You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-18 23:36:03

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 555

[Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

I've been sharing my pacman cache using darkhttpd. Obviously, I can only share the packages I have installed on my "server" computer. If the "client" wants to install something else, they get a 404 error, and pacman tries the next server. Unfortunately pacman 6 times out when there are too many errors and won't use the server any more. I think the limit is three errors.

error: failed retrieving file 'amdvlk-2021.Q3.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst' from 192.168.1.81:8081 : The requested URL returned error: 404
error: failed retrieving file 'lib32-amdvlk-2021.Q3.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst' from 192.168.1.81:8081 : The requested URL returned error: 404
error: failed retrieving file 'vulkan-intel-21.1.5-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst' from 192.168.1.81:8081 : The requested URL returned error: 404
warning: too many errors from 192.168.1.81:8081, skipping for the remainder of this transaction

Is there a way to prevent this timeout, and keep trying the first server?

Last edited by Salkay (2021-08-03 22:48:40)

Offline

#2 2021-07-18 23:52:44

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,059
Website

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

No.

Offline

#3 2021-08-03 14:05:38

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 555

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

Thanks Allan. Looks like pacman is too clever!

Offline

#4 2021-08-03 18:32:40

a821
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 283

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

Offline

#5 2021-08-03 22:47:46

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 555

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

I haven't tried those options, but I assume they would suffer from the same issues? If your "server" doesn't have the files, pacman on the "client" will have an error.

Offline

#6 2021-08-04 06:22:38

a821
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 283

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

Salkay wrote:

I haven't tried those options, but I assume they would suffer from the same issues? If your "server" doesn't have the files, pacman on the "client" will have an error.

Not according to their doc, see here and the About section of pacserve.

Offline

#7 2021-08-04 08:17:16

Salkay
Member
Registered: 2014-05-22
Posts: 555

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

a821 wrote:

Not according to their doc, see here and the About section of pacserve.

Oh nice! Sorry I should have been more thorough in my reading. Thanks!

pacserve looks fiddly to incorporate with AUR helpers, but pacoloco looks like it should been seen as a normal server by the client, so that might work quite well!

Offline

#8 2021-08-28 00:19:23

doctorzeus
Member
Registered: 2011-12-24
Posts: 75

Re: [Impossible?] Keep using pacman server on multiple errors

Might be a good feature to add to pacman..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB