You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-04 13:02:06

buzzwallard
Banned

desktop lockups return after rolling back nvidia to nouveau

I was having occasional desktop freezes that stopped once I installed NVIDIA  (from the NVIDIA official archive). I'm new to Arch ( a couple days or so) so the lockups was an issue I would "get to".

I didn't install NVIDIA to solve the lockups but I noticed that they stopped.

The NVIDIA driver was causing non-critical but annoying problems so I rolled back to nouveau.

Now the desktop freezes have returned.

The system is accessible via SSH and it looks to be in pretty good shape, but I notice a couple things that may help to solve the issue.

Last two lines of lightdm/x-0.log

failure to allocate surface 16x16@32 (pitch 64): -2
failure to allocate surface 1x32@8 (pitch 64): -2

Trace from journalctl 
https://pastebin.com/uEPyk3B4

Last edited by buzzwallard (2021-06-04 13:44:50)

#2 2021-06-04 14:18:08

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: desktop lockups return after rolling back nvidia to nouveau

The nouveau driver is in general not the most stable driver (it doesn't see all that much development/involvement from nvidia and it is tangled up in some unresolvable issues due to the nvidia cards requiring signed firmware)  and frequently sees breakage like you are seeing. The best shot you'll have is testing the LTS or even older kernels, otherwise you will want to report these issues and or check whether they are already reported on the nouveau gitlab: https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/drm/nouveau/-/issues/

#3 2021-06-04 14:31:37

buzzwallard
Banned

Thanks for that link.

I am using LTS kernel, Would it be better to try an install from the AUR rather than from the NVIDIA site's archive. I could give that a go if there's a respectable chance it will go better than the NVIDIA archive one.

Last edited by buzzwallard (2021-06-04 14:32:30)

#4 2021-06-04 14:41:21

seth