You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-05 19:21:48

thecrazylol
Member
Registered: 2006-10-05
Posts: 27

big problem with ethernet and wlan

i am using arch linux stable in 0.7.2 with kernel 2.6.18-ARCH (it isn't manipulated)
the rc.sysinit process needs a long time to load the network daemon
sometimes it will fail and sometimes it load successfull, but my aliases for the network modules are everytime in an other order
first possibility: wlan module (modul ipw2200) is used as alias eth1 or eth0 and the ethernet device(modul e100) is used as the other one of eth0/eth1 (<- is the grammar right now?)

second possibility:
both devices have the same alias, i had this possibility yesterday (both had the alias eth1!)

[thecrazylol@spoon ~]$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"ArcorWirelessLAN"  Nickname:"ArcorWirelessLAN"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:A0:C5:D1:42:7B
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=8/0
          Retry limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=92/100  Signal level=-36 dBm  Noise level=-85 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:1

sit0      no wireless extensions.

[thecrazylol@spoon ~]$ ifconfig
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:6F:81:5C:4E
          inet addr:192.168.1.37  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::216:6fff:fe81:5c4e/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:31976 (31.2 Kb)  TX bytes:5944 (5.8 Kb)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0x4000 Memory:d0200000-d0200fff

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:800 (800.0 b)  TX bytes:800 (800.0 b)

[thecrazylol@spoon ~]$

third possibility:
the ethernet device is not listed on ifconfig output, only in iwconfig but the wlan device is listed everytime in iwconfig


the kernel put logs like the following in the logs:

Oct 3 21:49:30 spoon ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
Oct 3 21:49:30 spoon e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
Oct 3 21:49:30 spoon ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready


rc.conf

#
# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux
#

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# LOCALIZATION
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# LOCALE: available languages can be listed with the 'locale -a' command
# HARDWARECLOCK: set to "UTC" or "localtime"
# TIMEZONE: timezones are found in /usr/share/zoneinfo
# KEYMAP: keymaps are found in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps
# CONSOLEFONT: found in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts (only needed for non-US)
# CONSOLEMAP: found in /usr/share/kbd/consoletrans
# USECOLOR: use ANSI color sequences in startup messages
#
LOCALE="de_DE.utf8"
HARDWARECLOCK="localtime"
TIMEZONE="Europe/Berlin"
KEYMAP="de"
CONSOLEFONT=
CONSOLEMAP=
USECOLOR="yes"

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# HARDWARE
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Scan hardware and load required modules at bootup
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
# Module Blacklist - modules in this list will never be loaded by udev
MOD_BLACKLIST=()
#
# Modules to load at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a module with a ! to blacklist it
#
MODULES=(e100 ipw2200)
# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM
USELVM="no"

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
#
HOSTNAME="spoon"
#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
#eth0="dhcp"
#eth1="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1)
#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
#
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network-profiles
#
#NET_PROFILES=(main)
#NET_PROFILES=(home)
#
#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# DAEMONS
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng dbus hal network netfs crond wifi-radar)


# End of file

modprobe.conf

[thecrazylol@spoon ~]$ cat /etc/modprobe.conf
#
# /etc/modprobe.conf (for v2.6 kernels)
#
alias wlan0 ipw2200
alias eth0 e100
[thecrazylol@spoon ~]$    

thank u for the great distri smile[/code]

Offline

#2 2006-10-05 19:42:45

toxic
Member
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 117

Re: big problem with ethernet and wlan

There are several solutions to making sure that your eth0 stays with your wired connection and eth1 for your wireless.


1) /etc/modprobe.conf

alias eth1 ipw2200

2) Load the modules in MODULES array in the order you need them (lan drivers first, wlan second)
3) Bind the MAC address to iftab config. man iftab for more details.
4) Create a udev rules file, also binding mac to an alias.
This could look something like this:
/etc/udev/rules/my_new_eth.rules

KERNEL="eth0", SYSFS{address}="aa-bb-cc-dd-ee-ff", NAME="eth0" 

Try "ifconfig eth0 up" to see if that makes any difference for your wired NIC to see if shows up at all when running ifconfig. There's also the possibility that you're not using the proper driver for you network.

Offline

#3 2006-10-05 19:58:59

thecrazylol
Member
Registered: 2006-10-05
Posts: 27

Re: big problem with ethernet and wlan

the drivers are allright i think
i have followed some tutorials for my notebook
it is an ibm/lenovo thinkpad r50e 1834 SWG
i will look for a chance that your howto get it allright...
thank you smile

Offline

#4 2006-10-07 14:37:46

thecrazylol
Member
Registered: 2006-10-05
Posts: 27

Re: big problem with ethernet and wlan

sooo, it is running smile
in combination with the ifrename and a script which will run ifconfig eth0 up on startup .... smile
thank u very much smile

Offline

#5 2006-10-07 16:13:55

toxic
Member
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 117

Re: big problem with ethernet and wlan

Glad that it worked out for you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB