You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-08 18:12:58

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

I tried to add my epson printer to my arch system via wifi with the kde printer utility,but it just doesn't work,it doesn't get listed,I only see this: https://i.nuuls.com/JJYij.png

When I used Manjaro everything worked with that.

I have cups and foomatic non free and free installed and epson-inkjet-printer-escpr.

I tried everything,but it just doesn't work to add it.

My system info: https://i.nuuls.com/AZWSE.png

I tried it on an ubuntu live cd and that worked,so it is an arch specific issue.

I asked on r/linux4noob and r/archlinux,but they couldn't really help me except that someone said that probably some package is missing.

I also tried to add the printer with the cups web interface,but I can also not see my preinter there.

When I try to search my printer with avahi,then I see my printer with some different name,so why can I not add it?

Offline

#2 2021-06-08 19:39:46

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,782

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Have you worked through this?  https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2021-06-09 23:41:27

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

ewaller wrote:

Have you worked through this?  https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS

I don't get how I can add a wireless printer with cups cli.
When I discover printers with avahi,then I see my printer with multiple names,but I don't know which one I should choose.

Offline

#4 2021-06-09 23:43:22

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

And also,which command do  have to use to add a printer?

Offline

#5 2021-06-10 01:30:02

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,782

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Well, have you installed Avahi?  Have you configured it?  Without it, auto discovery is unlikely to work. 

OTOH, you do not need auto discovery, but you need to know the IP address of the printer, or your router and DNS needs to allow you to ping it by name.  If you want to use the IP address instead of hostname, the address needs to be static, or the DHCP server needs to assign the same IP address to the printer each time.

If you go to the CUPS page at localhost:631 in your browser, you can add the printer using the controls in that page once you know the address or hostname.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2021-06-10 01:36:48

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

>Well, have you installed Avahi?  Have you configured it?

Yes,I followed that part in the archwiki page

>OTOH, you do not need auto discovery, but you need to know the IP address of the printer, or your router and DNS needs to allow you to ping it by name.  If you want to use the IP address instead of hostname, the address needs to be static, or the DHCP >server needs to assign the same IP address to the printer each time.

How can I get that adress?

>If you go to the CUPS page at localhost:631 in your browser, you can add the printer using the controls in that page once you know the address or hostname.

I already tried that,but that doesn't work.


What I would like the most is if I could get it to work with the kde printer utility,I like to use that the most.
People on reddit said that some drivers could be missing.

Offline

#7 2021-06-10 06:11:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

People on reddit said that some drivers could be missing.

People on reddit said that the jews have space lasers.
https://xkcd.com/285/

grep hosts /etc/nsswitch.conf
systemctl status avahi-daemon

Offline

#8 2021-06-10 15:48:02

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

seth wrote:

People on reddit said that some drivers could be missing.

People on reddit said that the jews have space lasers.
https://xkcd.com/285/

grep hosts /etc/nsswitch.conf
systemctl status avahi-daemon

Output is:
hosts: files mymachines myhostname resolve mdns_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] resolve  [!UNAVAIL=return] dns
○ avahi-daemon.service - Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD Stack
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/avahi-daemon.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
     Active: inactive (dead)
TriggeredBy: ○ avahi-daemon.socket

Now I don't get anything,why the heck is it not activated?

Offline

#9 2021-06-10 15:56:14

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

You didn't enable it and nothing triggered the socket.
Depending on the printer domain you might also require the full mdns resolver, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Avahi# … custom_TLD

Please use code tags when posting shell I/O or file  contents, https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

Offline

#10 2021-06-10 19:21:12

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

seth wrote:

You didn't enable it and nothing triggered the socket.
Depending on the printer domain you might also require the full mdns resolver, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Avahi# … custom_TLD

Please use code tags when posting shell I/O or file  contents, https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

I activated it and now I get this result:

hosts: files mymachines myhostname resolve mdns_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] resolve  [!UNAVAIL=return] dns
● avahi-daemon.service - Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD Stack
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/avahi-daemon.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
     Active: active (running) since Thu 2021-06-10 18:57:11 CEST; 10s ago
TriggeredBy: ● avahi-daemon.socket
   Main PID: 76959 (avahi-daemon)
     Status: "avahi-daemon 0.8 starting up."
      Tasks: 2 (limit: 19099)
     Memory: 1.6M
        CPU: 6ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/avahi-daemon.service
             ├─76959 avahi-daemon: running [Hurensohn.local]
             └─76960 avahi-daemon: chroot helper

Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface lo.IPv6 with address ::1.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: New relevant interface lo.IPv6 for mDNS.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface lo.IPv4 with address 127.0.0.1.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: New relevant interface lo.IPv4 for mDNS.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Network interface enumeration completed.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Registering new address record for 2a02:8071:45a1:1300:4384:c9be:37d0:da05 on enp11s0.*.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Registering new address record for 192.168.178.38 on enp11s0.IPv4.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Registering new address record for ::1 on lo.*.
Jun 10 18:57:11 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Registering new address record for 127.0.0.1 on lo.IPv4.
Jun 10 18:57:12 pc avahi-daemon[76959]: Server startup complete. Host name is Hurensohn.local. Local service cookie is 211677942.

and when I do

avahi-browse --all

,then I get:

+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _uscans._tcp         local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _uscans._tcp         local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _uscan._tcp          local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _uscan._tcp          local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _privet._tcp         local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _privet._tcp         local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Secure Internet Printer local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Secure Internet Printer local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Internet Printer     local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Internet Printer     local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _scanner._tcp        local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   _scanner._tcp        local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Microsoft Windows Network local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Microsoft Windows Network local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Web Site             local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   Web Site             local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   PDL Printer          local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   PDL Printer          local
+ enp11s0 IPv6 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   UNIX Printer         local
+ enp11s0 IPv4 EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series                   UNIX Printer         local

So what do I have to do now exactly?

