You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-07 09:29:56

SecondComing
Member
From: Eureka Springs, AR
Registered: 2020-10-25
Posts: 11
Website

[SOLVED] Firefox (apparently) executes but doesn't appear in a window

My graphical environment is xmonad. When I try executing firefox, it shows successfully starting…

[1] 608

but I don't get a window with firefox. Doing `pgrep firefox' confirms

[1]+  Exit 127    firefox &> /dev/null

So I'm not sure why the window isn't appearing, as I've done this the same way countless times. Anyone have a clue?

Last edited by SecondComing (2021-01-07 18:01:19)


Follow me, if you will, to a place of great depth and colossal profundity, if you dare, and be treated, you will, to the holiest of lights shed upon you by the revelation of just a few of my deepest kept secrets wink No jk, but
215-421-1486
eminger@distruzione.org
https rentry co keeppush p/h keep hush keep push keep <3 on the down-low

Offline

#2 2021-01-07 11:36:06

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,186

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox (apparently) executes but doesn't appear in a window

How up to date is your system and when did you last recompile xmonad and do you see any errors in journal/your xmonad logs. Is this just firefox or are other windows affected as well?

Last edited by V1del (2021-01-07 11:36:29)

Offline

#3 2021-01-07 13:26:37

SecondComing
Member
From: Eureka Springs, AR
Registered: 2020-10-25
Posts: 11
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox (apparently) executes but doesn't appear in a window

This is a fresh new Arch install so everything is up to date. I recompiled xmonad literally hours ago. No other windows are affected, I can run blender and dosbox just fine.


Follow me, if you will, to a place of great depth and colossal profundity, if you dare, and be treated, you will, to the holiest of lights shed upon you by the revelation of just a few of my deepest kept secrets wink No jk, but
215-421-1486
eminger@distruzione.org
https rentry co keeppush p/h keep hush keep push keep <3 on the down-low

Offline

#4 2021-01-07 17:43:41

CarbonChauvinist
Member
Registered: 2012-06-16
Posts: 315

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox (apparently) executes but doesn't appear in a window

What does

$ type firefox
$ which firefox

return?

This seems strange to me...

SecondComing wrote:

[1]+  Exit 127    firefox &> /dev/null

Are you starting the application in background and redirecting output to /dev/null? Am I misinterpreting this output?

How are you "starting firefox" exactly?


"the wind-blown way, wanna win? don't play"

Offline

#5 2021-01-07 17:59:59

SecondComing
Member
From: Eureka Springs, AR
Registered: 2020-10-25
Posts: 11
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox (apparently) executes but doesn't appear in a window

What in the actual hell. Okay turns out firefox wasn't installed. I swore I had it included in my Arch install scripts but nope. Solved.


Follow me, if you will, to a place of great depth and colossal profundity, if you dare, and be treated, you will, to the holiest of lights shed upon you by the revelation of just a few of my deepest kept secrets wink No jk, but
215-421-1486
eminger@distruzione.org
https rentry co keeppush p/h keep hush keep push keep <3 on the down-low

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB