You are not logged in.

#1 2021-02-24 01:27:06

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

I just did a fresh install of Archlinux with Cinnamon DE.  When I installed vlc my first test was h.264 videos in mv4 and mkv files. Those played fine.

However, when I tried to play a stream from my HDHomerun tuner I got nothing. (http://192.168.0.27:5004/auto/v5.1)  I turned on logging but the file had nothing that made any sense as an obvious error.

Before I go further, I wanted to ask if there is some obvious package that I should have installed to stream internet streams. I also could not stream from my mythtv server using streaming (http://192.168.0.250/mythweb/pl/stream/ … 962800.asx)

Both of these stream source work on Windows vlc and Linux Mint 20 vlc

So I'm guessing I'm missing some package.  Any ideas???

Offline

#2 2021-02-24 01:59:56

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,239

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

Which formats aren't working? Check the optional dependencies...

pacman -Si vlc

No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Online

#3 2021-02-24 02:21:54

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

Slithery wrote:

Which formats aren't working? Check the optional dependencies...

pacman -Si vlc

The format that isn't working is the stream from HDHomerun tuner which streams MPEG2
I noticed that libva--vdpau-driver was not installed and is an optional dependence.  But installing that didn't fix it.

Offline

#4 2021-02-27 12:05:54

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

I've done more testing. It's not just streaming, it's even playing a local MPEG2 (ts) file. when I play from the console, I get nothing on the vlc screen, but the console has tons of mpeg2video errors Invalid frame dimensions.

Same issue if I test on Manjaro.  I've only seen this error on Archlinux based systems. No issues on anything Debian/Ubuntu based.

EDIT:  I've tested on different GFX cards and under KVM-QEMU virtual machines.  Same results and errors. Works on any Ubuntu distro and fails on any Archlinux distro

Last edited by jfabernathy (2021-02-27 12:19:16)

Offline

#5 2021-02-27 21:21:16

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

another data point.  I have a Raspberry Pi 4 with Manjaro on it and it has no issues with playing the same stream or MPEG2 files that will not play on my x86_64 arch or manjaro system.

Offline

#6 2021-03-05 12:57:06

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

I got a suggestion on the Manjaro forum to add a package " aribb24"

That work, and I put together a Qemu VM of Archlinux and it also work there as well.

I'd suggest that this library be added to the dependency list for vlc on Archlinux.

Offline

#7 2021-03-05 13:46:22

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,564

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

It's an optional dependency which pacman will inform you about, you should read pacman output during install.

Offline

#8 2021-03-05 13:58:16

jfabernathy
Member
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 42

Re: vlc not streaming from HDHomerun tuner

V1del wrote:

It's an optional dependency which pacman will inform you about, you should read pacman output during install.

Not sure how a user is to know that an optional package with a weird name is needed to play the most common format of free streaming video in the USA?

every other vlc install package for all other Linux distros include what it takes to play mpeg2 .ts files/streams by default.

Thanks goodness that the AUR maintainers for MythTV include support for mpeg2 because that's MythTV's primary function.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB