You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-04 22:26:16

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

QCA6390 support not enabled

How does one go about making a pull request to the arch default kernel config? I can't find any mention of it in the wiki, and the AUR package linux-git is lagging pretty far behind so I know that's not involved. I can see the patched kernel sources here but of course there's no default config there.

I'm asking because support for QCA6390 wifi has landed in the kernel in the ath11k module, however installing 5.10.4.arch2-1 with pacman and rebooting is not enough to get a working system. Using a clean kernel tree and the /proc/config.gz from the arch kernel, adding only CONFIG_ATH11K_TRACING=y, the chip comes to life. Currently it's # CONFIG_ATH11K_TRACING is not set according to /usr/src/linux/.config. As far as I can tell this is the only missing piece to a fully out of the box working Arch on the full range of Dell XPS laptops.

Full diff between non-working and working config follows. I don't know why the CONFIG_USER_NS_UNPRIVILEGED is also changed, it's not something I did manually, suspect it has something to do with using the stable kernel tree instead of the archlinux kernel sources.:

➜  kernel git:(b1313fe517ca) diff .config /usr/src/linux/.config 
3c3
< # Linux/x86 5.10.4 Kernel Configuration
---
> # Linux/x86 5.10.4-arch2 Kernel Configuration
24c24
< CONFIG_LOCALVERSION="athtest-5.10.4"
---
> CONFIG_LOCALVERSION=""
200a201
> CONFIG_USER_NS_UNPRIVILEGED=y
3469c3470
< CONFIG_ATH11K_TRACING=y
---
> # CONFIG_ATH11K_TRACING is not set

Last edited by BMS (2021-01-04 22:37:46)


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

#2 2021-01-04 22:36:33

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,949

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

That is strange as CONFIG_ATH11K_TRACING enables building trace.o [1] which pulls in  [2] / [3] can not see how that should change what hardware is supported.

[1] https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/ … kefile#L23
[2] https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/ … 1k/trace.c
[3] https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/ … 1k/trace.h

Offline

#3 2021-01-04 22:40:03

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

I agree it is strange, but according to kvalo it should be enabled, and I can't read the kernel sources well enough to know what difference it could make to leave it disabled.


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

#4 2021-01-04 22:51:51

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,949

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

If you build the Arch linux package with just that option changed and it also resolves the issue I would suggest opening a feature request on the Arch Bug Tracker.

Last edited by loqs (2021-01-04 22:52:08)

Offline

#5 2021-01-05 07:41:48

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

Building it now. Is the arch kernel config really not in source control anywhere?
Oh you said package, I'm building the kernel from the patched arch sources. I found the package sources and will build them instead.

Last edited by BMS (2021-01-05 07:44:25)


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

#6 2021-01-05 09:37:15

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,122

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

BMS wrote:

I agree it is strange, but according to kvalo it should be enabled, and I can't read the kernel sources well enough to know what difference it could make to leave it disabled.

Most likely these instructions are meant for testing, so getting tracing and debug information is important to find and fix bugs.


Don't forget to copy the firmware to the correct location.


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#7 2021-01-05 10:51:29

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

If I hadn't copied the firmware to the correct location, my custom kernel wouldn't be able to make the wifi work, so that's not the issue.
I have built two versions of the arch linux package, trying to get as close to the working config as possible, neither of which worked. I'll file a bug report with the configs and logs after work. In case anyone's interested in following along I'll update this post with a link when I do.

Edit: Link to reported bug as promised

Last edited by BMS (2021-01-05 16:08:18)


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

#8 2021-01-06 00:35:24

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,949

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

Works under 5.10.4 but not 5.10.4-arch2 somehow caused by one of the commits Arch is locally applying?
https://git.archlinux.org/linux.git/log … 10.4-arch2

Edit:
Might be worth trying https://patchwork.kernel.org/project/li … urora.org/
As it includes debugging of firmware timeouts which seems to match your bug report.

Last edited by loqs (2021-01-06 06:34:54)

Offline

#9 2021-01-07 10:00:16

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

Applying the patch doesn't seem to change anything in the logs. Running makepkg -f seems to unapply the patch but I can see the module being rebuilt by make, so I think the changes are being applied before the repo gets cleaned. In any case, the patch is not applied in stable v5.10.4 tag that's working for me so it shouldn't need to be applied to the arch tree either.


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

#10 2021-01-07 15:12:55

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,122

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

Tell makepkg to use the existing sources instead of a fresh copy: makepkf -ef

Maybe the problem are some *FLAGS settings from makepkg.conf, even though I believe the kernel build should ignore them. Try to build the arch kernel without the pkgbuild or build the unpatched kernel with the PKGBUILD.

Last edited by progandy (2021-01-07 15:17:44)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#11 2021-01-15 19:29:53

syniick
Member
Registered: 2018-09-18
Posts: 3

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

BMS wrote:

As far as I can tell this is the only missing piece to a fully out of the box working Arch on the full range of Dell XPS laptops.

It would be great to be able to install a fully working version of Arch out of the box on an XPS with a QCA6390, but as far as I can tell from the bug report, the issue reported here is still preventing that?

Offline

#12 2021-01-15 19:54:52

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,949

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

syniick wrote:

It would be great to be able to install a fully working version of Arch out of the box on an XPS with a QCA6390, but as far as I can tell from the bug report, the issue reported here is still preventing that?

You could test if the issue is still present?  If it is you could see if you can replicate BMS's findings and if you can continue to locate what difference between upstream and Arch is causing the issue.

Offline

#13 2021-01-23 21:06:12

BMS
Member
From: Oslo
Registered: 2012-11-30
Posts: 8
Website

Re: QCA6390 support not enabled

I can at least say that it's still happening on 5.10.9. I'm not currently using this computer, as I'm on a client project where they're making me use their hardware, but I'll keep experimenting when I have time.


Developer
Dell XPS 15 9500
Will eventually get around to reviving brbcoffee

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB