You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-04 23:19:09

voidfemme
Member
Registered: 2021-03-27
Posts: 4

firefox file browser issues with bspwm

hello, I'm a hobbyist and fairly new to Arch and to the command-line, but I'm learning my way around. I really jumped in, over my head, with Arch, but it's been so rewarding, as I'm an incorrigible tinkerer ☺️

I'm running into a strange problem though: Whenever the file browser opens, bspwm tiles it instead of allows it to float, which is a little frustrating, because it often makes the file chooser dialog rearrange my windows, often in a way that disrupts my workflow.

i read through this reddit post, which solved the issue for other applications, but not for firefox.

I don't really know how to diagnose where the issue is coming from. Ive done lots of google searching, and nothing so far has been helpful. Any tips on where to go from here?

let me know If I should add any information or screenshots

thanks in advance

Last edited by voidfemme (2021-04-04 23:20:04)


"Every one of us is, in the cosmic perspective, precious."

-Carl Sagan

Offline

#2 2021-04-05 13:37:05

twelveeighty
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 815

Re: firefox file browser issues with bspwm

Most tiling WMs have a way to set up rules to 'float' windows based on window IDs/name. I assume that is what that Reddit post is about, but please post *your* specific config in code tags so we can have something to work with.

Offline

#3 2021-04-08 21:32:10

voidfemme
Member
Registered: 2021-03-27
Posts: 4

Re: firefox file browser issues with bspwm

Thanks for taking the time to reply, twelveeighty!

Actually, when I copy/pasted my bspwm config into this post and was cleaning it up for readability, I found the problem line in my code and solved the problem.

I'm unsure how these posts are moderated, but I'll post my solution here in case another noob finds it useful.

it was admittedly a very silly and specific mistake.

I had written a bunch of comments in order to help me understand the bash (because I'm still learning the language). So when reading the .bspwmrc, I was overlooking the relevant lines.

I like having my windows in monocle when they are not tiled, so I added the line:

bspc config single_monocle		true

And I forgot that I had done this very sloppily before I knew single_monocle existed, I was using a rule for firefox thusly:

bspc rule -a firefox state=tiled desktop_layout=monocle

Which obviously was my problem.

tl;dr:


"Every one of us is, in the cosmic perspective, precious."

-Carl Sagan

Offline

#4 2021-04-09 01:02:15

voidfemme
Member
Registered: 2021-03-27
Posts: 4

Re: firefox file browser issues with bspwm

Returning to this because I ran into more problems after deleting those lines. I'm going to post my .xinitrc and bspwmrc to see if anyone can help me.

BSPWM is not following the rules in bspwmrc, or even when I type them into my terminal. I'm confused, because bspwmrc even displays that the rules are loaded.

Please help me figure out whether I am misunderstanding my machine, or if I'm encountering a bug.

Much thanks in advance.

$ bspc rule -l

kitty:*:* => state=floating rectangle=700x375+1500+50 border_width=0
zoom:*:* => state=floating
libreoffice:*:* => state=floating
Kupfer.py:*:* => focus=on
Screenkey:*:* => manage=off
pavucontrol:*:* => state=floating

$ cat .config/bspwm/bspwmrc

 
#! /bin/sh

nitrogen --restore &
polybar -c ~/.config/polybar/config.ini top &
pgrep -x sxhkd > /dev/null || sxhkd &

bspc monitor -d I II III IV V VI 

bspc config border_width         1
bspc config window_gap           0
bspc config split_ratio          0.52
bspc config borderless_monocle   true
bspc config gapless_monocle      true
bspc config single_monocle		 true

# border color config :

# bspc config normal_border_color \#fff0f0
# bspc config active_border_color
# bspc config focused_border_color
bspc config presel_feedback_color \#ff8c8c

# pointer config:

bspc config pointer_modifier mod1
bspc config pointer_action1 resize_side
bspc config pointer_action1 resize_corner
bspc config pointer_action3 move
bspc config focus_follows_pointer true


bspc rule -a kitty state=floating rectangle=700x375+1500+50 border_width=0

#bspc rule -a terminator state=floating rectangle=700x375+1500+50 border_width=0

bspc rule -a zoom state=floating

bspc rule -a libreoffice state=floating

bspc rule -a Kupfer.py focus=on
bspc rule -a Screenkey manage=off
bspc rule -a pavucontrol state=floating

$ cat .xinitrc

#!/bin/sh

xinput --set-prop 'SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad' 281 1
userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then







    xrdb -merge $sysresources

fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then







    xrdb -merge "$userresources"

fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

# twm &
# xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
# xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
# xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
# exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login

xrandr &&

xset +fp /home/rosep/.local/share/fonts
xset fp rehash
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr

exec bspwm -c ~/.config/bspwm/bspwmrc

"Every one of us is, in the cosmic perspective, precious."

-Carl Sagan

Offline

#5 2021-04-10 13:50:41

twelveeighty
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 815

Re: firefox file browser issues with bspwm

voidfemme wrote:
xrandr &&


xset +fp /home/rosep/.local/share/fonts

This looks wrong to me. There's nothing &&-ed on that line - you may have meant a single &, but why do you run xrandr without any parameters in your xinitrc?

Offline

#6 2021-05-04 06:53:12

voidfemme
Member
Registered: 2021-03-27
Posts: 4

Re: firefox file browser issues with bspwm

twelveeighty wrote:
voidfemme wrote:
xrandr &&


xset +fp /home/rosep/.local/share/fonts

This looks wrong to me. There's nothing &&-ed on that line - you may have meant a single &, but why do you run xrandr without any parameters in your xinitrc?

So.... that looks wrong because it is wrong. I barely understand bash (I'm just dipping my toes into scripting, so I'm learning)

I don't know what an ampersand does in that situation, or any situation in bash, let alone two ampersands. I don't remember putting that in there, but I'm almost certain that I did it just to see what would happen.


"Every one of us is, in the cosmic perspective, precious."

-Carl Sagan

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB