You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-11 16:41:07

hikikomori666
Member
Registered: 2021-05-11
Posts: 7

Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

Hello everybody,
I am trying to install arch linux on a Hyper-V gen-2 virtual machine using the new archinstall guided installer. When requested which video driver to install, on the basis of what I have read at https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Hyper-V I have selected fbdev (I am not using gpu passtrough).
During the installation process, immediately after the installation of plasma-meta konsole kate dolphin sddm plasma-wayland-session I get some messages of the type
hv_vmbus: No request id available+
but I don't know if they are relevant.
However when I try to login in kde session the screen becomes blank ad I can't do anything else
Can anyone help me to understand what's wrong?

Last edited by hikikomori666 (2021-05-11 16:46:21)

Offline

#2 2021-05-11 16:43:11

Khere
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2020-03-04
Posts: 141

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

hikikomori666 wrote:

I don't know if they are relevant.

If it work and you don't have any problem with your Arch installation don't touch nothing


Fan of Giorgio Moroder & Mohammad Ammax enemy

Offline

#3 2021-05-11 16:48:36

hikikomori666
Member
Registered: 2021-05-11
Posts: 7

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

Khere wrote:
hikikomori666 wrote:

I don't know if they are relevant.

If it work and you don't have any problem with your Arch installation don't touch nothing

Sorry, I had forgotten a piece of my post. I have problems in login in the kde session, see edited message above.

Offline

#4 2021-05-11 16:50:15

hikikomori666
Member
Registered: 2021-05-11
Posts: 7

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

Sorry again. It was the kde-wayland session not workingm instead kde-x11 seems to work fine.

Offline

#5 2021-05-11 18:50:09

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,885

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

Moved to "Arch Linux Guided Installer" subforum


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2021-05-14 15:52:55

hikikomori666
Member
Registered: 2021-05-11
Posts: 7

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

Ok, then  I have done other steps and Installed again arch using archinstall with xfce, and again it works (for some reasons instead I get a blank screen when triying to select Gnome as DE).
Then I have gone trough the wiki and I have enabled  Hyper-V integration services and configured screen resolution at boot time.
I haven't been successful instead with Enhanced Session: I have been able to install the linux-vm-tools with git and to enable hv_sock from Windows. Where I'm failing is at editing  ~/.xinitrc to start Xfce.
I have copied /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc to my home directory and just added the line
exec startxfce4
at the end of file, but I still can't connect to xfce session. Could anybody help me to fix this issue?

Offline

#7 2022-11-16 18:29:06

k247tEK
Member
Registered: 2022-06-25
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

hi hikikomori666,

hikikomori666 wrote:

exec startxfce4

in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

note.. to start xfce4-Desktop without dbus-launch, dbus-x11 has to be installed & dbus removed..

$ yay -S dbus-x11

or try..

exec dbus-launch startxfce4

more info..
Edit ~/.xinitrc to start Desktop Environment

hope this still helps,
k,

Last edited by k247tEK (2022-11-16 20:00:47)


(tEK_Newbie)
we live & learn..]]]....

Online

#8 2022-11-18 00:50:43

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,764

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

k247tEK wrote:
$ yay -S dbus-x11

Please don't recommend the use of yay.


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#9 2022-11-19 06:32:18

k247tEK
Member
Registered: 2022-06-25
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

hi cfr,

opps... I'm new to arch...

will not do so from now on...

any alternative to use.. or is it the AUR... ?

thanks for the heads up..
k,

Last edited by k247tEK (2022-11-19 06:34:15)


(tEK_Newbie)
we live & learn..]]]....

Online

#10 2022-11-19 16:24:19

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,764

Re: Using archinstall to install arch on Hyper-V

k247tEK wrote:

any alternative to use.. or is it the AUR... ?

Using makepkg directly is better and then using more minimal AUR helpers, if preferred. AUR helpers which blur the difference between the official repos and AUR are particularly problematic, because you shouldn't trust AUR as there are no safeguards against malicious or (more likely) incompetent PKGBUILDs. You also tend to get problems because, if you don't know which packages are from AUR, you aren't as well equipped to deal with problems when incompatibilities arise as a result of updates to the official repos.


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB