You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-13 20:36:31

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Hey,

I was actually hoping not to have to write this post, but I'm really stumped by now.
I have a dual boot with Windows 10 and Arch. For some reason Arch doesn't boot at all anymore. And by not at all I mean it says "Starting version 250.2-2-arch" and then nothing. I can't open a console via Ctrl+Alt+F1, the system just appears dead. I've been using Arch for over 2 years now and usually I've always been able to chroot into the system via a bootstick, but that doesn't do anything either. Journalctl in chroot shows nothing as the system probably doesn't even boot. I've also tried reinstalling the whole system without deleting the partitions, but that didn't do anything either. It is not a hardware defect, I can boot Windows normally, both systems are on the same drive. Actually I thought that Arch is unbreakable, but the whole thing makes me somehow helpless. Maybe there is someone who has an idea what else I could try.

Best regards
Lukas

Last edited by lukas1337 (2022-01-14 17:19:36)

Offline

#2 2022-01-13 20:52:59

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 14,472

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

lukas1337 wrote:

I've always been able to chroot into the system via a bootstick, but that doesn't do anything either. Journalctl in chroot shows nothing as the system probably doesn't even boot.

What do you mean that chroot doesn't do anything?  Do you mean as there was nothing from the installed system in the journal you are stuck?

Offline

#3 2022-01-13 20:54:09

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,096

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Boot from your install media and chroot.

Any chance that when things go pear shaped that you have blinking lights on your keyboard?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2022-01-13 21:56:18

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I can chroot into the system yes, but none of the commands I was using, worked in any way. I tried repairing the boot partition, I tried reinstalling the linux kernel and linux firmare. And it doesn't resolve the issue

loqs wrote:
lukas1337 wrote:

I've always been able to chroot into the system via a bootstick, but that doesn't do anything either. Journalctl in chroot shows nothing as the system probably doesn't even boot.

What do you mean that chroot doesn't do anything?  Do you mean as there was nothing from the installed system in the journal you are stuck?

Offline

#5 2022-01-13 22:00:47

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

But what to do then?

ewaller wrote:

Boot from your install media and chroot.

It turns off and turns back on with no blinking. But my phone for some reason recognizes that it is connected via usb. Wtf

ewaller wrote:

Any chance that when things go pear shaped that you have blinking lights on your keyboard?

Offline

#6 2022-01-13 22:08:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Edit the kernel commandline in the bootloader and remove "quiet" and add "nomodeset" - then try to boot

Online

#7 2022-01-13 22:13:02

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Forgot to mention that I already tried that. Now it only shows

:: running early hook [udev]
Starting version 250.2-2-arch
seth wrote:

Edit the kernel commandline in the bootloader and remove "quiet" and add "nomodeset" - then try to boot

Offline

#8 2022-01-13 22:25:56

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 14,472

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Did the issue start with a kernel update,  perhaps the update to 5.16?  Have you tried linux-lts to see if that also fails to boot?

Last edited by loqs (2022-01-13 22:26:14)

Offline

#9 2022-01-13 22:45:42

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I actually don't really know. It probably happened after I tried to get my Wifi Usb Stick working, potentially after I mistyped a systemd systemctl link. But not quite sure. I've tried lts just now, it also fails sad

loqs wrote:

Did the issue start with a kernel update,  perhaps the update to 5.16?  Have you tried linux-lts to see if that also fails to boot?

Offline

#10 2022-01-13 23:40:09

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 14,472

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

What was the command you used?  It should be the shell history of the user that executed the command.
From the chroot,  what is the output of

# pacman -Qkk 2>&1 | grep -Fv '0 altered files'
tail -n 500 /var/log/pacman.log
grep -ve^# /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

See the first link in seth's signature to upload the output from the console.

Last edited by loqs (2022-01-14 00:09:03)

Offline

#11 2022-01-14 00:44:37

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I think i mistyped wpa_supplicant but I already disabled and removed it. Still no changes.

http://ix.io/3M7c
http://ix.io/3M7d
http://ix.io/3M7e

All 3 outputs

loqs wrote:

What was the command you used?  It should be the shell history of the user that executed the command.
From the chroot,  what is the output of

# pacman -Qkk 2>&1 | grep -Fv '0 altered files'
tail -n 500 /var/log/pacman.log
grep -ve^# /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

See the first link in seth's signature to upload the output from the console.

Offline

#12 2022-01-14 08:12:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

The pacman logtail might be too short because this here

[2022-01-12T23:46:47+0100] [ALPM] reinstalled linux-lts-headers (5.15.14-1)
[2022-01-13T00:03:48+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T00:06:43+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T00:13:34+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T00:17:02+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:17:42+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:18:43+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:18:51+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T00:19:34+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T00:19:59+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T00:21:46+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T21:05:15+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T21:07:38+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syyu'
[2022-01-13T23:40:49+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T23:42:35+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S nvidia-lts'

already looks like some desperate measures to revive the system? When did the problem start?

How long is

sudo journalctl --since 2022-01-10 | wc -l

Try to paste that to ix.io.

Edit: from the chroot and since you're probably chrooting as root, you can omit the sudo

Last edited by seth (2022-01-14 08:12:46)

Online

#13 2022-01-14 10:21:36

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I'm not quite sure since it has been the same for a few days now lol but I think 3-5 days ago. There are 33905 entries since Jan 9th

seth wrote:

The pacman logtail might be too short because this here

[2022-01-12T23:46:47+0100] [ALPM] reinstalled linux-lts-headers (5.15.14-1)
[2022-01-13T00:03:48+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T00:06:43+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T00:13:34+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T00:17:02+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:17:42+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:18:43+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Sc'
[2022-01-13T00:18:51+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T00:19:34+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T00:19:59+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T00:21:46+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S wpa_supplicant wireless_tools networkmanager'
[2022-01-13T21:05:15+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2022-01-13T21:07:38+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syyu'
[2022-01-13T23:40:49+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S linux-lts'
[2022-01-13T23:42:35+0100] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -S nvidia-lts'

already looks like some desperate measures to revive the system? When did the problem start?

How long is

sudo journalctl --since 2022-01-10 | wc -l

Try to paste that to ix.io.

Edit: from the chroot and since you're probably chrooting as root, you can omit the sudo

Offline

#14 2022-01-14 12:36:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

but I think 3-5 days ago. There are 33905 entries since Jan 9th

What suggests that there's acutally something logged w/ probably every boot?
Let's see

sudo journalctl -b -1  | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

Online

#15 2022-01-14 13:08:53

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

http://ix.io/3M9v

seth wrote:
sudo journalctl -b -1  | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

Offline

#16 2022-01-14 14:38:14

isaac_le
Member
From: VN
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I'm having the same problem stuck at booting with kernel 5.16, I used USB to revert back to linux 5.15.6 and now I lost all intenet connection they keep spawn log carrier lost.
I have the network in arch-chroot though

Offline

#17 2022-01-14 15:04:46

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Jan 13 23:44:28 arch systemd[1]: Reached target Multi-User System.
Jan 13 23:44:28 arch systemd[1]: Reached target Graphical Interface.

The system booted into the graphical target last night.

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts root=UUID=e8742223-ea5c-47fa-a65c-7ab574f1bc37 rw loglevel=3 quiet random.trust_cpu=on intel_iommu=on

quiet is there, nomodeset isn't …

Here's your apparent problem (i don't see any other GPU driver)

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia-nvlink: Nvlink Core is being initialized, major device number 234
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as: 
                             NVRM: nouveau, rivafb, nvidiafb or rivatv 
                             NVRM: was loaded and obtained ownership of the NVIDIA device(s).
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
                             NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
                             NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
                             NVRM: again.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: No NVIDIA devices probed.

And the cause is probably that you're passing the device through?

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio-pci 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=io+mem:owns=io+mem
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio_pci: add [10de:13c2[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio_pci: add [10de:0fbb[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000

Online

#18 2022-01-14 15:15:19

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Yes I tried passing my gpu through for a kvm so i could get rid of windows. For some reason it didn't work and I quit trying because I was demotivated after 3hrs. But that was over 2 weeks ago, and since then the system worked without any issues until 3 days ago. That's very strange...

seth wrote:
Jan 13 23:44:28 arch systemd[1]: Reached target Multi-User System.
Jan 13 23:44:28 arch systemd[1]: Reached target Graphical Interface.

The system booted into the graphical target last night.

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts root=UUID=e8742223-ea5c-47fa-a65c-7ab574f1bc37 rw loglevel=3 quiet random.trust_cpu=on intel_iommu=on

quiet is there, nomodeset isn't …

Here's your apparent problem (i don't see any other GPU driver)

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: nvidia-nvlink: Nvlink Core is being initialized, major device number 234
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as: 
                             NVRM: nouveau, rivafb, nvidiafb or rivatv 
                             NVRM: was loaded and obtained ownership of the NVIDIA device(s).
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
                             NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
                             NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
                             NVRM: again.
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: NVRM: No NVIDIA devices probed.

And the cause is probably that you're passing the device through?

Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio-pci 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=io+mem:owns=io+mem
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio_pci: add [10de:13c2[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000
Jan 13 23:44:24 arch kernel: vfio_pci: add [10de:0fbb[ffffffff:ffffffff]] class 0x000000/00000000

Offline

#19 2022-01-14 15:23:51

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I'd undo those efforts - either from a chroot or you should™ even be able to ssh into the system.
Also please don't quote entire posts - let alone top-posting style, https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Mailing_list_etiquette

Online

#20 2022-01-14 15:24:51

isaac_le
Member
From: VN
Registered: 2016-11-04
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

isaac_le wrote:

I'm having the same problem stuck at booting with kernel 5.16, I used USB to revert back to linux 5.15.6 and now I lost all intenet connection they keep spawn log carrier lost.
I have the network in arch-chroot though

nevermind, the part lost internet is about the ethernet module r8169, I solved it by reload it.

Offline

#21 2022-01-14 15:35:38

lukas1337
Member
Registered: 2022-01-13
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Removing all intel_iommu stuff from grub actually resolved my issue. Thanks a lot yall

Offline

#22 2022-01-14 15:44:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,591

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

I'd more look at this stuff: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PCI_pa … _device_ID

Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Online

#23 2022-01-14 16:39:46

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,096

Re: [SOLVED] Arch doesn't boot at all

Actually, I wanted to chroot so we could look at the journal.  If we could get back to that point....


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB