You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-13 01:49:32

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Error

I typed in

pacman --sync --refresh --sysupgrade

My result was

loading package data... conflict: coreutils: syntax error in description file line 10
coreutils: syntax error in description file line 11
coreutils: syntax error in description file line 12
libglade: syntax error in description file line 11
mawk: syntax error in description file line 11

Then it spits out a bunch of lines of exists in filesystem.

Any idea of what this means?  What do I need to do get this to work?

Offline

#2 2004-02-13 02:13:58

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Error

You need to upgrade pacman first.  pacman -Sy pacman.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2004-02-13 11:43:36

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: Error

Thanks that did it, but now I have more problems.

My ping, find, ls and I am sure other commands are missing. 

My startx comes back with

Fatal server error:
No screens found

Any ideas.

Offline

#4 2004-02-13 12:58:27

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Error

What did you do before?

As I have to guess, you installed it from cd, not from ftp, as your pacman copy was old.

 pacman -Syu

will update your system.

Have you seen the install & firt steps documentation yet?
http://www.archlinux.org/docs/en/
Hello on board!


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#5 2004-02-13 13:05:34

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Error

So you've done pacman -Syu?

Have you also edited XF86config, or ran xf86config to set your settings?
Have you installed a window manager/desktop environment? If so, which one? You'll also need to edit your .xinitrc so that startx knows what it's doing.

Offline

#6 2004-02-13 13:33:52

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: Error

I ran

pacman -Syu

and I am still missing those files.

And why is it that some of my config files have been moved or modified?  My modules.conf was moved and resolv.conf was edited

I see what I did wrong with the X though.   I uncommented the wrong line.  :oops:

Offline

#7 2004-02-13 14:25:54

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Error

did coreutils install? if you do not recall it installing install it.

if it says that something conflicts with coreutils do you want it removed then you of course you say yes.

as for the editing of config files there is a section in your pacman.conf that you can place certain file name that you do not want modified. there are some in ther by default. modules.conf wasn't or isn't because it is not the standard arch module loading file. all modules you want to load can be placed in your modules array in rc.conf. resolv.conf should be in the ignore files section too but may not be. just add it and any other config file to that list.

i beleive this is all in the documantation, news sections of the web site.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#8 2004-02-13 15:00:14

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: Error

coreutils did install and I did say yes to replace

What the man reads is at no point says
edit current file

The closest it comes to is replace current file and back up old file.  (which answers one of my questions)

But for example on my resolv.conf I had
nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
It changed that to
xx.xxx.xxx.xxx
It removed the word nameserver and the first digit of the IP.

thanks for the help

Offline

#9 2004-02-13 15:30:06

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Error

well you can just reinstall coreutils. first clear the package from your cache and redownload and install it.

that is odd that the file would get editied because theoratically pacman is not capable of editing/modifying such files. config files are usually just replaced or backed up. did you run some sort of application that could have modified this file (some networking or printing applications will automatically edit  certain files.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#10 2004-02-13 16:01:20

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Error

Ping is part of the iputils package, just as you installed coreutils, install iputils.

Geez, all of you people should have done ftp installs...


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB