You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-19 11:26:48

ventshek
Member
Registered: 2021-07-19
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Archiso temp general question [SOLVED]

I have been messing around now for some time making ISOs to be specific tools....

But have unfortunately run into an issue with the size of the working directory, seemingly being limited to 4GB

Might be FAT related, i have tinkered with, 'mkarchiso' all things 'initcpio' related and anything that relates to 'cow space' and also all the usual 'profiledef.sh' stuff and all the profile stuff also.

It would i think be a bit exhaustive to put all the configs here, I am probably missing something simple here.

Here are just a few bits from the printouts...

'[mkarchiso] INFO: mkarchiso configuration settings
[mkarchiso] INFO:              Architecture:   x86_64
[mkarchiso] INFO:         Working directory:   /tmp/archiso-tmp2
[mkarchiso] INFO:    Installation directory:   arch
[mkarchiso] INFO:                Build date:   2021-07-19T10:53:57+00:00
[mkarchiso] INFO:          Output directory:   /baseline2/test/iso
[mkarchiso] INFO:        Current build mode:   iso
[mkarchiso] INFO:               Build modes:   iso
[mkarchiso] INFO:                   GPG key:   None
[mkarchiso] INFO: Code signing certificates:   
[mkarchiso] INFO:                   Profile:   /baseline2
[mkarchiso] INFO: Pacman configuration file:   /baseline2/pacman.conf
[mkarchiso] INFO:           Image file name:   archlinux-baseline-2021.07.19-x86_64.iso
[mkarchiso] INFO:          ISO volume label:   ARCH_202107
[mkarchiso] INFO:             ISO publisher:   Arch Linux <https://archlinux.org>
[mkarchiso] INFO:           ISO application:   Arch Linux baseline
[mkarchiso] INFO:                Boot modes:   bios.syslinux.mbr bios.syslinux.eltorito uefi-x64.systemd-boot.esp uefi-x64.systemd-boot.eltorito
[mkarchiso] INFO:             Packages File:   /baseline2/packages.x86_64'

'Total Installed Size:  3012.29 MiB'




And failing in the resulting message...




'
[mkarchiso] INFO: Preparing kernel and initramfs for the FAT file system...
[mkarchiso] INFO: Done!
[mkarchiso] INFO: Done! systemd-boot set up for UEFI booting successfully.
[mkarchiso] INFO: Preparing an /EFI directory for the ISO 9660 file system...
[mkarchiso] INFO: Done!
[mkarchiso] INFO: Cleaning up in pacstrap location...
[mkarchiso] INFO: Done!
[mkarchiso] INFO: Creating SquashFS image, this may take some time...
Parallel mksquashfs: Using 6 processors
Creating 4.0 filesystem on /tmp/archiso-tmp2/iso/arch/x86_64/airootfs.sfs, block size 1048576.
[==========/                                                 ] 17200/97568  17%
[===========|                                                ] 18800/97568  19%
[==================\                                         ] 29900/97568  30%
Write failed because No space left on device
'

when i examine the tmp work dir it never shows a greater potential capacity than 4gb...

Just to clarify, with a few packages less it works and comes to 700mb iso...


The question being, is this a hard limitation, will i have to just include these extras in the startup scripts or is there some simple thing im missing to create a larger ISO?

I would be very grateful for any insight here

thanks in advance.

Last edited by ventshek (2021-08-01 22:56:32)

Offline

#2 2021-07-19 12:12:56

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 9,342

Re: [SOLVED] Archiso temp general question [SOLVED]

It may not be an archiso limit.

[mkarchiso] INFO:         Working directory:   /tmp/archiso-tmp2

/tmp is stored in ram and defaults to half your available memory .
See https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Tmpfs for details and ways to change the amount of space.

You could also try to set working directory to a sdd or hdd drive with more space free then 4 GiB .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2021-07-19 12:14:38)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2021-07-19 12:21:23

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,473

Re: [SOLVED] Archiso temp general question [SOLVED]


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#4 2021-07-19 13:20:44

ventshek
Member
Registered: 2021-07-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Archiso temp general question [SOLVED]

Jesus christ! Swear I had tried it as non tmp before... Must have been a different config at fault then...

Thanks a bunch lads, taking it out of tmp fixed it!!!

Was choking the ram as it was anyway and im to get some more soon, funding permitted...

I must say, for a first post here its been a great experience, thanks again!

Offline

#5 2021-07-19 13:35:48

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,624
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Archiso temp general question [SOLVED]

Don't forget to mark this as [Solved]


Fix yo shit: journalctl -b -p warning
My Website (ipv6-only)
"Learning the hard way is the only way for many."
Advaita: Robert Adams, Francis Lucille, Rupert Spira

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB