You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-07 15:31:28

Ayush1325
Member
From: India
Registered: 2019-09-23
Posts: 11

[Solved] Cannot Record Audio in Obs

So I am using pipewire as my main audio server and it works well for the most part. However, I recently started having a strange problem where OBS Studio does not seem to capture any desktop audio, even when using the Audio Output Source. I checked and it seems to work fine with PulseAudio but stops capturing audio with pipewire-pulse. So is there any way to diagnose the issue, since obs did work with pipe wire until recently. I had just done a fresh install after tinkering with Fedora, so I'm not really sure what the problem is.
The pipewire packages I have installed are:

gst-plugin-pipewire 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire-alsa 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire-docs 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire-jack 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire-media-session 1:0.3.29-1
pipewire-pulse 1:0.3.29-1
lib32-pipewire 1:0.3.29-1

The obs-studio version is 27.0.0-1.
I am using X11 Display Server.

Any help is appreciated since pipewire works really well for me when there are multiple audio sources working simultaneously while PulseAudio just kind of gives up.

System Information:

Kernel: 5.12.9-arch1-1
DE: Plasma 5.21.5
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 (12) @ 3.400GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Memory: 5233MiB / 16012MiB

Edit: Fixed after pipewire update to 0.3.30

Last edited by Ayush1325 (2021-06-09 11:51:23)

Offline

#2 2021-06-08 14:28:17

KbpG28
Member
Registered: 2020-07-04
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] Cannot Record Audio in Obs

I have the same issue, it started happening since I upgraded pipewire to 0.3.29. In my case obs captures the mic's audio instead of the desktop's

Offline

#3 2021-06-08 14:37:50

Ayush1325
Member
From: India
Registered: 2019-09-23
Posts: 11

Re: [Solved] Cannot Record Audio in Obs

KbpG28 wrote:

I have the same issue, it started happening since I upgraded pipewire to 0.3.29. In my case obs captures the mic's audio instead of the desktop's

Yup, exactly that. I guess it is a widespread issue then. I should probably open a bug request in the pipewire  or obs repo then.

Offline

#4 2021-06-09 11:31:21

hawara
Member
Registered: 2014-12-27
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Cannot Record Audio in Obs

I had the same issue, but it seems to be fixed by the latest updates to pipewire packages.
Mine is on 0.3.30-1. Try updating them and see if it fixes it? (After upgrading the packages, I've killed my pipewire processes and restarted OBS Studio...)

Offline

#5 2021-06-09 11:51:47

Ayush1325
Member
From: India
Registered: 2019-09-23
Posts: 11

Re: [Solved] Cannot Record Audio in Obs

hawara wrote:

I had the same issue, but it seems to be fixed by the latest updates to pipewire packages.
Mine is on 0.3.30-1. Try updating them and see if it fixes it? (After upgrading the packages, I've killed my pipewire processes and restarted OBS Studio...)

Thanks, it's working again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB