You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-03 23:07:21

thealphareturns090123894
Member
Registered: 2022-02-28
Posts: 10

wayland won't use nvidia card

quick rundown:

nvidia works 100% fine on xorg.
when I use kde's wayland session, it uses my amd renoir integrated graphics.
nvidia card is using optimus.

nvidia-smi shows that xorg is using the card (sddm) -- as intended.
if i disable sddm.service, reboot, and run startplasma-wayland, it doesnt work. however it shows no processes using the nvidia card (confirms sddm is using the xorg process above)
wayland runs on tty2 while sddm is running on tty1 (sddm's fault).

Last edited by thealphareturns090123894 (2022-03-03 23:08:41)

Offline

#2 2022-03-03 23:35:30

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,971

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

All of that is logically speaking normal, from a plain technical standpoint you "should" be able to use prime-run to offload things, however I'm highly sceptical on how well this generally works on Wayland.

FWIW base requirement for any wayland support on nvidia is enabling early KMS: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … de_setting

Offline

#3 2022-03-04 01:46:33

thealphareturns090123894
Member
Registered: 2022-02-28
Posts: 10

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

yes i did that. modules are in mkinitcpio.conf (+ i915) and the nvidia-drm.modeset=1 is in the grub kernel parameters

Last edited by thealphareturns090123894 (2022-03-04 01:47:28)

Offline

#4 2022-03-04 06:48:38

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 1,586

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

yes i did that. modules are in mkinitcpio.conf (+ i915)

What actual modules are enable in mkinitcpio? i915 is for intel graphics.

Offline

#5 2022-03-04 08:37:57

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,971

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

Presumingly the nvidia modules, and if xorg works correctly then the module situation should be fine.

Since there's no global server on wayland, even if this was working in some form, I'd not expect any process to land on the nvidia GPU by default anyway. While I'm again less than certain this even works (for any situation, I'm not sure it would work with a dedicated AMD card either), are you able to just run prime-run $application and see that process land on the nvidia card? Does

prime-run vulkaninfo #... glxinfo, eglinfo from mesa-utils/vulkan-tools respectively

work? There are a lot of logical gymnastics that have to happen to make this in general happen on wayland that are simply no problem (... but in turn for being easy there have relevant privacy/security concerns) on xorg like sharing application buffers willy nilly

Last edited by V1del (2022-03-04 10:18:19)

Offline

#6 2022-03-04 11:57:54

thealphareturns090123894
Member
Registered: 2022-02-28
Posts: 10

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

all the nvidia modules + i915 are in the mkinitcpio

prime-run vulcaninfo, glxinfom eglinfo all show nvidia
running prime-run startplasma-wayland in the next available tty blackscreens

Last edited by thealphareturns090123894 (2022-03-04 11:59:55)

Offline

#7 2022-03-04 12:16:59

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,971

Re: wayland won't use nvidia card

I'd just not generally do that in any case, and this kind of bend over the entire nvidia image back over the iGPU is absolutely guaranteed to not yet work. Check whether you can run real single applications like actual games with prime-run. You really shouldn't don't want to target and run the entire session on the dedicated GPU for this usecase.

Last edited by V1del (2022-03-04 12:17:31)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB