You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-18 12:08:46

Tha1
Member
Registered: 2006-06-30
Posts: 8

Filesystem Check Failed !!!

Hi guys.
When i try to boot into Arch,aftere all the hardware checkups,always gives me the same message:Filesystem Check Failed.Asks then to repair and reboot manually. For the record, i have a SATA disk from Seagate, and i have sda6 as swap, and sda7 as /; it's when is checking in sda7 that this happens.
How can i solve this?

Offline

#2 2006-12-18 12:18:50

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

Have you tried actually repairing the filesystem?


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#3 2006-12-18 12:55:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

If you need a hint on how to do that you just need to give the root password when prompted and run an fs repair.  If you have ext3 I find this works great:

e2fsck -p /dev/hd??

Whatever hd?? or even sd?? might be.  In 99% of cases there is no real problem and the check is merely cursory.[/code]

Offline

#4 2006-12-18 13:24:21

Tha1
Member
Registered: 2006-06-30
Posts: 8

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

I didn't know how to repair it. Fortunately, without me doing anything,after two reboots the system started to boot normally. I don't know what happened, but I'm glad that it did. Thanks for your help anyway.

Offline

#5 2006-12-18 14:17:31

STiAT
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2004-12-23
Posts: 605

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

You should try to do a manual check again anyway, just to be on the safe side.
If errors occur, try to repair the fs with the command dtw posted (ofc with the right partition entered).


Ability is nothing without opportunity.

Offline

#6 2006-12-18 18:59:46

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

Just make sure that you do not run it on a mounted file system. You will completely trash your Ext3 partitions.

Offline

#7 2006-12-18 23:48:09

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Charlotte, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,736

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

skottish wrote:

Just make sure that you do not run it on a mounted file system. You will completely trash your Ext3 partitions.

and you can use telinit s or append s to your kernel line in grub.conf to drop down into single user mode to remount as read-only.

Offline

#8 2006-12-19 01:41:51

JadedMouse
Member
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 3

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

check your fstab, cos mine always changes after a partition resize, so it may apply to you too.

Offline

#9 2006-12-19 08:08:01

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

May as well finish off the list of how to check your filesystem..

If you run "touch /forcefsck" as root, it'll check all filesystems next time it boots.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#10 2007-03-18 08:24:59

orjanp
Member
From: Tromsoe, Norway
Registered: 2004-07-03
Posts: 347

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

skottish wrote:

Just make sure that you do not run it on a mounted file system. You will completely trash your Ext3 partitions.

So it is wise to boot with the install cd and do it from there?

Orjanp...


Ørjan Pettersen

Offline

#11 2007-03-19 01:34:15

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

orjanp wrote:

So it is wise to boot with the install cd and do it from there?

Someone else will have to confirm this, but I don't see why doing it from a live CD would be a problem. I've always done it from inside Arch. I drop down to run level 3, explicitly unmount the drive in question, then run the repair utility.

Last edited by skottish (2007-03-19 01:34:45)

Offline

#12 2009-04-13 19:05:34

Recursive
Member
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 5

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

How do you successfully umount your root filesystem to run e2fsck on it without using your Arch Boot CD? Could you give me the exact command?

Last edited by Recursive (2009-04-13 19:14:11)

Offline

#13 2009-04-13 19:52:40

mickael9
Member
Registered: 2008-10-11
Posts: 29

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

« telinit 1 » switches to single user mode, make sure the filesystem is mounted read-only (mount /dev/sdXX -o remount,ro) and then run fsck

Offline

#14 2009-11-01 03:21:11

Marko-Serbia
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-09-06
Posts: 7

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

You literary saved me of few hours of boredom from installing system. I fooled around with new ubuntu 9.10 and tried to change permissions on arch mounted partitions so I can access my home folder (its stupid I know). And it changed my filesystem so I couldn't pass the check on startup. fsck /dev/sda3 in my case helped. Thank you.

Offline

#15 2010-02-20 01:08:56

trusktr
Banned
From: .earth
Registered: 2010-02-18
Posts: 907
Website

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

thanks Marko-Serbia! That command worked like a charm. I don't know how things got messed up to begin with, but it's fixed now. smile

Anyone with this problem, use:

fsck /dev/sdaX

but replace X with the number of the partition that Failed at boot.

Also if the drive you are booting from is the second boot device, you might need to substitute sdaX with sdbX, etc...

I've learnt so much already this past day installing linux for the first time ever.. big_smilecool


joe@trusktr.io - joe at true skater dot io.

Offline

#16 2010-11-21 22:03:58

AquaFox
Member
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 62

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

When I try to umount my / it says it unmounted but if I run fsck it says it is mounted. This is worrying.

Offline

#17 2010-11-21 22:37:06

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 28,922
Website

Re: Filesystem Check Failed !!!

Please don't necro-bump https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.27

If you have a similar issue, open a new thread and include as much information as you can...

Closing


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB