You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-07 22:12:57

cactus2000
Member
Registered: 2006-10-07
Posts: 12

[USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

Hello,

(First of all, excuse me for my poor english :oops: , but I will do my best)  wink

So, I have read the how-to, but I still have this problem, when I plug the modem (from dmesg) :

usb 1-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 8
usb 1-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
usb 1-2: reset full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 8
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 1 firmware speedtch-1.bin
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 2 firmware speedtch-2.bin
speedtch 1-2:1.0: speedtch_upload_firmware: read BLOCK2 from modem failed (-110)!
speedtch 1-2:1.0: speedtch_heavy_init: firmware upload failed (-110)!

Any idea to make it work ?

It's for my mother's PC, and she will bo back home (400 km) on tuesday...  :cry:
It would be great for her to leave Windows !  tongue

Thank you for your help.

Cactus.

Offline

#2 2006-10-07 23:53:04

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: [USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

It seems like the modem is recognized and accessed, I wonder if the firmware is a windows only bynary
Have you taken a look at the manual?

R

Offline

#3 2006-10-08 06:04:39

cactus2000
Member
Registered: 2006-10-07
Posts: 12

Re: [USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

Thank you for your answer.

I downloaded the rev4*.zip, unzip it, mv the 2 files (one small, one large) like it is written in the how-to.
So, how can I verify if the file is binary or ascii ?
What do you mean by "taking a look at the manual" ?

Offline

#4 2006-10-08 12:26:45

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: [USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

I'm talking of the manual that came with the modem. Does it say anything about the firmware?

Offline

#5 2006-10-09 13:53:36

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: [USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

Do you mean neostrada? You just need to put downloaded firmware to directory and it works without any additional effort. Firmware from CD won't work.

Offline

#6 2006-10-27 09:25:16

TheBodziO
Member
From: Dukla, Poland
Registered: 2006-07-28
Posts: 228
Website

Re: [USB Modem] Alcatel Speedtouch can't load firmware...

I've got similar problem but with the exception that I'm experiencing it during system boot. I've got speedtch module added to modules list in /etc/rc.conf but when system is loading it, BAM!:

usbcore: registered new driver speedtch
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 1 firmware speedtch-1.bin
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 2 firmware speedtch-2.bin.4.00
speedtch 1-2:1.0: speedtch_upload_firmware: read BLOCK4 from modem failed (-110)!
speedtch 1-2:1.0: speedtch_heavy_init: firmware upload failed (-110)!

I'm using simple workaround for this situation. Maybe it'll be sufficient also for you untill someone will step forward with more elegant fixup.

This is what I'm doing. After completed bootup I'm logging in and then I'm unloading, and loading module once again:

modprobe -r speedtch && modprobe speedtch

This results in:

usbcore: deregistering driver speedtch
usbcore: registered new driver speedtch
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 1 firmware speedtch-1.bin
speedtch 1-2:1.0: found stage 2 firmware speedtch-2.bin

But this time firmware loads smoothly and:

Oct 27 09:57:14 bodzio ATM dev 0: ADSL line is synchronising
Oct 27 09:57:29 bodzio ATM dev 0: ADSL line is up (640 kb/s down | 160 kb/s up)

Now it's perfectly ok to start pppd.

I'm perfectly aware that the whole issue is not pppd's or it's startup script's problem but still pppd's starting script from /etc/rc.d/ppp is showing calming message

Plugin /usr/lib/pppd/2.4.4/pppoatm.so loaded.
PPPoATM plugin_init
PPPoATM setdevname_pppoatm - SUCCESS:0.35

regardles of firmware beeing loaded properly or not.

More info can be found in logs since after problems with sending firmware to modem one can see:

Oct 27 09:44:45 bodzio pppd[3197]: pppd 2.4.4 started by root, uid 0
Oct 27 09:44:46 bodzio pppd[3197]: connect(0.35): No such device
Oct 27 09:44:46 bodzio pppd[3197]: Exit.

and when everything is ok:

Oct 27 09:57:38 bodzio pppd[3372]: pppd 2.4.4 started by root, uid 0
Oct 27 09:57:38 bodzio pppd[3372]: Using interface ppp0
Oct 27 09:57:38 bodzio pppd[3372]: Connect: ppp0 <--> 0.35

Well, maybe I was a bit too verbose now wink and more apropriate place for this is in bugzilla (I think I should fill in a bug report or something wink ) but I hope that this will help a bit nevertheless.

One last thing! Sometimes even above described procedure doesn't help right away. In such situations I'm disconnecting my modem from usb for a couple of minutes and then plugging it again. But this is really rare situation.


It's not the best thing when they call you a "member" you know… wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB