You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-17 16:12:27

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,034

Set "Broadcast RGB" to "Full" before initializing the screen?

I just discovered that for whatever reason my intel gpu set limited color range and so the picture displayed by the monitor is not perfect.
issuing: xrandr --output HDMI2 --set "Broadcast RGB" "Full"
fixes it, but the monitor goes black for a couple of seconds when i set it.
Would it be possible to set the property right into an xorg configuration file?

Thanks.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-10-18 10:01:12)

Offline

#2 2020-10-17 16:41:09

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 24,430
Website

Re: Set "Broadcast RGB" to "Full" before initializing the screen?

According to the wiki it is not.  But there are several ways to have the xrandr command run at startup depending on how you start X.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2020-10-17 20:04:00

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,034

Re: Set "Broadcast RGB" to "Full" before initializing the screen?

Yes, thanks, but my intent was to avoid the "glitch".
I thought that doing that when the screen was initialized could do the trick.

Offline

#4 2020-10-17 20:27:29

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,889

Re: Set "Broadcast RGB" to "Full" before initializing the screen?

You can try to run a proptest command during boot to set the property:

https://www.brad-x.com/2017/08/07/quick … n-wayland/
https://github.com/swaywm/sway/issues/3173


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#5 2020-10-18 06:24:24

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,034

Re: Set "Broadcast RGB" to "Full" before initializing the screen?

Veru interesting and informative progandy, thank you.

I did not even considered that probably even the console is using a limited color range, and so i'd have the 'glitch' anyway.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB