You are not logged in.

#26 2022-08-20 20:15:11

cradlemann
Member
Registered: 2017-07-14
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

I also have the same issue with battery

➜ sudo inxi -F
System:
  Host: crandel Kernel: 5.19.2-arch1-1 arch: x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: sway
    v: 1.7 Distro: Arch Linux
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506IV_FA506IV
    v: 1.0 serial: L4NRCX015114165
  Mobo: ASUSTeK model: FA506IV v: 1.0 serial: L416NRCX0046X7MB
    UEFI: American Megatrends v: FA506IV.320 date: 06/01/2022
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 22.4 Wh (59.4%) condition: 37.7/48.1 Wh (78.4%)
    volts: 10.5 min: 11.7
CPU:
  Info: 8-core model: AMD Ryzen 7 4800H with Radeon Graphics bits: 64
    type: MT MCP cache: L2: 4 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 2900 min/max: 1400/2900 cores: 1: 2900 2: 2900 3: 2900
    4: 2900 5: 2900 6: 2900 7: 2900 8: 2900 9: 2900 10: 2900 11: 2900 12: 2900
    13: 2900 14: 2900 15: 2900 16: 2900
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Renoir driver: amdgpu v: kernel
  Device-2: IMC Networks USB2.0 HD UVC WebCam type: USB driver: uvcvideo
  Display: server: X.org v: 1.21.1.4 with: Xwayland v: 22.1.3 driver: X:
    loaded: amdgpu,nvidia unloaded: modesetting gpu: amdgpu
    resolution: 1920x1080
  Message: GL data unavailable for root.
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Renoir Radeon High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Device-2: AMD ACP/ACP3X/ACP6x Audio Coprocessor driver: N/A
  Device-3: AMD Family 17h/19h HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.19.2-arch1-1 running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PipeWire v: 0.3.56 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
    driver: r8169
  IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: a8:5e:45:38:31:ce
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8822CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
    driver: rtw_8822ce
  IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: 70:66:55:47:4c:11
  IF-ID-1: br-a12566db24f4 state: down mac: 02:42:f2:4b:40:48
  IF-ID-2: br-ea90f6bb8734 state: down mac: 02:42:e8:1b:ed:61
  IF-ID-3: docker0 state: down mac: 02:42:ae:1d:94:fd
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: IMC Networks Bluetooth Radio type: USB driver: btusb
  Report: bt-adapter ID: hci0 state: up address: 70:66:55:47:4C:10
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.38 TiB used: 875.19 GiB (62.1%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Kingston model: OM8PCP3512F-AB
    size: 476.94 GiB
  ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: Crucial model: CT1000MX500SSD1 size: 931.51 GiB
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 95.56 GiB used: 55.13 GiB (57.7%) fs: ext4
    dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3
  ID-2: /boot size: 510 MiB used: 96.6 MiB (18.9%) fs: vfat
    dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 7.81 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%)
    dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 40.9 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 40.0 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A

Offline

#27 2022-08-20 20:59:22

Rijndael1998
Member
Registered: 2022-08-20
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

I'm also having issues with battery.


seth wrote:

>a) does everyone here get that ("sudo dmesg | grep ucsi")

[   25.863379] ucsi_acpi USBC000:00: failed to reset PPM!
[   25.863386] ucsi_acpi USBC000:00: PPM init failed (-110)

fails

seth wrote:

b) does everyone here have an optimus system ("sudo dmesg | grep -E 'i915|nvidia'")

[   21.435471] nvidia: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[   21.435484] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[   21.494771] nvidia: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
[   21.539112] i915 0000:00:02.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
[   21.548081] i915 0000:00:02.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=io+mem
[   21.551233] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] Finished loading DMC firmware i915/tgl_dmc_ver2_12.bin (v2.12)
[   21.562056] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] Protected Xe Path (PXP) protected content support initialized
[   21.780163] nvidia-nvlink: Nvlink Core is being initialized, major device number 509
[   21.781111] nvidia 0000:01:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0003)
[   21.786980] nvidia 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=none
[   21.928699] nvidia_uvm: module uses symbols nvUvmInterfaceDisableAccessCntr from proprietary module nvidia, inheriting taint.
[   21.944538] mei_pxp 0000:00:16.0-fbf6fcf1-96cf-4e2e-a6a6-1bab8cbe36b1: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_pxp_tee_component_ops [i915])
[   22.077503] nvidia-uvm: Loaded the UVM driver, major device number 507.
[   22.078082] nvidia-modeset: Loading NVIDIA Kernel Mode Setting Driver for UNIX platforms  515.65.01  Wed Jul 20 13:43:59 UTC 2022
[   22.078581] mei_hdcp 0000:00:16.0-b638ab7e-94e2-4ea2-a552-d1c54b627f04: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_hdcp_component_ops [i915])
[   22.104053] [drm] [nvidia-drm] [GPU ID 0x00000100] Loading driver
[   22.104058] [drm] Initialized nvidia-drm 0.0.0 20160202 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 1
[   22.871161] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20201103 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
[   22.874243] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
[   22.876038] fbcon: i915drmfb (fb0) is primary device
[   22.890192] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] fb0: i915drmfb frame buffer device

i think i do

seth wrote:

c) does reloading ucsi_acpi ("sudo modprobe -r ucsi_acpi; modprobe ucsi_acpi") help?

[r@AsusLinux ~]$ sudo modprobe -r ucsi_acpi; sudo modprobe ucsi_acpi
[r@AsusLinux ~]$ acpi # plugged in
Battery 0: Discharging, 100%, 01:09:29 remaining
[r@AsusLinux ~]$ acpi # unplugged
Battery 0: Discharging, 100%, 01:09:29 remaining

No. Acpi reports the wrong status.

seth wrote:

d) can you disable the nvidia GPU in the BIOS?

I don't believe so.

seth wrote:

e) is the charger of the device 1. a  dock, 2. usb-c, 3. some dedicated power plug?

My power supply is a dedicated circular plug that plugs into the side of my laptop.

Offline

#28 2022-08-20 21:45:40

randomxusr
Member
Registered: 2021-08-04
Posts: 30

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Seems to be an issue with Asus Laptops?

I've got a 506IU doing the same thing. I've been booting to the LTS kernel for sanity.

Any Word on the bug report?  I'm Guessing we'll know more next week.

Offline

#29 2022-08-21 13:50:59

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

randomxusr wrote:

Seems to be an issue with Asus Laptops?

Maybe not i found a report of a similar problem in the Manjaro forums of a legion laptop.

https://forum.manjaro.org/t/no-charging … n-5/118819

Could some one with a Manjaro account contact this guy please.

randomxusr wrote:

Any Word on the bug report?  I'm Guessing we'll know more next week.

No answer from anyone about the bug report.
The bug report maybe needs to be modify because there are other problems that maybe related or maybe is not an Asus problem but a laptop in general problem, if so the bug report as to be modify or created a new bug report with all the information.

Offline

#30 2022-08-21 15:17:25

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

not good, 5.18 has been marked EOL, with release 5.18.19.

Offline

#31 2022-08-21 23:28:22

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

some finding i made

apci is doing something

Arch_Linux_Hubble ~ $: sudo acpi_listen       
#i unplug the power                                      
ac_adapter ACPI0003:00 00000080 00000001
 0B3CBB35-E3C2- 000000ff 00000000
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000081 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000080 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000081 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000080 00000001
#i plug the power
ac_adapter ACPI0003:00 00000080 00000001
 0B3CBB35-E3C2- 000000ff 00000000
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000081 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000080 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000081 00000001
battery PNP0C0A:00 00000080 00000001

so apci is receiving information on the if the power adapter is plug in or not, i just dont know why is charging/discharging state not being update
i don't know how apci works or how it reports information to the system

also similar problem in bugzilla but is when the computer suspends or sleeps
 
https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=210425

Offline

#32 2022-08-22 02:17:40

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

not sure what changed but 6.0-rc2 seems to have resolved the issue with battery, acpitz and fan sensors for me big_smile

Offline

#33 2022-08-22 02:30:22

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Annika wrote:

not sure what changed but 6.0-rc2 seems to have resolved the issue with battery, acpitz and fan sensors for me big_smile

Finally some good news, now let's wait that when hits the arch repositories will still work. Tomorrow i will check if also works for me

Last edited by Hubbleexplorer (2022-08-22 02:30:34)

Offline

#34 2022-08-22 03:03:59

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Hubbleexplorer wrote:
Annika wrote:

not sure what changed but 6.0-rc2 seems to have resolved the issue with battery, acpitz and fan sensors for me big_smile

Finally some good news, now let's wait that when hits the arch repositories will still work. Tomorrow i will check if also works for me

Even better news, 5.19.3 also seems to have solved the problem! and that should land in arch stable within the next few days

I suppose we can just close the bug report and thread then

Last edited by Annika (2022-08-22 03:04:38)

Offline

#35 2022-08-22 03:27:46

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Even better news, 5.19.3 also seems to have solved the problem! and that should land in arch stable within the next few days

I suppose we can just close the bug report and thread then

5.19.3 doesn't work for me still the same problem

Offline

#36 2022-08-22 04:09:37

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Hubbleexplorer wrote:

Even better news, 5.19.3 also seems to have solved the problem! and that should land in arch stable within the next few days

I suppose we can just close the bug report and thread then

5.19.3 doesn't work for me still the same problem

huh... that's odd...

[^ ^] ~> sensors
asus-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
cpu_fan:     2500 RPM

nvme-pci-0400
Adapter: PCI adapter
Composite:    +49.9°C  (low  = -273.1°C, high = +84.8°C)
                       (crit = +84.8°C)
Sensor 1:     +49.9°C  (low  = -273.1°C, high = +65261.8°C)
Sensor 2:     +68.8°C  (low  = -273.1°C, high = +65261.8°C)

BAT1-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
in0:          16.54 V
curr1:         0.00 A

amdgpu-pci-0600
Adapter: PCI adapter
vddgfx:        1.33 V
vddnb:       899.00 mV
edge:         +35.0°C
PPT:           4.00 mW

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Tctl:         +51.9°C

nvme-pci-0500
Adapter: PCI adapter
Composite:    +25.9°C  (low  =  -0.1°C, high = +76.8°C)
                       (crit = +79.8°C)

acpitz-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
temp1:        +51.0°C  (crit = +115.0°C)

[^ ^] ~> uname -a
Linux ann1ka-pc 5.19.3-269-tkg-cfs-llvm #1 TKG SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Mon, 22 Aug 2022 02:28:59 +0000 x86_64 GNU/Linux

works for me... maybe its the asus-wmi patches i have? i use them for keyboard rgb control https://lore.kernel.org/platform-driver … l.com/T/#t

Offline

#37 2022-08-22 08:32:23

Andy3153
Member
Registered: 2018-12-24
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Annika wrote:

maybe its the asus-wmi patches i have? i use them for keyboard rgb control https://lore.kernel.org/platform-driver … l.com/T/#t

Is that Faustus? Or, what is it?

Offline

#38 2022-08-22 09:44:20

sparklyballs
Member
Registered: 2020-02-02
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

5.19.3 has not fixed the battery issue for me

asus tuf a15 2022
FA507RM-HQ019W

Offline

#39 2022-08-22 10:48:32

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Annika wrote:

works for me... maybe its the asus-wmi patches i have? i use them for keyboard rgb control https://lore.kernel.org/platform-driver … l.com/T/#t

i don't know for sure how did you apply the patches?

Offline

#40 2022-08-22 10:57:21

Andy3153
Member
Registered: 2018-12-24
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

sparklyballs wrote:

5.19.3 has not fixed the battery issue for me

Same here. Asus TUF F15 2021 FX506HM

Offline

#41 2022-08-22 12:55:35

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Annika wrote:

not sure what changed but 6.0-rc2 seems to have resolved the issue with battery, acpitz and fan sensors for me big_smile

I tried the 6.0 kernel as promise an it doesn't fix the problem for me

Offline

#42 2022-08-22 13:14:25

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Hubbleexplorer wrote:
Annika wrote:

works for me... maybe its the asus-wmi patches i have? i use them for keyboard rgb control https://lore.kernel.org/platform-driver … l.com/T/#t

i don't know for sure how did you apply the patches?

I just made a patchset from this patchset to apply against 6.0-rc2, and it just works....

however i just tried arch linux 5.19.3 and indeed the same bugs are present. So I'm not sure what changed other than that in my case.

Offline

#43 2022-08-22 13:34:09

Rijndael1998
Member
Registered: 2022-08-20
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Andy3153 wrote:
sparklyballs wrote:

5.19.3 has not fixed the battery issue for me

Same here. Asus TUF F15 2021 FX506HM

I just updated to Linux 5.19.3. Same here. ASUS TUF Gaming F15 FX506HCB

Offline

#44 2022-08-23 15:03:05

Defunctus
Member
Registered: 2022-08-22
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Looks like I'm late to the party, but I've been experiencing this problem too. I have an ASUS TUF A15 FA506IV. Any news?

Offline

#45 2022-08-23 15:05:10

cradlemann
Member
Registered: 2017-07-14
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Switch to lts kernel as 5.19.3... still not working for me
ASUS TUF Gaming A15 FA506IV_FA506IV

Last edited by cradlemann (2022-08-23 15:06:36)

Offline

#46 2022-08-23 15:09:31

Hubbleexplorer
Member
Registered: 2021-05-15
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Defunctus wrote:

Looks like I'm late to the party, but I've been experiencing this problem too. I have an ASUS TUF A15 FA506IV. Any news?

Not good news but in the bug reported made (https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/75653?p … ened=37867) someone with an Huawei Matebook 14 reported the same problem

Annika wrote:

I just made a patchset from this patchset to apply against 6.0-rc2, and it just works....

however i just tried arch linux 5.19.3 and indeed the same bugs are present. So I'm not sure what changed other than that in my case.

Annika if you can make the patchset you made downloadable to this thread please do it

Last edited by Hubbleexplorer (2022-08-23 15:13:55)

Offline

#47 2022-08-23 18:15:09

Defunctus
Member
Registered: 2022-08-22
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Hubbleexplorer wrote:
Defunctus wrote:

Looks like I'm late to the party, but I've been experiencing this problem too. I have an ASUS TUF A15 FA506IV. Any news?

Not good news but in the bug reported made (https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/75653?p … ened=37867) someone with an Huawei Matebook 14 reported the same problem

Annika wrote:

I just made a patchset from this patchset to apply against 6.0-rc2, and it just works....

however i just tried arch linux 5.19.3 and indeed the same bugs are present. So I'm not sure what changed other than that in my case.

Annika if you can make the patchset you made downloadable to this thread please do it

Thanks for submitting the bug report, Hubble.

Annika, I'd also be interested in trying that patchset, if you're willing to share it.

Offline

#48 2022-08-23 18:34:48

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

hold on, i just found something interesting, i compiled a new kernel without modprobed-db and it turns out it stopped working again...but now i have some more information on what might be happening so check this out:

[^ ^] ~> zless /proc/config.gz | grep ASUS
# CONFIG_TABLET_USB_PEGASUS is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_ASUS_WMI is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_ASUS_WMI_EC is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_ASUS_EC is not set
# CONFIG_HID_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ASUS_LAPTOP is not set
CONFIG_ASUS_WIRELESS=m
CONFIG_ASUS_WMI=m
CONFIG_ASUS_NB_WMI=m
# CONFIG_ASUS_TF103C_DOCK is not set

this is my config with modprobe-db, whats interesting is these are all enabled on the full kconfig so perhapsssss its a conflict..?

Offline

#49 2022-08-23 18:38:27

Annika
Member
Registered: 2022-08-14
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

Defunctus wrote:
Hubbleexplorer wrote:
Defunctus wrote:

Looks like I'm late to the party, but I've been experiencing this problem too. I have an ASUS TUF A15 FA506IV. Any news?

Not good news but in the bug reported made (https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/75653?p … ened=37867) someone with an Huawei Matebook 14 reported the same problem

Annika wrote:

I just made a patchset from this patchset to apply against 6.0-rc2, and it just works....

however i just tried arch linux 5.19.3 and indeed the same bugs are present. So I'm not sure what changed other than that in my case.

Annika if you can make the patchset you made downloadable to this thread please do it

Thanks for submitting the bug report, Hubble.

Annika, I'd also be interested in trying that patchset, if you're willing to share it.

here you go https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ … sp=sharing

Offline

#50 2022-08-23 18:49:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,339

Re: [SOLVED] Arch no longer updates battery level/state

@Annika, the previously posted lsmod doesn't seem to match any of the differences but you could however diff the lsmod of the kernel w/ modprobe-db and that w/o?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB