You are not logged in.

#1 2022-05-14 10:19:12

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

[Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

Hello guys, I'm a newbie here and just install Arch Linux.
Here's the problems:

1. When I `ping google.com` it'll come out "Temporary failure in name resolution"
I already edit my /etc/resolv.conf with adding "nameserver: 8.8.8.8" inside but it's not working.

2. When pinging 8.8.8.8 it comes out "Network is unreachable"

3. So also when I using pacman it'll come out "Could not resolve host: address"

I'm not sure where's the problem, thanks for helping.

Last edited by Artimira (2022-05-16 15:47:43)

Offline

#2 2022-05-14 11:27:59

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

How do you manage your network?


Солідарність з Україною

Offline

#3 2022-05-14 11:28:17

tucuxi
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2020-03-08
Posts: 234

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

Start by telling us how you set up networking. Ethernet, WiFi, resolver, network manager, dhcp.

Offline

#4 2022-05-14 12:20:13

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 28,841

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

And ftr, I'm not sure whether "nameserver: 8.8.8.8" is accepted syntax, but it's certainly ill-formed (no colon there)

Offline

#5 2022-05-14 13:25:32

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

I use iwctl to connect my wifi

$ iwctl
NetworkConfigurationEnabled: disabled
StateDirectory: /var/lib/iwd
Version: 1.24
[iwd]#

here's my "ip a"

$ ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default q len 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp2s0f0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWNgroupdefault qlen1000
    link/ether 88:a4:c2:3f:38:c1 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4.wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether e0:0a:f6:54:e4:61: brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::e20a:f6ff:fe54:e461/64 scope link
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

If you need anything else I'll try to show it. Thanks!

Offline

#6 2022-05-14 13:27:47

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 28,841

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

You've a carrier but no lease.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Iwd#En … figuration or use dhcpcd/dhclient etc.

Offline

#7 2022-05-14 13:28:25

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,209

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

Looks like you didn't set up an IP, or any way to get one. IWD, by default, just makes the connection, similar to plugging in a cable. See the IWD wiki page.

Offline

#8 2022-05-15 09:37:13

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

seth wrote:

You've a carrier but no lease.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Iwd#En … figuration or use dhcpcd/dhclient etc.

I followed the link to setup files and there's a new question.
When I ping it, it comes out

$ ping google.com
ping: google.com Name or service not known
$ ping 8.8.8.8
From 192.168.1.10 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable

Offline

#9 2022-05-15 10:47:12

tucuxi
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2020-03-08
Posts: 234

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

The article describes different options. It would help if you could tell us what you did.

Offline

#10 2022-05-15 11:01:11

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,069

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

please post (fresh) outputs of

$ ip address
$ ip route
$ ip -6 route

Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#11 2022-05-16 03:27:13

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

tucuxi wrote:

The article describes different options. It would help if you could tell us what you did.

I'm sorry, but what do you mean different options? I might not notice about it.

And here's the ip things:

$ ip address
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default q len 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp2s0f0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN groupdefault qlen1000
    link/ether 88:a4:c2:3f:38:c1 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4. wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether e0:0a:f6:54:e4:61: brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.10/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global noprefixroute wlan0
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::e20a:f6ff:fe54:e461/64 scope link
        valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

$ ip route
default via 192.168.1.1 dev wlan0 proto static metric 304
192.168.1.0/24 dev wlan0 proto static scope link src 192.168.1.10

$ ip -6 route
::1 dev lo proto kernel metric 256 pref medium
fe80::/64 dev wlan0 proto kernel metric 256 pref medium

Offline

#12 2022-05-16 05:09:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 28,841

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

I'm sorry, but what do you mean different options?

from your ip a/r output I guess you copy-and-failed the static server config example?
Don't (because that's 99.99% not the correct values) and post an updated

ip a; ip r

Also (after removing the static server config and restarting iwd/rebooting)

sudo nmap --script broadcast-dhcp-discover

Offline

#13 2022-05-16 12:10:14

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

I don't have nmap and dhcp command, do I need to reinstall the os?

Offline

#14 2022-05-16 12:19:36

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 28,841

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

You can download the nmap package and usb-walk it onto the system (or download and install them w/ the install iso)
However, first provide the requested output after removing the static IP config (if you have added such, which you would please confirm or deny)

Offline

#15 2022-05-16 14:11:06

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 4,874

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

seth wrote:

You can download the nmap package and usb-walk it onto the system (or download and install them w/ the install iso)
However, first provide the requested output after removing the static IP config (if you have added such, which you would please confirm or deny)

Specifically, then only option you should add to the configuration in post #1 is the EnableNetworkConfiguration setting. Nothing else.
When that works (e.g. ping 8.8.8.8), then you can continue with configuring the DNS resolver.

Last edited by progandy (2022-05-16 14:12:53)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#16 2022-05-16 15:47:06

Artimira
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Temporary failure in name resolution

After I delete the IPv4 in /var/lib/iwd/network.psk, the connection works fine now.
Also I added EnableNetworkConfiguration setting.
Thanks for everyone's replies, seems I still have lots of work to learn.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB