You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-23 20:35:15

caust1c
Member
Registered: 2005-12-02
Posts: 56

Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

Hi!
I've got the following Soundcard: (info from alsamixer)
Card: SBLive! Platinum [CT4760P]
Chip: SigmaTel STAC9721,23

The Problem is, that i cant capture from the mic. I dont have a volume bar in the capture screen from alsamixer. I can hear microphone input, but i cant capture it sad

any ideas how to fix this issue?

Offline

#2 2007-01-20 23:54:50

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 132

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

I have the exact same problem but with a sound blaster audigy. My guess is that alsa has a few bugs to fix.


"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#3 2007-01-21 09:52:55

alikas
Member
From: Lithuania, Vilnius
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 319
Website

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

Can try view microphone with gnome-alsamixer (pacman -S gnome-alsamixer).
gnome-alsamixer show or microphone record selected or no. And try 2 (in my case) capture regulators turn up.


Goodbye!

Offline

#4 2007-01-21 11:56:55

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 132

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

I already know that it's an alsamixer problem because someone in the linux user group in the city I live in, fixed the problem by running amixer and looking at the mic setting output.

I'm currently looking through some sites to try and fix this:

http://www.cse.ohio-state.edu/~bondhugu/alsamch.shtml

http://www.mail-archive.com/alsa-user@l … 18498.html


"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#5 2007-01-21 23:31:01

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 132

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

First I typed:

amixer scontrols

07:52:01 ~$ amixer scontrols
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Simple mixer control 'Tone',0
Simple mixer control 'Bass',0
Simple mixer control 'Treble',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM Center',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM Front',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM LFE',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM Out Path & Mute',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM Side',0
Simple mixer control 'PCM Surround',0
Simple mixer control 'Front',0
Simple mixer control 'Surround',0
Simple mixer control 'Center',0
Simple mixer control 'LFE',0
Simple mixer control 'Side',0
Simple mixer control 'Synth',0
Simple mixer control 'Wave',0
Simple mixer control 'Line',0
Simple mixer control 'CD',0
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
Simple mixer control 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0
Simple mixer control 'Mic Select',0
Simple mixer control 'Video',0
Simple mixer control 'Phone',0
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Optical',0
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Optical Raw',0
Simple mixer control 'PC Speaker',0
Simple mixer control 'Aux',0
Simple mixer control 'Aux2',0
Simple mixer control 'Mono Output Select',0
Simple mixer control 'AMic',0
Simple mixer control 'Analog Mix',0
Simple mixer control 'Audigy Analog/Digital Output Jack',0
Simple mixer control 'Audigy CD',0
Simple mixer control 'External Amplifier',0
08:18:37 ~$

First I set

amixer set 'Mic',0 75%

Then I set:

amixer set 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0 toggle

Confirmed with:

amixer get 'Mic',0
amixer get 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0

08:24:54 ~$ amixer get 'Mic',0 ; amixer get 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined
  Capture channels: Mono
  Limits: Capture 0 - 31
  Mono: Capture 23 [74%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
08:25:07 ~$

Finally:

arecord blah.wav
...
// talked into mic
// Pressed CTRL-C
...

aplay blah.wav

And it worked! big_smile


"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#6 2007-01-25 13:48:00

alzen
Member
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 30

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

hi guys, i also had problems with recording, after looked into arch's wiki and arch's forums i made it working.... almost..., when i record there's a lot of noise, and my voice is very silent..., maybe someone will be able to help me. i use .asoundrc from arch's wiki, here are some outputs:

amixer get 'Mic',0

Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 24 [77%] [on]
  Front Left: Capture [off]
  Front Right: Capture [off]

amixer get 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0

Simple mixer control 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]

maybe microphone capture channels shall be set to mono, but i cannot find  it out how to change it...

one more thing, in alsamixer in basic view "mic" i set to 100%, when i press F5, it's still 100%, like "capture", but when i press F4 "mic" doesn't have volume bar and i cannot raise it, but "capture" is set to 100%.

Offline

#7 2007-01-25 15:52:40

alikas
Member
From: Lithuania, Vilnius
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 319
Website

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

Check or CD muted, beacause on my computer if CD not muted and is 100, then I hrear noise.
On my computer not muted is: Master D 80, PCM 100, Capture 100.
Muted is Mic 39. But not muted record for Mic. Alsamixer not show all parameters, not show or microfon can record or not.
Gnome-alsamixer show all parameters.
Goodbye!
There some information on my computer show alsamixer:

│ Card: CS4236B                                                                                                                                                        ││ Chip: CS4236B                                                                                                                                                        ││ View: [Playback] Capture  All                                                                                                                                        ││ Item: Line Capture Bypass [Off]   

Goodbye!

Offline

#8 2007-01-27 18:51:17

alzen
Member
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 30

Re: Problems with Soundblaster Live (recording)

alikas, guess CD wasn't the problem in my case; i don't have it muted and recording is fine, just needed to change the microphone("Mic Select") to Mic1 in alsamixer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB