You are not logged in.

#1 2021-03-12 05:21:46

HighValueWarrior

Migrate from Samsung SSD to Samsung Nvme

Hello all,

I have 2 samsung ssd in my wife's system and going to add a samsung 970 nvme.
One of the ssd has windows on it  - the other primary ssd is arch of course.

I plan to use the samsung magician software while booted in the windows ssd to clone arch linux ssd to the nvme ?
Should the clone be successful - what else will I need to do to make everything boot ?
Has anyone done something similiar ?

Thanks for reading.

#2 2021-03-12 06:42:39

jonno2002

Re: Migrate from Samsung SSD to Samsung Nvme

#3 2021-03-12 06:51:36

d_fajardo

I have no experience with samsung magician and I personally wouldn't touch my archlinux system using windows.
If I were you I would simply do a full system backup with rsync while booted in archlinux. Have a good read of the section Full system backup of that page.

#4 2021-03-12 08:29:10

Neonvieh
Website

I was in exactly the same situation and I did the top to bottom method about 2 months ago. Keep in mind to use compatible partition formats (think about capital file names and symlinks in particular).

My method was similar to the article linked by @jonno2002. I first cleaned up the system as good as possible and then migrated it to the newly created partition with rsync (dont remember the flags I used). Note that i did not dd the whole partition since I wanted to resize in the process as well. While my old system and new one were working perfectly fine I would not recommend this procedure for everyone. A clean install where you only migrate a package list and the needed settings is what I would recommend. However since I did not find it necessary in my case and I was a bit lazy and had to use my system in the upcoming weeks and didn't want to spend a whole lot of time reconfiguring my new install, I figured that this was the way to go for me.