You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-30 18:05:41

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw windows after a while, despite being able to switch and close tabs. I tried to disable "gfx.webrender.all" but it didn't work. What could cause this problem? Is there an open bug for this issue?

Offline

#2 2022-07-02 18:00:00

Max13
Member
From: México
Registered: 2017-08-19
Posts: 12

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

I have the same problem, mostly viewing videos but it can happens anytime in any web. I had to make a downgrade to FF 101

Offline

#3 2022-07-03 22:56:14

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

Max13 wrote:

I have the same problem, mostly viewing videos but it can happens anytime in any web. I had to make a downgrade to FF 101

In my case it has randomly happened on Wikipedia. I tried the downgrade but Firefox complains about losing stuff - and we all know partial upgrades are unsupported.

Do you happen to use Xfce and/or an nvidia driver from AUR?

Last edited by damnbug (2022-07-03 22:56:42)

Offline

#4 2022-07-05 00:06:43

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

Enabling "webgl.disabled" doesn't work either, while enabling "svg.disabled" works but it's an ugly workaround, as it breaks tons of sites.

Maybe the best temporary "fix" is to disable "gfx.webrender.svg-images". I'll try it next time.

Offline

#5 2022-07-05 22:37:06

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 426

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

Set "gfx.webrender.svg-images" to true and try other switches:
Try this three one by one or all, you may need to restart browser:
gfx.webrender.software true
gfx.webrender.software.opengl true
gfx.webrender.software.d3d11true

This one with other graphic options reset to defaults or gfx.webrender.software true :
gfx.webrender.force-legacy-layers to true

This one with other graphic options reset to defaults or gfx.webrender.software true :
gfx.x11-egl.force-enabled true

Write if something from this will help. BTW what GPU and driver do you use? X11 or Wayland?

Offline

#6 2022-07-05 22:56:11

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

gfx.webrender.svg-images false doesn't fix it.

xerxes_ wrote:

Set "gfx.webrender.svg-images" to true and try other switches:
Try this three one by one or all, you may need to restart browser:
gfx.webrender.software true
gfx.webrender.software.opengl true
gfx.webrender.software.d3d11true

This one with other graphic options reset to defaults or gfx.webrender.software true :
gfx.webrender.force-legacy-layers to true

This one with other graphic options reset to defaults or gfx.webrender.software true :
gfx.x11-egl.force-enabled true

Write if something from this will help. BTW what GPU and driver do you use? X11 or Wayland?

GeForce GTS 250 with nvidia-340xx-dkms (X11) .

I'll try your suggestions. (gfx.webrender.software.d3d11 defaults to true.)

Update: Firefox crashes on launch with gfx.webrender.software.opengl true.

Last edited by damnbug (2022-07-05 23:00:34)

Offline

#7 2022-07-06 12:27:03

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 426

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

OK, then don't set gfx.webrender.software.opengl to true and maybe gfx.webrender.software to true and anyhing what would couse a crash but try this two one by one:
gfx.webrender.force-legacy-layers to true
gfx.x11-egl.force-enabled true

Offline

#8 2022-07-06 21:45:51

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

So far, no problem with gfx.webrender.force-legacy-layers true.

Offline

#9 2022-07-11 08:59:25

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

And when I thought the setting above had fixed it, the problem reappeared. I'll now try to set "gfx.x11-egl.force-enabled" to "true" and leave all other related settings untouched.

Edit: it didn't work. I'll just enable gfx.webrender.all again and consider changing web browser.

Last edited by damnbug (2022-07-11 13:28:44)

Offline

#10 2022-08-01 16:58:44

damnbug
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 75

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

Firefox 103 didn't fix it.

Is it possible the bug is related to rtkit-daemon?

Offline

#11 2022-08-02 11:20:03

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,250

Re: Firefox 102.0 fails to redraw

It wouldn't be the first time that occurs.

$ pactree --sync --reverse rtkit --depth 1
rtkit
├─pulseaudio
└─xdg-desktop-portal
$

You can look into removing those 2 packages so you can get rid of rtkit .

An alternative would be :
- disable rtkit-daemon.service
This will prevent rtkit from getting started at boot, but it still can (and will be) started on demand through dbus.

- as root move /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services/org.freedesktop.RealtimeKit1.service  somewhere else.
reboot and rtkit can still be started manually through the service, but no longer automatically .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2022-08-02 11:20:50)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB