You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-06 08:03:20

foxxy
Member
Registered: 2018-07-15
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Is PipeWire meant to replace JACK?

Hi all,

I'd tried PipeWire, replacing PulseAudio and JACK for a pure PipeWire installation. Everything worked until I tried creating audio using Ardour, Hydrogen, and GuitarX. I'd configured PipeWire to have roughly the same as I do with JACK, but under PipeWire there was an intolerable increase in x-runs and the clients seemed to drift in and out of sync.

Is PipeWire not meant to replace JACK or does it sound like I've configured it wrong?


Pete.

Last edited by foxxy (2021-04-06 10:53:35)

Offline

#2 2021-04-06 08:43:56

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 1,115

Re: [SOLVED] Is PipeWire meant to replace JACK?

Offline

#3 2021-04-06 10:34:45

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 708

Re: [SOLVED] Is PipeWire meant to replace JACK?

Unlike JACK, PipeWire does not implement MIDI transport properly yet, so syncing Hydrogen does not work with PW. For that use case, stay with JACK/JACK2 for now. Other than that, e.g. using qtractor where all your instruments are plugins in the main app, it works pretty well though.

Offline

#4 2021-04-06 10:53:20

foxxy
Member
Registered: 2018-07-15
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Is PipeWire meant to replace JACK?

Morn wrote:

PipeWire does not implement MIDI transport properly yet

Thanks I wasn't aware of this, makes my other issues moot. I'll hold off until it has parity with JACK2.

Last edited by foxxy (2021-04-06 15:24:35)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB