You are not logged in.

#1 2020-09-13 14:15:16

PsychonauticFreckles

Few questions about GnuPG

I checked the official wiki, but I am not an expert in tech and the wiki page for GnuPG felt a bit too overwhelming. Regardless, I tried searching for the answers of my questions, but was unable to find anything absolute. Hence, I am forced to ask here. I wholeheartedly thank anyone who takes the time to answer and I do apologize for my naivete.

1. How secure is the GnuPG symmetric encryption? I mean, has it been audited? How is it compared to something like Veracrypt?

2. Are the defaults good enough for the symmetric encryption? Like can I just run gpg -c file and get the best possible security standard or do I need to pass something like "--s2k-cipher-algo AES256 --s2k-digest-algo SHA512 --s2k-count 65536" as mentioned in the wiki?

3. Is it possible to disable creating the .gnupg directory and its files? It saves the password, which is something I don't want.

4. Are the symmetric encrypted files portable? Like, if I create an encrypted file, can I move it to my pen drive and decrypt it on another system?

5. Does the encrypted file contain any metadata about the encryption? Like, if someone grabs the encrypted file, will he be able to decipher whether GnuPG was used for encryption and which encryption algorithms were used?

EDIT: I am talking about the symmetric encryption of GnuPG, not the asymmetric one.

Last edited by PsychonauticFreckles (2020-09-13 15:57:30)

#2 2020-09-13 15:38:34

GaKu999

Re: Few questions about GnuPG

1: Depends on the algorithm, a RSA4096 key is usually pretty strong, and of course don't go sharing your private key.

2: You can change some defaults with the .conf files inside $GPGHOME, usually ~/.gnupg

3: No, it's needed, why would you want it to not exists? Do you know how it works? It doesn't save any passwords...