You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-07 07:26:03

curana
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 97
Website

cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

Hi again,

cpudyn or cpufreqd (i tried both) can set my cpu only on 600 or 1500 MHz, but nothing in between. Also I think the throttling is very sensitive. Means: I move my mouse quickly and it suddenly is 1500MHz.

How can I set this up a little different? I want it to scale also in between 600 and 1500 MHz.

My modules and Daemons:
speedstep-centrino
cpufreq_powersave
cpufreq_userspace
freq_table
asus_acpi
cpufreq_ondemand

Daemons:
!cpudyn
acpid
mkvmdev
cpufreqd

cpudyn is disabled as I am trying cpufreqd at the moment.
Any hint?

Thank you.

Offline

#2 2006-10-07 07:33:50

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

Check out what frequencies your CPU supports by doing:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

(also, it's a good idea to just poke around that directory to see how things are).
For example mine are:

1660000 1660000 1660000 1660000 1660000 1660000 1660000 1660000 1328000 996000

(I only have 3 steps, don't know if I could change that). Now, in cpufreqd.conf replace the percentage steps with actual clock speeds. Like this:

[Profile]
name=On Demand High
minfreq=1328000
maxfreq=1660000
policy=ondemand
[/Profile]

[Profile]
name=On Demand Low
minfreq=996000
maxfreq=1328000
policy=ondemand
[/Profile]

This should work as intended. I don't know, however, how to help you with the sensitivity issue.

Offline

#3 2006-10-07 07:56:49

curana
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 97
Website

Re: cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

Ok, I have 1500000 1400000 1200000 1000000 800000 600000
But somehow cpufreqd doesnt want to work for me.

I just add "cpufreqd" to the daemons list, right?

Offline

#4 2006-10-12 08:02:26

benplaut
Member
From: Not-so-sunny Hawaii
Registered: 2006-06-13
Posts: 383

Re: cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

you've used both... is there a major difference between cpudyn and cpufreqd?


<zyth> OH GOD IT HURTS rauble
<Monk-e> rauble, roflrofl
<Monk-e> wtf?
<rauble> arpil fooz!

Offline

#5 2006-10-12 09:08:04

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

Instead of using userpace solutions, you could install cpufrequtils and set the governor to ondemand (or other governor of your choice) by executing "cpufreq-set -g ondemand" (add that line to /etc/rc.local to make it permanent). Then you can observe how things work for you with "cpufreq-info".

Offline

#6 2006-10-12 21:58:06

peterk0
Member
Registered: 2006-07-19
Posts: 34

Re: cpufreqd OR cpudyn problem

conservative would be better IMHO if you want to experience more steps in your scaling. ondemand boosts you on max freq if the cpu power is needed, conservative on the other hand scales your cpu by steps supported until it reaches optimal cpu power

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB