You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-20 03:51:56

zw963
Member
Registered: 2018-06-18
Posts: 122

GNOME extended desktop issue reconnect laptop into external monitor

When started, i consider this issue is a Fcitx specified issue, so i create a new github issue
for it.(Chinese, anyway, you can check the screenshot in that issue).

https://github.com/fcitx/fcitx/issues/476

But, soon, i found it happen on Firefox menu, VirtualBox menu and more, so, i consider
this maybe GNOME or others issue

Following is a detailed description about this issue.

1. Start arch linux with external monitor(type-c) connected, all works well.(i set external monitor as main)

2. Unplug the external monitor, and works on laptop, all works well too.

3. reconnect external monitor again, it's seems like works well, until i click "Help" menu on firefox on the main screen(left), and the pop up menu show on the another screen(right)

Following is screenshot.


https://i.imgur.com/GtfETtr.jpg

Firefox Right key menu is same too,

And, you can see same behavior on Fcitx too.

When i input some chinese in left(external) scrrenshot Konsole.

https://user-images.githubusercontent.c … 25e2c9.jpg

Then, you can see candicate menu show on another screen.

https://user-images.githubusercontent.c … 5bcfc6.jpg

Thank you!

---------------------------------------------

Following is my .config/monitors.xml, maybe help.

<monitors version="2">
  <configuration>
    <logicalmonitor>
      <x>0</x>
      <y>520</y>
      <scale>1</scale>
      <primary>yes</primary>
      <monitor>
        <monitorspec>
          <connector>DP-1</connector>
          <vendor>DEL</vendor>
          <product>DELL P2714H</product>
          <serial>XT1VF54308CS</serial>
        </monitorspec>
        <mode>
          <width>1920</width>
          <height>1080</height>
          <rate>60.000495910644531</rate>
        </mode>
      </monitor>
    </logicalmonitor>
    <logicalmonitor>
      <x>1920</x>
      <y>0</y>
      <scale>1</scale>
      <monitor>
        <monitorspec>
          <connector>eDP-1</connector>
          <vendor>LGD</vendor>
          <product>0x05f8</product>
          <serial>0x00000000</serial>
        </monitorspec>
        <mode>
          <width>2560</width>
          <height>1600</height>
          <rate>59.994426727294922</rate>
        </mode>
      </monitor>
    </logicalmonitor>
  </configuration>
  <configuration>
    <logicalmonitor>
      <x>0</x>
      <y>0</y>
      <scale>2</scale>
      <primary>yes</primary>
      <monitor>
        <monitorspec>
          <connector>eDP-1</connector>
          <vendor>LGD</vendor>
          <product>0x05f8</product>
          <serial>0x00000000</serial>
        </monitorspec>
        <mode>
          <width>2560</width>
          <height>1600</height>
          <rate>59.994426727294922</rate>
        </mode>
      </monitor>
    </logicalmonitor>
  </configuration>
</monitors>

Mod note: Removed oversized images -- V1del

Last edited by V1del (2020-11-20 07:50:11)

Offline

#2 2020-11-20 07:51:19

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,183

Re: GNOME extended desktop issue reconnect laptop into external monitor

Please don't embed huge images directly: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code

Offline

#3 2020-11-22 04:12:03

zw963
Member
Registered: 2018-06-18
Posts: 122

Re: GNOME extended desktop issue reconnect laptop into external monitor

Sorry, forget to mention a detail for reproduce this issue:

1. I use Gnome + Wayland

2. For this issue can be reproduced, e.g. Fcitx, after unplug the monitor, i have to open fcitx to input some characters when only have one monitor,
And, then, connect the secondary monitor, this issue can be reproduce, if only unplug and connect monitor immediately, this issue not happen.

Thank you!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB