You are not logged in.

#1 2022-02-07 19:16:11

Lizzy_Mae

[SOLVED] umount file not deleting

Hello all,

First time here, be gentle.

I am a full-time student with a full-time job and definitely full-time no life. I have been using Arch for 6 months, plasma desktop or most say kde, I only have the plasma-sdk which is the developer add-ons like QT, don't use dolphin, gwenview, or any of kde programs, no pamac, just yay. Will eventually land on Qtile or Awesome, something to keep learning code.

I am trying to learn chroot. Good to have if something fails, and boy did it, me trying to learn how. I simply broke something on purpose to see if I could fix it. Don't worry, it wasn't deleting /etc or anything like that. I read Chroot   Troubleshooting   arch-chroot.8   Basic Chroot. Evenually I would like to create a clean chroot for personal projects, not for the repositories.

Used same ISO as the install, I took notes as you can see. All I can do until I learn how these Services work.

mkdir /fix  (yes arch iso /mnt also works)

mount -t proc /proc proc/  /fix
mount -t sysfs /sys sys/   /fix
mount --rbind /dev dev/    /fix
another chroot tutorial said to also add run, tmp

ls- /fix   dev, proc, run, sys, tmp, @, @home  (btrfs)

mount /dev/sdd3 /fix  (ssd3 root and home, I symlink for personal files to second drive, sdd1 efi, ssd2 swap)

ERRORS came and came... whatever I tried...
chroot /fix /bin/bash (no such file)
...is not a mountpoint
...failed to run command /bin/bash, no such directory

Then my battery died on laptop, grabbed charger plugged back in. Wasn't getting anywhere so I went looking for answers.

Found the answer I hope to problem below:
Partition TYPE (fat, ext2, ext3, etc)  needs to be used from blkid (or fstab), with the :mount -TYPE /dev/ssd3 /fix

Went back in, started over, but I was curious if everything was still mounted after battery died.

/Fix directory was gone, used iso /mnt and everything was still there.

mount /dev/ssd3 /mnt