You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-20 06:28:55

lgtegetege
Member
Registered: 2020-11-08
Posts: 11

Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

Hello, it is well known that there is a whole mess on thinkpad x1c7 and x1x8 audio in linux. it was supposed to be completely solved with pulseaudio13.99 and sof-firmware, and i have both of them installed but my audio is still not as good as it should be, i'm dualbooting with windows and i can easily compare to determine that audio quality when i'm on arch is still a little bit lower, i would like to know if somebody is still struggling with this or if it is completely solved now and i'm just missing something

Offline

#2 2020-11-20 08:05:14

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,183

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

It's not about audio quality, but about whether the devices are detected and working at all. If that is the case sof-firmware has mostly done it's job

"Audio quality" is a largely subjective topic and can be manipulated in various ways. which knobs have you turned to get better quality, how are you measuring whether you get better quality, is it louder?

If you want to actually find out what's going on you need to be more specific. What kind of audio (which input and which output sample rates) are you playing in Windows, which on Linux, are any special "software enhancement" knobs enabled there ? What's your output for

aplay -l
amixer -c0 #Or whatever's the correct index
pacmd list-cards
pacmd list-sinks
pacmd list-sink-inputs

Offline

#3 2020-11-20 14:35:34

lgtegetege
Member
Registered: 2020-11-08
Posts: 11

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

Hello, its related to the audio channels, not all of them are enabled, it is a well known issue with this 2 models, but it was supposed to be solved with pulseaudio 13.99, specially with the bass sound, allow me to finish working to show you the outputs as i dont use my personal computer at work

Offline

#4 2020-11-20 14:47:21

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,183

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

As far as I've heard you can mute a certain control, as counterintuitve as that sounds

Offline

#5 2020-11-21 02:06:00

lgtegetege
Member
Registered: 2020-11-08
Posts: 11

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

 [lgtegetege@lgtegetege ~]$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: sofhdadsp [sof-hda-dsp], device 0: HDA Analog (*) []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: sofhdadsp [sof-hda-dsp], device 1: HDA Digital (*) []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: sofhdadsp [sof-hda-dsp], device 3: HDMI1 (*) []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: sofhdadsp [sof-hda-dsp], device 4: HDMI2 (*) []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: sofhdadsp [sof-hda-dsp], device 5: HDMI3 (*) []
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

amixer -c0 output:               http://ix.io/2ETs
pacmd list-cards                 http://ix.io/2ETu
pacmd list-sinks                  http://ix.io/2ETv
pacmd list-sinks-inputs 

pacmd list-sink-inputs
0 sink input(s) available.

i put the large outputs in paste links to not make the post too big.
About muting a channel, i have tried that thing too, let me show you how my alsamixer, as some of the channels are not enabled.   https://imgur.com/NYeHo3R

It is supposed that i have to mute the "speaker" bar but it isnt even recognized yet

hope this information is enough to solve this, thanks for your help smile

Last edited by lgtegetege (2020-11-21 04:17:36)

Offline

#6 2020-11-21 10:18:56

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,183

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

They are recognized but they are digital values that don't have a bar and just an on/off switch. right now all of them are on (the 00) if you hit M that should toggle it to off/mute (MM). Or

amixer -c0 set 'Speaker',0 off,off

Offline

#7 2020-11-23 06:20:40

lgtegetege
Member
Registered: 2020-11-08
Posts: 11

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 8 audio

i tried muting that item in the alsamixer and didnt work, i dont know if im missing something, arch wiki says that all those instructions are not necessary if i have sof-firmware and pulseaudio13.99 installed, and i have both. the first distro i tired was ubuntu 20.04 and my audio is definitely much better here, but its still not as good as it is on windows.

Last edited by lgtegetege (2020-11-23 06:21:02)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB