You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-05 14:11:28

tekmonkey
Member
Registered: 2021-11-29
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

Hey, I've installed OpenWatcom-v2 using yay and the installation went through smoothly without a problem

here is a picture of yay indicating openwatcom-v2 is already installed fine

tekmonkey in ~ 
15:02:22 ➜ yay -S openwatcom-v2
:: Checking for conflicts...
:: Checking for inner conflicts...
[Aur:1]  openwatcom-v2-2.0-7

  1 openwatcom-v2                    (Installed) (Build Files Exist)
==> Packages to cleanBuild?
==> [N]one [A]ll [Ab]ort [I]nstalled [No]tInstalled or (1 2 3, 1-3, ^4)
==> 

However, trying any of the binaries that were supposed to be installed with the package, so wcc, wpp or owcc, nothing seems installed in /usr/bin/ or /bin/ and i just get the standard

tekmonkey in ~ 
15:08:21 ➜ owcc
bash: owcc: command not found

anyone have any idea whats going on here?

TIA

Last edited by tekmonkey (2022-01-05 15:59:08)

Offline

#2 2022-01-05 14:17:51

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,242

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

What makes you think that the package should install anything  in /bin?

pacman -Ql openwatcom-v2

Will show you where they are installed.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2022-01-05 14:23:27

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,080

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

Log out/in or source the env script it provides.


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#4 2022-01-05 14:38:52

tekmonkey
Member
Registered: 2021-11-29
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

Slithery wrote:

What makes you think that the package should install anything  in /bin?

pacman -Ql openwatcom-v2

Will show you where they are installed.

no reason really, probably just a bad assumption based on my noob-ness smile

looking at the provided readme though, it says

Linux 32-bit shell script:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
export WATCOM=/usr/bin/watcom
export PATH=$WATCOM/binl:$PATH
export EDPATH=$WATCOM/eddat
export INCLUDE=$WATCOM/lh
#export LIB=
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Linux 64-bit shell script:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
export WATCOM=/usr/bin/watcom
export PATH=$WATCOM/binl64:$WATCOM/binl:$PATH
export EDPATH=$WATCOM/eddat
export INCLUDE=$WATCOM/lh
#export LIB=
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mr.Elendig wrote:

Log out/in or source the env script it provides.

ok will try that... i was hoping the installation would have done this as I have never had to do that with other packages installed through pacman / yay before. Is this normal, or would this be something to report to the package maintainers?

Last edited by tekmonkey (2022-01-05 14:40:24)

Offline

#5 2022-01-05 14:50:46

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,080

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

When packages put binaries in non-standard paths it is normal that you have to relog or source the env script. Seems like this package doesn't put the env script in /etc/profile.d/ though so you will have to make your shell source it as needed. or set the env vars yourself


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#6 2022-01-05 15:57:02

tekmonkey
Member
Registered: 2021-11-29
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

Mr.Elendig wrote:

When packages put binaries in non-standard paths it is normal that you have to relog or source the env script. Seems like this package doesn't put the env script in /etc/profile.d/ though so you will have to make your shell source it as needed. or set the env vars yourself

Alright, thanks for the explanation. I will report this to the package maintainer and see what comes out of it.

Do I need to do something to mark this topic as "closed" ?
EDIT: Marked as Solved

Last edited by tekmonkey (2022-01-05 15:59:40)

Offline

#7 2022-01-06 15:37:53

DarkShadow44
Member
Registered: 2016-08-02
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] OpenWatcom-v2 installation doesnt install any binaries

Tbh, I never used that script, always set the variables manually like described in https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Open_Watcom.
Not sure if we want to automatically source that script, is it possible that this put conflicting names into PATH?
What do the more experienced people say, should I put it into profile.d?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB