You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-16 10:20:06

sweiss

A few questions before moving

Hello.

I've been using Linux for about 5 months, mainly worked with Slackware. I am considering moving to Arch, but I'm not quite sure what is needed to do so. I've read that using the installer would require you to select which modules you want to be loaded manually, and frankly I'm not quite sure what I do have or not. However, reading the docs I did not find any reference regarding module loading as setup. Does it really exist or not? If so, will lsmod on Slackware reveal all the module names I need?

And another question, I'm pretty much familiar with the way Slackware ticks, configuration wise. Is Arch a lot different from it? I might need to use some other linux distributions at a job place or so, and so I'd like to know how, let's say, general, Arch Linux is.

Thank you.

#2 2004-02-16 12:12:03

farphel
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: A few questions before moving

If all of your hardware is working under Slack, an lsmod should tell you the names of the modules you'll need under Arch as well.  It might be a good idea to hold onto your XF86Config-4 file from Slack if you run X.

As far as loading the modules under Arch, the easiest way to do that is add the list of names (emu10k1, eepro100, etc.) to the MODULES line of /etc/rc.conf.

In terms of how to install, your best bet right now is to grab the Arch-0.5-base iso (the small one) and install that.  You configure your network by editing /etc/rc.conf (if you use dhcp, add eth0="dhcp").  Once you have your network up and running, the next thing is to sync your local package database; type 'pacman -Sy; pacman -S pacman; pacman -Su'.
That will get your base system upgraded to the 'pre-0.6 release'.  From there, you can start adding any other packages you want.

Good luck,
farphel