You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-18 18:44:12

cameo

[SOLVED] KDE permanently resuming? -> was a baloo issue!

Hi all & HNY!

Since a couple of days after setting up Akonadi on a postgres basis (system-wide instance), starting a KDE session on my desktop computer really sucks because it has become way laggy, there's permanent disk activity, and memory gets eaten up little by little (starting w/ 2G from 8G max [yes, I know my box is old]). Even spawning konsole is occasionally taking ages.

htop is always stating on first position:

/sbin/init resume /dev/mapper/magicbox-swap

But why is there resuming at all now? The machine is no laptop, I don't make any use of hibernation or so (and can't find anything related in KDEs power management). And I am explicitely starting empty KDE sessions.

Admittingly I am quite new to KDE/Plasma, so maybe I missed something in the Plasma configs. – Same goes for PostgreSQL for Akonadi btw., I just thought it's lighter than mariadb. Anyway I tried editing /var/lib/postgres/data/postgresql.conf according to #Troubleshooting might help – but no. Also there's no change when stopping (and then restarting) akonadi.

Further I disabled Qt journal logging behaviour; still no dice.

Then I checked if there's a difference between graphical logging out/rebooting, and doing so in an X terminal – there isn't.

So what's going on here?

Last edited by cameo (2022-02-08 18:46:43)

#2 2022-01-19 07:42:01

seth

Re: [SOLVED] KDE permanently resuming? -> was a baloo issue!

/dev/mapper/magicbox-swap is your actual swap partition?

cat /proc/cmdline # do you have the resume stanza in the commandline
ps aux # what runs that process in what context

Ceterum censeo: do you have a parallel windows installation (because that might be hibernating, causing the system to attempt a resume, but on bogus swap data)

#3 2022-01-19 14:19:48

cameo

seth wrote:

/dev/mapper/magicbox-swap is your actual swap partition?