You are not logged in.

#1 2021-02-10 15:19:03

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

Hello,
The issue is that whenever I suspend my desktop and attempt to resume/wake it, a restart occurs. Its a repurposed Dell XPS 8700. I was having some issues with the system attempting to resume instantly but it was due to a usb device, which I disabled in /proc/acpi/wakeup with a systemd service as described in [SOLVED] Suspend_Wakeup /proc/acpi/wakeup file.
Anyway, it doesn't seem to matter the device I use to resume, it always restarts (whether the power button is used to resume or not).
journalctl -b from boot suspended from
journalctl -b from boot after attempting to resume
I think it does actually go into sleep:

Feb 10 09:50:00 benpc systemd[1]: Reached target Sleep.
Feb 10 09:50:00 benpc polkitd[675]: Unregistered Authentication Agent for unix-process:739:5234 (system bus name :1.31, object path /org/freedesktop/PolicyKit1/AuthenticationAgent, locale en_US.UTF-8) (disconnected from bus)
Feb 10 09:50:00 benpc systemd[1]: Starting Suspend...
Feb 10 09:50:00 benpc systemd-sleep[744]: Suspending system...
Feb 10 09:50:00 benpc kernel: PM: suspend entry (deep)

Furthermore, the power button is illuminated orange to represent suspended state.
The boot after trying to resume looks totally normal.

My /etc/systemd/logind.conf has every line commented.

Any other logs/configs/other things I can provide?

Last edited by kinru (2021-02-10 15:21:43)

Offline

#2 2021-02-10 16:23:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,167

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

How many parallel windows installations do you have?

Offline

#3 2021-02-11 00:19:43

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

seth wrote:

How many parallel windows installations do you have?

0 Since 2016 big_smile

Offline

#4 2021-02-11 14:57:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,167

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

Any other parallel OS that might be in hibernation?

Can you S3 using rtcwake or does that cause a reboot as well?

sudo rtcwake -m mem -t "$(date -d '+ 30 sec' +%s)"

Offline

#5 2021-02-11 16:09:39

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

No other OS installed but Arch Linux. I have a second drive with my backup but this problem occurred before that was added.

sudo rtcwake -m mem -t "$(date -d '+ 30 sec' +%s)"

Results in a reboot once the time is up.

Strangely I don't see a sign of going into suspend before the reboot in the journal: http://sprunge.us/k1K9PF

I am running Linux-Zen but I doubt that has any effect; IIRC, issue occurred whilst using stock kernel as well.

EDIT: I should also say that there is also only 1 install of arch linux.

Last edited by kinru (2021-02-11 16:10:19)

Offline

#6 2021-02-11 16:42:50

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,167

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

I don't think rtcwake isolates a systemd target but just writes the power state into the kernel.

You could try to lie to the BIOS, add

acpi_osi=! acpi_osi="Windows 2009"

to the kernel commandline.
I'd also try some random live distro to ensure this is something about your system and not a potential HW defect.

Offline

#7 2021-02-11 18:59:47

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

I added

acpi_osi=! acpi_osi="Windows 2009"

to the kernel commandline according to the directions available at the Kernel Parameters wiki page, and I did not observe and change in behavior. Upon triggering a resume the power led goes dark, blinks twice, then is solid. The system reboots fully (like I can access GRUB or BIOS if I hit the key).

I tried suspending with a Pop! OS usb which I had lying around and it also did not function (identical symptoms). So probably not a problem specific to Arch Linux, or the hardware is bad, however I doubt this as suspend worked fine as the previous owner ran Windows and was fine.

I am going to see if hibernation has the same effects. Maybe the memory is losing power for some reason.

Offline

#8 2021-02-11 21:26:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,167

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

From the voodoo box:
- "acpi_sleep=nonvs"

nonvs prevents the kernel from saving/restoring the ACPI NVS memory during suspend/hibernation and resume.

- BIOS soft/hard reset.

Offline

#9 2021-02-11 21:44:58

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,612
Website

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

I always post this in these kind of threads

https://01.org/blogs/rzhang/2015/best-p … ate-issues


Fix yo shit: journalctl -b -p warning
Mein Github
"Learning the hard way is the only way for many."
Advaita: Robert Adams, Francis Lucille, Rupert Spira

Offline

#10 2021-02-12 16:26:47

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

So I set up Hibernation and it works. I thought it failed, since it booted up normally, but at the end of the boot, I was back in X.

I tried acpi_sleep=nonvs however the behavior persisted.

I also added debug to the kernel commandline each time booting (I didn't add to default parameters).
After it crashes/reboots:


Maybe I can quickly do a magic sysrq while resuming and maybe dump the memory, stack backtrace, or something like that.

The last line in the first log in this post says

Feb 12 11:08:40 benpc kernel: PM: suspend entry (deep)

Maybe there is some kind of "c level" problem.

I'm looking for bios updates but AFAIK I'm on the latest one. What do you mean by BIOS reset, reflash the BIOS?
EDIT: After checking it is indeed the latest BIOS version available.

Last edited by kinru (2021-02-12 16:30:18)

Offline

#11 2021-02-12 18:12:53

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,612
Website

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

Did you even read my link?

Something to try...

echo 0 > /sys/power/pm_async

Fix yo shit: journalctl -b -p warning
Mein Github
"Learning the hard way is the only way for many."
Advaita: Robert Adams, Francis Lucille, Rupert Spira

Offline

#12 2021-02-12 21:44:34

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

ugjka wrote:

Did you even read my link?

Of course I read the link. Furthermore, I read some of the article, and there are probably more than 20 different things listed. Its not instant to decide which ones to test, and to carry out testing. I'm not a professional and troubleshooting this is not the only thing I have to do (school), so please have some patience.

Now,

echo 0 > /sys/power/pm_async

Does not resolve the issue.
EDIT: I also tried this with rtcwake rather than systemctl suspend. No difference.

I also got the analyze_suspend tool from the article. However, only the mem_dmesg.txt was generated after using it (rather than the expected 3 files). Here are the contents

# suspend-021221-163131 benpc mem 5.10.15-zen1-1-zen
# sysinfo | man:Dell Inc. | plat:XPS 8700 | cpu:Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz | bios:A14 | biosdate:05/31/2019 | numcpu:8 | memsz:16340812 | memfr:11820692
# command | analyze_suspend.py 
# EXECUTION TRACE START
# initialize ftrace
# read dmesg
# start ftrace tracing
# run the cmdinfo list before
# [cat /proc/interrupts]
# [cat /sys/kernel/debug/wakeup_sources]
# [sh -c grep -v invalid /sys/firmware/acpi/interrupts/*]
# [sh -c grep -v invalid /sys/power/suspend_stats/*]
# [sh -c grep -v invalid /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpuidle/state*/s2idle/*]
# [sh -c grep -v invalid /sys/class/power_supply/*/*]
# enable RTC wake alarm
# system executing a suspend

Also from the article, I grep'ed dmesg for S0, in order to find the following line:

[    0.152543] ACPI: (supports S0 S3 S4 S5)

According to an earlier sent link, the system attempts to go into S3 suspend (because the journal says going into "deep" sleep rather than something like "stop clock" or "deeper sleep") and that should be supported.

Last edited by kinru (2021-02-12 21:51:55)

Offline

#13 2021-02-12 22:10:59

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,167

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

What do you mean by BIOS reset

CMOS reset or temporarily remove the battery. Some boards also have a HW switch so you don't have to remove the battery to get the same effect.

Offline

#14 2021-02-12 22:46:01

kinru
Member
From: East Coast USA
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 99

Re: Unable to resume from suspend, reboots instead.

Ok, pulled the CMOS battery, then ran

sudo hwclock --systohc

.
Then attempt suspend with

systemctl suspend

Still fails to resume correctly.

There is no serial port on the back of my computer, so I assume there is no way for me to use the console= parameter?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB