You are not logged in.

#1 2021-08-31 12:06:52

Xwang

USB-C how to check if it has HDMI signal?

Hi to all,
I've an Asus N752VX which has both usb-c port and hdmi output.
I've seen that there are some usb-c hubs which have hdmi and LAN port.
If I find one which is compatible with linux, is it enough to have a second hdmi outport or should I check previously if the usb-c port contains the hdmi signal?
On an asus help page there is an explanation of usb ports symbols according to which my laptop usb-c port does not have a video signal.
However I'm not sure if that page is for my laptop tooo and, moreover, I've not understood if it is a software (Windows) limitation or an hardware one.
Is there any way in linux to understand if an usb-c port outputs a video signal?

Last edited by Xwang (2021-08-31 12:07:08)

I'm still learning English so please excuse me if my English is not good enough and feel free to correct me via PM if you want.

#2 2021-08-31 13:23:02

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator

Re: USB-C how to check if it has HDMI signal?

Usb-c has optional alternate modes which allow displayport , hdmi and such options .
Support for those modes needs to be provided by the hardware.

Complicating things is that Thunderbolt3 uses the same connector and has support for DisplayPort screens .

No idea how to check for usb-c alternate modes, but the thunderbolt controller has its own kernel module.

$ lsmod | grep bolt

should clarify if your laptop has thunderbolt connections.

Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

#3 2021-08-31 13:35:59

Xwang

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Usb-c has optional alternate modes which allow displayport , hdmi and such options .
Support for those modes needs to be provided by the hardware.

Complicating things is that Thunderbolt3 uses the same connector and has support for DisplayPort screens .