You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-26 16:24:58

moin
Member
Registered: 2022-04-26
Posts: 1

how i can arch install on one single partition?

my try is smile:

cfdisk /dev/sda

mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda2
mkswap /dev/sda1

mount /dev/sda2 /mnt
swapon /dev/sda1

pacstrap -i /mnt base linux linux-firmware nano

after that i have choose 1 default for mkinitcpio

genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab

arch-chroot /mnt

pacman -S grub efibootmgr


but i do not exactly know the next step: how i can configure the grub-install step:

# grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --bootloader=GRUB --efi-directory=/efi --removable
gave me error back...

last step is:
mkconfig -o /mnt /boot/grub/grub.conf

thanx

Offline

#2 2022-04-26 16:27:34

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,239

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

If you are installing in BIOS mode then your grub-install command is incorrect.
If you are installing in UEFI mode then you also need an EFI partition configured.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2022-04-26 16:28:27

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,209

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

If it's UEFI, you need an EFI System Partition with a filesystem that the firmware can read (FAT32).

Offline

#4 2022-04-26 23:44:56

Adriik
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2022-03-10
Posts: 14

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --bootloader=GRUB --efi-directory=/efi --removable

This says: "install on this 64-bit UEFI machine the bootloader GRUB in the /efi directory"

So, where's the ESP (EFI system partition)?  We need to know if you computer uses BIOS or UEFI.


I'm just someone. Please use code tags.

Offline

#5 2022-04-30 02:40:32

BlackarchNet
Member
From: Allentown
Registered: 2022-04-11
Posts: 23

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

Wait I could've swore Ext is usually for a bios boot, EFI has to be fat format, does it not? that may be the issue, but from what you said you did, you didn't mount a boot partition at all, bios is /mnt/boot for EFI it's /mnt/efi or /mnt/boot/efi you need at least 2 partitions, either a Bios,MBR,Xbootldr or EFI partition and a root, also if your doing it for Bios systems, you need Grub Legacy, the grub you got an error from is actually Grub2 which is EFI, if you have more than 16g of ram you really shouldn't need an actual swap partition, and if performance suffers you can make a Swapfile in place of a swap partition anytime and don't have to reinstall everything to make one or remove one either, and finally if you want a swap on the root, you need to read up on LVM volumes or BTRFS to make subvolumes.

Last edited by BlackarchNet (2022-04-30 02:48:57)


"Victims aren't we all"

"Hail to the King"

Offline

#6 2022-04-30 02:46:36

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,239

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

BlackarchNet wrote:

bios is /mnt/boot for EFI it's /mnt/efi or /mnt/boot/efi you need at least 2 partitions, either a Bios,MBR,Xbootldr or EFI partition and a root, also if your doing it for Bios systems, you need Grub Legacy, the grub you got an error from is actually Grub2 which is EFI.

None of that is strictly correct.

For a BIOS system a separate boot partition isn't needed, a single root partition is fine.
For a UEFI system you can use /mnt/boot for the EFI partition when installing.
Grub2 supports both BIOS and UEFI systems.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#7 2022-04-30 02:53:25

BlackarchNet
Member
From: Allentown
Registered: 2022-04-11
Posts: 23

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

Slithery wrote:
BlackarchNet wrote:

bios is /mnt/boot for EFI it's /mnt/efi or /mnt/boot/efi you need at least 2 partitions, either a Bios,MBR,Xbootldr or EFI partition and a root, also if your doing it for Bios systems, you need Grub Legacy, the grub you got an error from is actually Grub2 which is EFI.

None of that is strictly correct.

For a BIOS system a separate boot partition isn't needed, a single root partition is fine.
For a UEFI system you can use /mnt/boot for the EFI partition when installing.
Grub2 supports both BIOS and UEFI systems.

My mistake, I thought Bios was Ext2-4 at EFI was Fat16-32, and I knew you can mount a efi as boot, i usually have Xboot as the Boot Partition for recovery and EFI as efi that Grub or Refind goes on, and just format them both as fat32, thanks for correcting me, I only thought Isos can be a single partition, interesting, thanks for the info.

Last edited by BlackarchNet (2022-04-30 03:05:16)


"Victims aren't we all"

"Hail to the King"

Offline

#8 2022-04-30 03:01:48

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,209

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

BlackarchNet wrote:

I wish someone would update the fn wiki, cuz it still says Grub isn't fully compatible with Luks2 either, which is also not the case anymore.

Sure it is, and it explains exactly how.

Offline

#9 2022-04-30 03:11:04

BlackarchNet
Member
From: Allentown
Registered: 2022-04-11
Posts: 23

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

Scimmia wrote:
BlackarchNet wrote:

I wish someone would update the fn wiki, cuz it still says Grub isn't fully compatible with Luks2 either, which is also not the case anymore.

Sure it is, and it explains exactly how.

I'm lost, are you saying it Luks2 isn't compatible or agreeing that it is?


"Victims aren't we all"

"Hail to the King"

Offline

#10 2022-04-30 03:14:27

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,209

Re: how i can arch install on one single partition?

I'm saying the wiki is right

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB