You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-21 23:15:45

siggy
Member
Registered: 2022-06-16
Posts: 5

World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

Recently, World of Warcraft and the Battle.net launcher have started to randomly freeze requiring force quitting the application.

My system remains usable and doesn't seem to suffer any side effects of the program crashing. The issue cannot be manually reproduced and it takes a varying amount of time before the freeze occurs, anywhere from 10 minutes to several hours. It also can occur to only the Battle.net launcher program without the World of Warcraft program having been run at all on the system since boot. The freeze has happened while using different wine versions as well.

Pastebin log links:
journalctl
coredumpctl + backtrace

I expect the first suggestion will be to try recreating the wine prefix or reinstalling Battle.net. I have not yet tried that yet since there's no way to force the freeze to happen and therefore no way to confirm that those steps resolved the issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as my guild is still progressing mythic right now and I don't want to get benched!

Offline

#2 2022-06-23 01:20:15

Phlegethon
Member
Registered: 2022-06-23
Posts: 4

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

Hey I am having the same problem with Lutris. But I am using Debian 10. I got random WoW freezes and cannot really reproduce them. What I found out is that when I am using gamemode from feral interactive the iopriotize won't work correctly adding an error and freezing the game. But those errors are also occuring and not freezing the game at all. Without Gamemode the game seems to run perfectly but I cannot really confirm that. Although I don't really think that Gamemode is the problem since I have never changed anything. After the first freeze and killing everything WoW runs smooth without any further more crashes. I'm really desperate and can't make a rhyme on that.

I'm using a self compiled version of wine-tkg with fsync enabled. I think that wine itself shouldn't be the problem since I compiled that wine version in February 2022.

Maybe we are having a problem with WoW itself.

Also created a new prefix just in case but game keeps freezing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Phlegethon (2022-06-23 01:28:30)

Offline

#3 2022-06-23 20:15:14

Phlegethon
Member
Registered: 2022-06-23
Posts: 4

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

I did a test and tried without gamemode. Game still freezes randomly. So disabling gamemode isn't the cure for that problem. This time there isn't any entry in my logs aswell. Very weird.

Offline

#4 2022-06-23 21:56:33

siggy
Member
Registered: 2022-06-16
Posts: 5

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

Up till now have your Lutris logs been any use at all? Mine don't show anything that look remotely related to any kind of crashes or errors, it just stops logging when the game freezes. It also takes several attempts to get Battle.net to launch for some reason, not sure if it's related, but it's pretty irritating.

Here's the log for a failed launch and one for a successful launch if you want to compare.

I haven't tried any significant changes since making this thread yet on tuesday I raided for 3 hours without any freezes. I don't recall any other times since the freezes started that I've played for that long without a freeze. This weekend I'll do some more tinkering and see if I can find anything out.

Offline

#5 2022-06-24 20:22:56

Phlegethon
Member
Registered: 2022-06-23
Posts: 4

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

Nope my lutris logs are empty. The only thing I sometimes get is that when I launch my Battle.net Launcher I get the Error that my wineserver crashed. That freezes the launcher and I have to kill it. But there are no errors in my syslog or lutris log when WoW suddenly freezes again. Played up to 4 hours today and then suddenly a freeze. I first thought I fixed it by installing a new nvidia driver. But that was not the case.

I don't really made any changes before the freezing started on the 15.06.2022. It all started on the day with a freezing of my battle.net launcher just as you said. A few hours later I had my first freeze. Honestly I have no clue how to fix it or how to debug it properly.

If you find out anything after the weekend I would appreciate it.

I'll also try some old forum posts and tinker a bit but I'm not very confident.

Offline

#6 2022-06-24 20:28:01

siggy
Member
Registered: 2022-06-16
Posts: 5

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

Do you ever have crashes when logging in to a character? As in the game launches properly but after selecting a character and going to the loading screen does it ever crash with error #132? Sometimes I have to restart the game 3-4 times before I can login, and this has persisted since before the freezes started. Also I did confirm that the freezes happen on both DX11 and DX12.

Offline

#7 2022-06-24 23:05:26

Phlegethon
Member
Registered: 2022-06-23
Posts: 4

Re: World of Warcraft via Lutris freezes randomly after a while

No I've never had the game crash on startup or when selecting a character. I've always had DX11 to play wow and never had a problem with it. But I found a thread on reddit where people had the same issue with a crashing battle.net Launcher since the latest patch: https://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/c … _to_crash/

Here are threads from the US Forum:

There are also two Posts in the official WoW Forums about the game crashing randomly after the patch:
https://us.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … ch/1255980
https://us.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … /1268210/2

But those are Windows related issues but well we are not alone I guess.

Here are threads of the EU Forum:
https://eu.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … 925/363422

I had a look into the US forums first but I am usually playing on EU Server cause I'm from Germany so well. Seems we got the same problems over here. I start to think that Blizzard did something to make the game go bad.
In this thread they say that Blizzard did something to their Codebase with the patch: https://us.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … 1188554/83 and maybe that could be the issue ? Idk. Maybe ?

Also you Error 132 is mentioned here: https://eu.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … 132/365171

And another one having freezes after the Update: https://eu.forums.blizzard.com/en/wow/t … 5/363625/4

Last edited by Phlegethon (2022-06-24 23:36:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB