You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-09 17:54:10

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Non-booting GRUB

Hello !
I'm new to the Arch Linux distribution, but not to Linux in general.
After I've installed Arch Linux, the bootloader (GRUB) I've installed wasn't booting. It was showing off a Grub Shell.

After searching on the Internet, I knew that GRUB didn't find the grub.cfg file. However, that file exists on the file system  (/boot/grub/grub.cfg).

I also found a way to manually boot the system from the GRUB Shell, but honestly, it's annoying to do that on each boot.

I finally booted from the Arch bootable usb and reinstalled the Grub several times, I've even formated the boot partition and reinstalled Grub, and finally completely reinstalled Arch, but it still doesn't work.

Can someone help me, please ?

Here are the commands I use to boot the system:

set root=(hd0,3)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initrd-linux.img
boot

Offline

#2 2021-05-09 19:33:38

nikinbaidarr
Member
Registered: 2021-05-06
Posts: 35

Re: Non-booting GRUB

I had the same problem when I was installing arch just recently. I was setting the boot partition as 500M first but then I decided to extend the boot partition up to 1GB and then the system would boot perfectly. I suggest you give it a shot too.

Are you doing a UEFI or a legacy boot btw?

Last edited by nikinbaidarr (2021-05-09 19:35:34)

Offline

#3 2021-05-09 21:48:50

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Re: Non-booting GRUB

I'm doing a UEFI Boot.

My boot partition has already 1GB of disk space

Last edited by K-S3curity (2021-05-09 21:49:50)

Offline

#4 2021-05-10 01:07:25

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 4,097

Re: Non-booting GRUB

From the grub prompt, what is the output of

echo $root
echo $prefix

If this is correctly set to your /boot directory's partition ("hd0,3"?) then grub should be trying to load grub.cfg


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#5 2021-05-10 18:26:18

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Re: Non-booting GRUB

No, (hd0,3) is my root partition, my boot partition is (hd0,1)
I'm going to give that a try and then edit my reply

EDIT:
So the output of "echo $root" is :
hd0,gpt1

And the output of "echo $prefix" is :
(hd0,gp1)/grub

Note:
(hd0,1) : /boot partition
(hd0,2): Swap partition
(hd0,3): Root partition

Last edited by K-S3curity (2021-05-10 18:33:20)

Offline

#6 2021-05-11 08:14:30

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,844
Website

Re: Non-booting GRUB

K-S3curity wrote:

After searching on the Internet, I knew that GRUB didn't find the grub.cfg file. However, that file exists on the file system  (/boot/grub/grub.cfg).

That 'grub>' prompt will also be shown if grub.cfg does not contain any menuentry stanzas so you should probably share the contents of that file, or at least check it.

You should have mentioned the exact commands you used to install & configure Arch & GRUB.

K-S3curity wrote:

Here are the commands I use to boot the system:

set root=(hd0,3)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initrd-linux.img
boot
[...]
So the output of "echo $root" is :
hd0,gpt1

And the output of "echo $prefix" is :
(hd0,gp1)/grub

So is /boot on /dev/sda3 or /dev/sda1? If those 'grub>' commands worked then /boot seems to be on /dev/sda3 (ie, the root partition) whereas GRUB is looking for grub.cfg on /dev/sda1.

K-S3curity wrote:

I'm doing a UEFI Boot.

Please also post the output of

efibootmgr -v

Offline

#7 2021-05-11 10:03:15

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Re: Non-booting GRUB

/dev/sda1 is my boot partition
To configure Arch, I followed the installation guide.
I've installed grub using the following commands:
pacman -S grub efibootmgr
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Offline

#8 2021-05-14 11:49:35

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Re: Non-booting GRUB

Can someone help me ?

Offline

#9 2021-05-14 12:17:17

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 3,720

Re: Non-booting GRUB

K-S3curity wrote:

Can someone help me ?

Please don't do that.

Offline

#10 2021-05-15 10:36:15

K-S3curity
Member
Registered: 2021-05-09
Posts: 6

Re: Non-booting GRUB

Sorry

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB