You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-25 16:20:22

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Raspberry Pi OS allows the user to configure the wpa_supplicant to connect to wifi. And now I would like to install Arch into Rock Pi X (x86 SBC), but I don't have any display screen that could connect to it. And also no extral cable. Any solutions to solve it?
I found file "ARCH_202105/arch/pkglist.x86_64.txt", it seems that pkg wpa_supplicant is available when installation.

Last edited by malacology (2021-05-25 16:44:04)


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#2 2021-05-25 17:33:08

ua4000
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 243

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Create the config file for wpa: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Wpa_su … th_wpa_cli
and enable e.g. systemd-networkd systemd-resolved who will make use of wpa, if the config file is named correctly, e.g. "wpa_supplicant-wlan0.conf"

By the way, how to you plan to install Arch without display and cable ? I'm not aware of official ready-to-run images for arch, like they exist for archarm.

Offline

#3 2021-05-25 17:36:27

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,633

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

I'm assuming they're planning to ssh into it.

Offline

#4 2021-05-25 17:43:19

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,510

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

I believe archiso comes with cloudinit now, so follow the headless install tips here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Instal … ux_via_SSH


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#5 2021-05-26 00:47:41

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

progandy wrote:

I believe archiso comes with cloudinit now, so follow the headless install tips here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Instal … ux_via_SSH

Right, that's what I wanted. I am a little worried if the ssh is not auto opened


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#6 2021-05-26 00:48:58

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

ua4000 wrote:

Create the config file for wpa: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Wpa_su … th_wpa_cli
and enable e.g. systemd-networkd systemd-resolved who will make use of wpa, if the config file is named correctly, e.g. "wpa_supplicant-wlan0.conf"

By the way, how to you plan to install Arch without display and cable ? I'm not aware of official ready-to-run images for arch, like they exist for archarm.

Acutually, I have one cable but now used by wifi machie. And the ROCK PI X is not an arm machine but x86.


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#7 2021-05-26 00:50:15

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Scimmia wrote:

I'm assuming they're planning to ssh into it.

Right, and I realize that ssh is the most important step to it instead of the wifi connection. Thanks. Also, if I don't the crab, I would need to pre-configure wifi.

Last edited by malacology (2021-05-26 00:55:05)


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#8 2021-05-26 01:15:22

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,597

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

The archboot isos have sshd enabled by default for root login with no password.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#9 2021-05-26 01:36:31

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Slithery wrote:

The archboot isos have sshd enabled by default for root login with no password.

But it seems that the iso is too old, 2020.07, it will not run, I have experienced the 2020 iso, they can't run on VM.


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#10 2021-05-26 01:39:58

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,633

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

malacology wrote:
Slithery wrote:

The archboot isos have sshd enabled by default for root login with no password.

But it seems that the iso is too old, 2020.07, it will not run, I have experienced the 2020 iso, they can't run on VM.

Um, what? This post is complete gibberish.

Offline

#11 2021-05-26 02:20:29

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

I now plan to make it auto-connect wifi and auto enable ssh by the following
add wpa_supplicant.conf to sdlive/arcn/boot/ [sdlive is my usb]
containing following words

country=[country_short]
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
 
network={
ssid="wifi_name"
psk="passwd"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
priority=1
}

enable ssh by adding file called ssh to  sdlive/arcn/boot/
I don't know if it's possible


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#12 2021-05-26 02:53:13

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Scimmia wrote:
malacology wrote:
Slithery wrote:

The archboot isos have sshd enabled by default for root login with no password.

But it seems that the iso is too old, 2020.07, it will not run, I have experienced the 2020 iso, they can't run on VM.

Um, what? This post is complete gibberish.

Sorry, I test on WSL2, and it actually meets problems, I changed a newer image, then it works.


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#13 2021-05-26 10:56:55

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

progandy wrote:

I believe archiso comes with cloudinit now, so follow the headless install tips here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Instal … ux_via_SSH

It seems that the Arch installing auto enable sshd based on guide of install on local machine


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#14 2021-05-26 12:54:05

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,510

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

malacology wrote:

It seems that the Arch installing auto enable sshd based on guide of install on local machine

Yes, sshd is enabled now, but you need to configure an ssh key with cloud-init, there is no unprotected ssh access.


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#15 2021-05-26 14:13:40

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

progandy wrote:
malacology wrote:

It seems that the Arch installing auto enable sshd based on guide of install on local machine

Yes, sshd is enabled now, but you need to configure an ssh key with cloud-init, there is no unprotected ssh access.

Actually, I can't understand the wiki completely. Could I connect it via ssh and then configure cloud-init or just set password to root? I maybe don't need protected ssh.

Last edited by malacology (2021-05-26 14:19:37)


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#16 2021-05-26 15:23:23

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,510

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Could I connect it via ssh and then configure cloud-init or just set password to root?

No, you have to either create a second usb stick with your network config and ssh keys saved in the cloud-init format or you have to edit the archiso and add the cloudinit files there. Both options are described in the wiki article.

Last edited by progandy (2021-05-26 15:23:42)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#17 2021-05-26 15:36:44

malacology
Member
Registered: 2021-04-24
Posts: 91

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

progandy wrote:

Could I connect it via ssh and then configure cloud-init or just set password to root?

No, you have to either create a second usb stick with your network config and ssh keys saved in the cloud-init format or you have to edit the archiso and add the cloudinit files there. Both options are described in the wiki article.

Okay, thanks, I got it.


Don't speak to silly man. Keep Minimalism.

Offline

#18 2021-05-26 15:41:20

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,510

Re: Could I configure wpa_supplicant before install

Since the rockpi supports uefi I think you can do the following:

- write the iso to your usb stick
- use e.g. cfdisk or sgdisk to create a new partition in the remaining free space (accept losing the iso9660 signature)
- create a new FAT32 filesystem in that new partition named "CIDATA"
- Copy the two files.
- Pray it works.


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB