will happen on any system where there are many packages in the cache that need to be cleaned - the Bash command line which is expanded in the script becomes too long, and the script returns an "Argument list too long" error.

eschwartz - thanks! Sent. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB