You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-01 15:07:59

Cyberpunk_Is_Bae

Install Hangs on "Booting from Hard Disk..."

I'm in a VM.

I'm going for the simplest possible install with encryption.  I'm used to using install scripts and just want to get something that will boot and support encryption right now.  I understand setting timezone and so on is important but it is not my current goal.  I want to understand what the install scripts are doing so I'm doing things manually at this time.

I did this:

# nano /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist // and pick favorite servers

# cfdisk // and set up a basic linux drive

# cryptsetup luksFormat MY_HD // Do the things it asks, set a good password etc
# cryptsetup luksOpen MY_HD data

# mkfs.ext4 /dev/mapper/data
# mount /dev/mapper/data /mnt

# pacstrap /mnt base linux linux-firmware

# genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab

# arch-chroot /mnt

# exit
# reboot

I assume LUKS is breaking the install somehow, but I am new to doing this manually, so please don't murder me.

Is this the wrong procedure for doing an encrypted setup?  If so, what is the right one?

Thanks.

Last edited by Cyberpunk_Is_Bae (2020-11-01 15:10:04)

#2 2020-11-01 15:11:38

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: Install Hangs on "Booting from Hard Disk..."

If that is literally all of what you've done so far you are missing quite a bit but most importantly a boot loader.

Go over https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … the_system again.

... Also configuring timezone and the time setup correctly is generally not an optional operation as many real life usecases rely on it being correct even if just for "testing" purposes

Last edited by V1del (2020-11-01 15:16:22)

#3 2020-11-02 01:38:02

Cyberpunk_Is_Bae

Alright from what I have above, I'm now creating a 200M boot partition before the main hard drive, and I now run mkinitcpio -P between arch-chroot and passwd, to address the additional step of cryptsetup from what the guide provides.