Offline

#11 2021-06-10 19:27:02

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS#Network - what does it say to do after configuring avahi?
YOu can btw. also get the address w/o the avahi daemon (it's just not what you indicated to be your preference)  - https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS#Network_2

Offline

#12 2021-06-11 00:26:41

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

seth wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS#Network - what does it say to do after configuring avahi?
YOu can btw. also get the address w/o the avahi daemon (it's just not what you indicated to be your preference)  - https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS#Network_2

When I got it right,then I have to add my printer with this command:

lpadmin -p EPSON XP-342 343 345 Series -E -v "ipp://enp11s0/ipp/print" -m everywhere

Or did I get it wrong?
Cause I just get this as an result:

lpadmin: Unknown argument "XP-342".

Offline

#13 2021-06-11 00:57:49

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 13,452

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

You could not find any methods to check if a queue had been created on the CUPS wiki page?  So you could check if it had worked.

Offline

#14 2021-06-11 01:43:40

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

loqs wrote:

You could not find any methods to check if a queue had been created on the CUPS wiki page?  So you could check if it had worked.

The "Check Queue" section states that I should do:

lpq -a

but the result is just:

no entries

Offline

#15 2021-06-11 06:12:10

tucuxi
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2020-03-08
Posts: 163

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

You need to read, understand and follow the Wiki.

E.g. queue names: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CUPS#Usage

Offline

#16 2021-06-11 06:29:03

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Toadfield wrote:
lpadmin: Unknown argument "XP-342".

Whitespace is usually an IFS…

Regarding the original approach:

The Wiki wrote:

To discover, make use of discovered or share printers using DNS-SD/mDNS, setup .local hostname resolution with Avahi and restart cups.service.

Did you restart cups after starting avahi?
Does it detect the printer now?

Offline

#17 2021-06-11 22:26:59

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

seth wrote:

Did you restart cups after starting avahi?
Does it detect the printer now?

When I do:

systemctl start avahi-daemon
systemctl enable avahi-daemon
systemctl restart cups.service
lpq -a

then I still get this result:

no entries

Offline

#18 2021-06-12 01:46:41

snakeroot
Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 135

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Per man lpq, lpq -a "reports jobs on all printers". But you want to look for printers, not print jobs in the queue.

Perhaps try "lpstat -e", which, per lpstat's man page, "shows all available destinations on the local network"?

Offline

#19 2021-06-12 11:26:21

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

snakeroot wrote:

Per man lpq, lpq -a "reports jobs on all printers". But you want to look for printers, not print jobs in the queue.

Perhaps try "lpstat -e", which, per lpstat's man page, "shows all available destinations on the local network"?

When I do:

systemctl start avahi-daemon
systemctl enable avahi-daemon
systemctl restart cups.service

and then start my printer and then do:

lpstat -e

then I just get nothing as a result.

Offline

#20 2021-06-12 11:49:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

http://localhost:631/help/network.html

sudo lpinfo --include-schemes dnssd -v

Edit: c'mon bbs…

Last edited by seth (2021-06-12 11:49:51)

Offline

#21 2021-06-12 14:50:20

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

seth wrote:

http://localhost:631/help/network.html

sudo lpinfo --include-schemes dnssd -v

Edit: c'mon bbs…

I did that and when I do that:

lpadmin -p Epson\ xp-342 -D Epson\ xp-342 -v dnssd://EPSON%20XP-342%20343%20345%20Series._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=cfe92100-67c4-11d4-a45f-f8d027e303a9

then I get this:

lpadmin: Printer name can only contain printable characters.

So what did I do wrong?
I used "\",so I can use spaces in the names.

Offline

#22 2021-06-12 14:53:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 21,155

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Don't escape, wrap every string in single quotes 'Epson xp-342' or 'dnssd://EPSON%20XP-342%20343%20345%20Series._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=cfe92100-67c4-11d4-a45f-f8d027e303a9' etc.

Offline

#23 2021-06-12 15:22:29

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

When I do:

lpadmin -p 'Epson xp-342' -D 'Epson xp-342' -v 'dnssd://EPSON%20XP-342%20343%20345%20Series._ipp._tcp.local/?uuid=cfe92100-67c4-11d4-a45f-f8d027e303a9'

then I still get:

lpadmin: Printer name can only contain printable characters.

Offline

#24 2021-06-12 15:32:01

snakeroot
Member
Registered: 2012-10-06
Posts: 135

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

Consider naming your printer "Epson_xp-342" or similar, since, per man lpstat, "CUPS allows printer names to contain any printable character except SPACE, TAB, "/", and "#"".

So "-p Epson_xp-342".

Offline

#25 2021-06-12 15:58:17

Toadfield
Member
Registered: 2021-06-08
Posts: 63

Re: I tried many things,but I just can't add my epson xp-342 printer

thanks,now it works.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB