You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-10 01:20:19

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Filesystem Check Fail

Well, after rebooting earlier, I got to where it does it's normal filesystem check and it failed to my surpise. Apparently something is wrong, I pressed Ctrl+D because I didn't know how to fix what was wrong and it booted because it didn't check the filesystem that time. But I am sure when it checks again it will say that same, How do I go about finding whats wrong and fixing it?

Offline

#2 2006-10-15 13:46:15

mr.MikyMaus
Member
From: +3600 UT
Registered: 2006-03-31
Posts: 270

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

twiistedkaos wrote:

Well, after rebooting earlier, I got to where it does it's normal filesystem check and it failed to my surpise. Apparently something is wrong... ...But I am sure when it checks again it will say that same.

That's protective measure. Fsck will refuese to check mounted filesystem, it is too dangerous. And until the filesystem is flagged clean, fsck will allways try to check it. But it won't check it while it's mounted.. sort of chicken and egg thing, if your root is corrupted smile

Do NOT ever try to force fsck of mounted partition unless you are Chuck Norris!

Good way to check root filesystem is to use some live distro and fsck it from there (prior to check, you should umount that filesystem, if the live distro mounts by default. most of them do)

-Miky.


What happened to Arch's KISS? systemd sure is stupid but I must have missed the simple part ...

... and who is general Failure and why is he reading my harddisk?

Offline

#3 2006-10-15 17:16:45

sash
Member
Registered: 2005-10-16
Posts: 155

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

I get the same with my / partition (ext3). Every time there is a scheduled fsck, the check fails on first run. After a reboot, it succeeds but it offsets the clock.

It is quite annoying, since my machine is usually scheduled to boot itself up for mythtv recordings. Coming home to a failed fsck prompt and no mythtv recordings is no fun.

Offline

#4 2006-10-15 17:44:41

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

You might want to keep an eye on http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/5445


1000

Offline

#5 2006-10-15 17:47:30

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

sash wrote:

After a reboot, it succeeds but it offsets the clock.

There maybe a software bug somewhere, I get the same thing on both my arch and gentoo box.

Offline

#6 2006-10-20 17:10:21

davidwillis
Member
Registered: 2006-09-19
Posts: 49

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

everytime I log on I get a failure.  It says something to the effect that my last write time is in the future, and says it fixed it.

Offline

#7 2006-10-20 21:02:02

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

Same issue here - I've seen mention of it on the mailing list, too.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#8 2006-10-20 21:14:52

entvex
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 52

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

i got the same problem


Linux can run on any thing...
look at me
[img]http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/8413/indexol8.png[/img]

Offline

#9 2006-12-02 14:47:15

mcrae
Member
From: Brunswick, GA
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 88

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

Did anyone figure out what the problem was?
I am having this same issue after a recent re-install. It's irritating not being able to figure it out!
I've checked my hardware clock which is set to local time.....I can't figure it out.......
Anyone have better luck?

McRae

Offline

#10 2006-12-02 16:07:32

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Filesystem Check Fail

mr.MikyMaus wrote:

Good way to check root filesystem is to use some live distro and fsck it from there (prior to check, you should umount that filesystem, if the live distro mounts by default. most of them do)

Or create the file /forcefsck.  If the system finds it on boot, it will force a check of all filesystems, removing the need to get a livecd or rescue disc.  Handy smile

As for the time issue, I only get it on my computer that has time set to localtime, it's fine on my UTC boxes.  I'm personally blaming Windows wink


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB