You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-19 06:38:12

nurali
Member
Registered: 2022-11-14
Posts: 36

[SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

Hey everyone
I am using nvidia (gtx 1650 aka tu117m) drivers with kde desktop,it runs on X11 session
When I open files,application,the screen will show some lines,dim lines,there is a screen recording:
http://0x0.st/olXk.mkv
You can see the dim lines blinking at the bottom of screen,actually they blink everywhere,I don't know why obs didn't capture all of it
Here is window dragging,it tears apart:
http://0x0.st/olX7.mkv

[ali@arch ~]$ sudo cat /sys/module/nvidia_drm/parameters/modeset 
Y

Here is my optimus manager screenshot:
http://0x0.st/olXn.png
Nvidia-smi:
http://0x0.st/olX5.png
there is outputs for

sudo journalctl -b
qdbus org.kde.KWin /KWin supportInformation
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log

http://0x0.st/olXF.txt
http://0x0.st/olXC.txt
http://0x0.st/ol8r.txt
Is this a solvable problem?Plz check

Last edited by nurali (2022-11-24 04:59:11)

Offline

#2 2022-11-19 19:05:16

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,859

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

It looks as though it's your integrated AMD graphics which finds the display information properly and the two graphics chips are coming into conflict. If you don't want to use the integrated graphics at all, you can blacklist modules. If you want to use both, you need to configure your system appropriately (e.g. using prime or optimus or whatever).


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#3 2022-11-21 16:39:05

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 17,745

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

From a "general setup" perspective things are looking as they should on such a case. However since this is a turing GPU you should consider removing optimus-manager and any xorg configs generated by it and simply use the nvidia card as intended on a case by case basis via PRIME: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PRIME# … er_offload

Offline

#4 2022-11-21 16:54:28

nurali
Member
Registered: 2022-11-14
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

V1del wrote:

From a "general setup" perspective things are looking as they should on such a case. However since this is a turing GPU you should consider removing optimus-manager and any xorg configs generated by it and simply use the nvidia card as intended on a case by case basis via PRIME: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PRIME# … er_offload

Thanks for replying,I'll try that,and I am preparing to call for some help from Lenovo,somebody said that my machine contains a chip called "Graphics Processing Unit Direct Chip",I don't know if I am transating it right but it is called "独显直连芯片" in Chinese,anyway,that SOMEBODY told me that my machine probable has this chip and there is no driver for that on Linux....I don't know....I am reading a lot of articles now,seaching Arch Forums,Manjaro Forums,but it seems like there is no one using the same laptop,LOL.....I'll try,thank you and goodnight(It's midnight now in western China)

Offline

#5 2022-11-22 08:47:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,685

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

SOMEBODY told me that my machine probable has this chip and there is no driver for that on Linux

Somebody™ is full of shit - the nature of the internet roll

You're running on the nvidia chip but the output is wired to the intel chip and the synchronization fails somwhere on the line. That's all.
Do what V1del told you: Get rid of optimus-manager, run the session on the intel chip and invoke the nvidia chip only for games.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … %E6%96%87)

Offline

#6 2022-11-24 03:06:13

nurali
Member
Registered: 2022-11-14
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

seth wrote:

You're running on the nvidia chip but the output is wired to the intel chip and the synchronization fails somwhere on the line. That's all.
Do what V1del told you: Get rid of optimus-manager, run the session on the intel chip and invoke the nvidia chip only for games.

OK,I don't play any game actually,and my the machine is AMD+nVidia.....
In bios options,there is "Graphic Device" page that provides two choises,the first one is "switchable graphics" which is caused above-mentioned problems;and another one is "Discrete Graphics",this will handover everything to N card,output is not wired to AMD chip in this solution,but if I do the "Discrete Graphics",after everything get done,there will be another problem "animation frame dropping".This is the issue page:https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=281305
And this issue https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=281415 happens when I switch it into "Switchable graphics".
And yes,If I switch it into "Switchable graphics" and install drivers for Vega7,the issues I listed will be solved(nvidia don't work with or without drivers in this Switable Graphics mode,unless I use optimus to switch it)
This is the whole problem I got.It's not very important if I can solve it now,but I want to figure out why there is such weird problem.
Thank you for helping man

Offline

#7 2022-11-24 04:58:16

nurali
Member
Registered: 2022-11-14
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED]Screen tearing with nVidia(KDE desktop)

seth wrote:

SOMEBODY told me that my machine probable has this chip and there is no driver for that on Linux

Somebody™ is full of shit - the nature of the internet roll

You're running on the nvidia chip but the output is wired to the intel chip and the synchronization fails somwhere on the line. That's all.
Do what V1del told you: Get rid of optimus-manager, run the session on the intel chip and invoke the nvidia chip only for games.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … %E6%96%87)

I asked in a group of Legion users,some of them use the same PC with me,and all of them have the same problem,it seems like a common problem on Legion,so I am not intending to solve this,I am gonna use Vega7 and use prime-run for specified applications.
Thanks again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB