You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-28 17:33:11

taraf

hot swapping egpu (thunderbolt3)

First, I apologize if this belongs in another forum (such as kernel/hardware). If so, please move it. I did search the forums, but couldn't find anything that answered my question already, nor anything on the wiki.

Second, I apologize that I can't do pacman -Syu prior to posting (I know it's in the rules for a good reason).  As long as this bug remains open, updating the linux kernel will break thunderbolt entirely: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/71569. As such, while everything else is updated, I've rolled back to a 5.12 kernel. As this is an issue I've been putting up with for almost 2 years, I doubt that updating the kernel will fix it but remain ever hopeful.

Third, this is a minor annoyance, and if the answer is "no fix possible" I'll live. What I have is workable.

That out of the way -- has anybody managed to configure an eGPU in such a way that it can be hot swapped without needing to reboot?

I've got my setup working, but currently while I can plug in the eGPU (Razer Core X w/ an 8GB XFX RX580) I still need to reboot after plugging in/authenticating the device on thunderbolt to get better than single digit framerates. Additionally, if I unplug it without first shutting down the computer, the system completely freezes - can't even drop to a terminal to see if the kernel has panicked as it no longer accepts any input. Even if I've dropped to a terminal before unplugging, and have shut down the display-manager service, it still freezes in this way with no text showing up on the screen to explain why.