You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-29 23:05:53

biscotty666
Member
Registered: 2022-07-08
Posts: 37

Starting fresh

Hi,

I was really enjoying my arch experience (except the systemd part, but I know...) and had an great productive setup but I ran into some bad problems and I really needed to be productive so I threw on Slackware and spent a week coding. But I only used half the disk for Slack because I want to use Arch again because there are some things I liked a lot better.

I would like to set up a dual boot with Slackware but I can't see how to point the installer to a specific partition on the disk. It does give me an opportunity to choose how to handle partitions (format, etc.) but I don't see how I can point the installation to a specific partition. Is this possible?

Thanks

Last edited by biscotty666 (2022-07-29 23:07:36)

Offline

#2 2022-07-29 23:11:56

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,433

Online

#3 2022-07-30 00:10:18

biscotty666
Member
Registered: 2022-07-08
Posts: 37

Re: Starting fresh

I have read it several times. As I said I have installed arch a number of times before so perhaps a more specific answer would be more helpful. Maybe just something like "You missed this bit" if I missed that in the documentation.

Last edited by biscotty666 (2022-07-30 00:12:19)

Offline

#4 2022-07-30 00:24:29

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,640

Re: Starting fresh

biscotty666 wrote:

Is this possible?

Yes.

Edit: Are you talking of the Slackware installer?

Last edited by ewaller (2022-07-30 00:25:31)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#5 2022-07-30 00:35:38

biscotty666
Member
Registered: 2022-07-08
Posts: 37

Re: Starting fresh

Slackware is already installed. I'd like to install Arch as well. I could install Arch first and then slackware but I would like to avoid having to reinstall all programs I need all over again.

Thanks

Offline

#6 2022-07-30 00:38:56

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,640

Re: Starting fresh

So, what bootloader are you using, and what does Slackware documentation say about dual boot systems?
You are going to need to install Arch in concordance with the installation guide, and then modify the Slackware boot loader to load Arch.

Edit:. or you could install an Arch boot loader and configure ir to load Slack.

Last edited by ewaller (2022-07-30 00:39:49)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#7 2022-07-30 00:52:22

biscotty666
Member
Registered: 2022-07-08
Posts: 37

Re: Starting fresh

I'm okay with configuring the bootloader. I just need to point the arch install to a specific partition and I don't see any "target partition" sort of option in the installer.

Offline

#8 2022-07-30 01:19:23

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,433

Re: Starting fresh

You keep saying "the installer". What are you talking about, specifically? There's no "installer" in the instructions I linked.

Last edited by Scimmia (2022-07-30 01:25:10)

Online

#9 2022-07-30 03:13:38

biscotty666
Member
Registered: 2022-07-08
Posts: 37

Re: Starting fresh

archinstall.  The one that comes on the arch install disk.

Last edited by biscotty666 (2022-07-30 03:14:05)

Offline

#10 2022-07-30 03:19:51

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,053
Website

Re: Starting fresh

archinstall apparently only supports installs to a full device.  Don't use it.  Follow the instructions you've been linked to above.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB