You are not logged in.

#1 2006-11-25 15:00:17

IsSuE
Member
From: Upper Austria
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 309

Correct Fstab for DVD burner

Hi there!

I just installed a DVD burner in my sys and now i wanted to ask, what to insert in my fstab, because graveman only recognizes the dvd burner as a normal dvd drive.
here is what my current fstab looks like

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults,size=512M

/dev/hdd               /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/dvd               /mnt/dvd  udf     ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/fd0               /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto             0      0

/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sdb1     /media/storage1  ext3    defaults    0    0
/dev/sda1    /media/storage3 ext3   defaults      0     0
/dev/hdb1    /media/storage2 ext3    defaults   0      0

thx

Offline

#2 2006-11-25 15:52:32

harlekin
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-13
Posts: 408

Re: Correct Fstab for DVD burner

I don't think the program uses the fstab to get information about your device because there aren't any except from mount options.
It may use hal or something to do this (k3b do uses hal).


Hail to the thief!

Offline

#3 2006-11-25 18:08:00

Borosai
Member
From: Sandy Appendix, U.S.A.
Registered: 2006-06-15
Posts: 227

Re: Correct Fstab for DVD burner

Here are the two relevant lines from my fstab. I'm not sure about your /dev/dvd part, but you definitely should change the ro (read-only) to rw (read-write) since it's a burner. That may be the problem.

/dev/hda        /mnt/dvd    auto        ro,user,noauto,unhide        0    0
/dev/hdc        /mnt/dvdrw    auto        rw,user,noauto,unhide        0    0

Offline

#4 2006-11-26 00:14:27

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: Correct Fstab for DVD burner

I don't think burning apps care much about mount points...


1000

Offline

#5 2006-11-26 02:00:41

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Correct Fstab for DVD burner

open graveman
file>prefferences>devices>rescan  if that dont work add device
/dev/dvd  or /dev/hdX  where X represents where burner is plugged in

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB