You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-26 15:16:13

itsjustlag
Member
Registered: 2021-04-26
Posts: 2

uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

Hello there, I tried running `uname -r` and `-uname -i` and the output is "unknown". I have some software that relies on those commands, and because of this, it's not working. How can I solve this?

My CPU:
Intel Core i7 10750H

My GPU:
GTX 1660 ti Mobile

My Machine:
Lenovo Legion 5i

I installed Arch using the guided "archinstall" command.

Thanks!

Last edited by itsjustlag (2021-04-26 15:18:30)

Offline

#2 2021-04-26 15:26:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,844
Website

Re: uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

Which kernel version is installed? Check /boot & /lib/modules to find out.

From my system:

empty@archie:~ $ uname -r
5.11.16-zen1-1-zen
empty@archie:~ $ uname -i                                                                
unknown
empty@archie:~ $

So I don't think the hardware platform output is supported for that kernel at least.

itsjustlag wrote:

I installed Arch using the guided "archinstall" command.

Please use the "report" button on your post and request that this thread be moved to the forum area reserved for support of that tool.

Please also post your full installation log. Thanks.

Offline

#3 2021-04-26 15:28:35

itsjustlag
Member
Registered: 2021-04-26
Posts: 2

Re: uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

ah, I use the zen kernel. is that the problem? do i have to switch back to the normal kernel?

Offline

#4 2021-04-26 15:30:49

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,844
Website

Re: uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

I don't know if the vanilla kernel supports that option. Given that Arch is x86_64 only then it seems unlikely.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2021-04-26 15:33:01)

Offline

#5 2021-04-26 15:34:58

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,607

Re: uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

uname -i is not portable, as noted in the man page. Any software that relies on it isn't well written.

Offline

#6 2021-04-26 15:44:10

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,470

Re: uname -r and uname -i outputs to "unknown"

Moved to 'Arch Guided Installer'.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB