You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-13 14:51:05

hadr1an
Member
Registered: 2016-03-07
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Audio suddenly died, can't figure out why

Hi all,

I don't know if I messed up with the system somehow. However, here are some outputs which somebody probably will know a bit more.

systemctl --user status pulseaudio.service

gives:

● pulseaudio.service - Sound Service
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/user/pulseaudio.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
     Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Tue 2020-10-13 16:21:09 CEST; 5s ago
TriggeredBy: ● pulseaudio.socket
    Process: 12290 ExecStart=/usr/bin/pulseaudio --daemonize=no (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
   Main PID: 12290 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Oct 13 16:21:08 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: Failed to start Sound Service.
Oct 13 16:21:09 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: pulseaudio.service: Scheduled restart job, restart counter is at 5.
Oct 13 16:21:09 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: Stopped Sound Service.
Oct 13 16:21:09 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: pulseaudio.service: Start request repeated too quickly.
Oct 13 16:21:09 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: pulseaudio.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Oct 13 16:21:09 hadr1an-pc systemd[3305]: Failed to start Sound Service.

and

$ systemctl status alsa-state.service 
● alsa-state.service - Manage Sound Card State (restore and store)
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/alsa-state.service; static)
     Active: inactive (dead)

.

alsa-info.sh

gives:

alsactl: save_state:1595: No soundcards found...

.

pulseaudio -v

gives:

I: [pulseaudio] main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_NICE, (31, 31)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_RTPRIO, (9, 9)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: [pulseaudio] core-util.c: Successfully gained nice level -11.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: This is PulseAudio 13.0
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Page size is 4096 bytes
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Machine ID is e20a56bb671b46f7a513e781a4c246e0.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Session ID is 2.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using runtime directory /tmp/hadr1an-pulse.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using state directory /tmp/hadr1an-pulse.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using modules directory /usr/lib/pulse-13.0/modules.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Running in system mode: no
E: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: pa_pid_file_create() failed.

.

I tried apply the workaround from: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=241834 but seems like a different thing regarding the alsa-info.sh output. Also tried https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=114524 with no luck.

Any help will be appreciated!

My hardware reports:

$ lsmod | grep snd

snd_hda_intel          53248  0
snd_intel_nhlt         20480  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec         159744  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core          102400  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               143360  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              40960  1 snd_pcm
snd                   110592  6 snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,thinkpad_acpi,snd_pcm
soundcore              16384  1 snd

and

$ lspci -v | grep -A7 -i "audio"

00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation CM238 HD Audio Controller (rev 31)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Device 505d
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 255
        Memory at f2340000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Memory at f2330000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Capabilities: <access denied>
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel

Last edited by hadr1an (2020-10-13 17:16:43)

Offline

#2 2020-10-13 15:22:35

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,831

Re: [SOLVED] Audio suddenly died, can't figure out why

The HDA intel module is not in active use.  so something broke on a kernel level

dmesg | grep snd
pacman -Q linux
uname -a

Last edited by V1del (2020-10-13 15:23:13)

Online

#3 2020-10-13 15:45:23

hadr1an
Member
Registered: 2016-03-07
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Audio suddenly died, can't figure out why

Well I changed

options snd_hda_intel enable=0,1 

to

options snd_hda_intel enable=1

in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf and now sound seems to be working again. However, I'm still getting this output in pulseaudio -v:

I: [pulseaudio] main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_NICE, (31, 31)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_RTPRIO, (9, 9)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: [pulseaudio] core-util.c: Successfully gained nice level -11.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: This is PulseAudio 13.0
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Page size is 4096 bytes
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Machine ID is e20a56bb671b46f7a513e781a4c246e0.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Session ID is 2.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using runtime directory /tmp/hadr1an-pulse.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using state directory /tmp/hadr1an-pulse.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Using modules directory /usr/lib/pulse-13.0/modules.
I: [pulseaudio] main.c: Running in system mode: no
E: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: pa_pid_file_create() failed.

and I guess that the sound setup is a bit messed up. Do I need to move the post to newbie corner?
Furthermore,

$ dmesg | grep snd 
[    2.443930] snd: unknown parameter 'thinkpad_acpi' ignored
[    2.985246] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: Applying patch firmware 't470p.fw'
[    3.002683] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
[    3.299263] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC298: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    3.299265] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    3.299267] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=2 (0x17/0x21/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    3.299268] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    3.299269] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    3.299270] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x18
[    3.299271] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Dock Mic=0x19
[    3.299273] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x12

$ pacman -Q linux-lts   
linux-lts 5.4.70-1

$ uname -a
Linux hadr1an-pc 5.4.70-1-lts #1 SMP Wed, 07 Oct 2020 23:54:51 +0000 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#4 2020-10-13 16:04:36

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,831

Re: [SOLVED] Audio suddenly died, can't figure out why

Well yes, what was your intention here? You only have one hda card if you are setting enable to 0 then you disable the card. Did you want to disable hdmi? You can't really do that this way as both outputs are logically linked to the same card, and afaik i915 doesn't provide a dedicated param like e.g. amdgpu or radeon.

The pulseaudio error is normal, pulse is already running recheck the status with systemctl --user

Last edited by V1del (2020-10-13 16:05:21)

Online

#5 2020-10-13 16:57:09

hadr1an
Member
Registered: 2016-03-07
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Audio suddenly died, can't figure out why

True. Don't really know why I had this configuration.

Anyway thanks.

I'll mark the thread as solved as soon as I reboot to the newest update of pulseaudio just in case.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB