You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-23 07:54:31

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

[SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

HI Guys

I have a Dell optiplex 7010 with Intel Xeon E3-1200 & NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GTX 650], running XFCE on kernel 5.15.79-1-lts.
There is two vga ports on the computer & I have my main monitor connected to the vga port on the nvidia card & my new monitor tilted vertically & connected to the intel vga port built-in to the computer.
Whenever I turn on the computer I get a message.. Attention: Unsupported Video Configuration Detected. Action is Required.
I have tried enabling multi-display in my bios settings, but that only somewhat worked. Whenever I rebooted the computer did boot to the desktop, but my new monitor was stuck at a tty & was not showing up in display setting, or xrandr.
As of now I have disconnected the monitor. Someone please help me get my new second monitor working.

Many thanks....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-23 13:49:42)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#2 2022-11-23 09:31:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,685

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Whenever I turn on the computer I get a message.

When? BIOS/EFI? Your desktop environment?

Please post the output of

xrandr -q
xrandr --listproviders

and your xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Offline

#3 2022-11-23 09:48:09

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

If multi-display is switched off I get the message & cannot even access the bios. I have to unplug the vga cable from the on-board vga port to get back into the bios or be able to at least boot to the desktop. I need to switch on multi-display & or set nvidia as the primary display in the bios if I want to boot with the second monitor connected. I am running XFCE with lightdm Here is a copy of my xorg.log....


xrandr -q

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 16384 x 16384
VGA-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
   1920x1200     59.95*+
   1920x1080     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   640x480       59.94  
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

xrandr --listproviders

Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x277 cap: 0x1, Source Output crtcs: 4 outputs: 3 associated providers: 0 name:NVIDIA-0

If I try to switch to any tty it will open on the second monitor, but only tty7 with my graphical desktop will appear on my main monitor. The tty will be perfectly usable on the second monitor. but my main monitor will go black. I just want my desktop to appear on both monitors & for my new monitor to be vertical....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-23 10:16:15)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#4 2022-11-23 10:19:48

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

I doubt this is you case... Anyway...
Here at work we're having problems with Dell machines' DisplayPorts (Intel iGPU). VGA works always perfectly, instead.
A workaround we find out is: firstly connect one monitor via VGA and boot into Windows; then attach a second monitor to DisplayPort1, unplug the 1st monitor (VGA) and then attach it via DisplayPort2.


Are your both monitors connected via VGA onto Intel and nVIDIA?
I mean:
- nVIDIA (VGA_out) ---> VGA cable ---> monitor (VGA_in)
- Intel (VGA_out) ---> VGA cable ---> monitor (VGA_in)


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#5 2022-11-23 10:26:09

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

d.ALT wrote:

I doubt this is you case... Anyway...
Here at work we're having problems with Dell machines' DisplayPorts (Intel iGPU). VGA works always perfectly, instead.
A workaround we find out is: firstly connect one monitor via VGA and boot into Windows; then attach a second monitor to DisplayPort1, unplug the 1st monitor (VGA) and then attach it via DisplayPort2.


Are your both monitors connected via VGA onto Intel and nVIDIA?
I mean:
- nVIDIA (VGA_out) ---> VGA cable ---> monitor (VGA_in)
- Intel (VGA_out) ---> VGA cable ---> monitor (VGA_in)

Yes both of my monitors are connected to the computer via vga.
The main monitor is connected to nvidia vga port & my new second monitor is connected to the on-board intel vga port.
Like I said above the new monitor that is connected to the intel is displaying a tty instead of my desktop that is on my main monitor....


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#6 2022-11-23 10:36:03

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

furycd001 wrote:

Like I said above the new monitor that is connected to the intel is displaying a tty instead of my desktop that is on my main monitor....

OK, so you confrim there is no more issues with hardware itself and / or the UEFI ecosystem. Rather you're experiencing troubles within the OS (ArchLinux) layer. Did I understand right?


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#7 2022-11-23 10:39:29

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

d.ALT wrote:
furycd001 wrote:

Like I said above the new monitor that is connected to the intel is displaying a tty instead of my desktop that is on my main monitor....

OK, so you confrim there is no more issues with hardware itself and / or the UEFI ecosystem. Rather you're experiencing troubles within the OS (ArchLinux) layer. Did I understand right?

Yes I'm pretty sure that it is Arch that I am having trouble with. First time actually even trying to use a second monitor with my setup....


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#8 2022-11-23 10:57:35

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Seems Intel GPU isn't even recognized by Xorg...
Post here outputs:

# lspci -vkn

# dmesg

# dmidecode

Also, please report here the Xorg.0.log with only one monitor connected to Intel GPU only.


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#9 2022-11-23 11:04:18

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

d.ALT wrote:

Seems Intel GPU isn't even recognized by Xorg...
Post here outputs:

# lspci -vkn

# dmesg

# dmidecode

Also, please report here the Xorg.0.log with only one monitor connected to Intel GPU only.

lspci -vkn
https://termbin.com/l3ql

dmesg
https://termbin.com/y58i

dmidecode
https://termbin.com/h706e

I have to completely remove the nvidia card in order for it to boot when only connected to the intel port. If I try to boot using only the intel port, while the nvidia card is still connected, I receive a message on screen that start's with.. Attention: Unsupported Video Configuration Detected. Action is Required. I know that the intel vga port works, because I used it for a while before whenever I had no nvidia card installed in the computer....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-23 11:20:44)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#10 2022-11-23 11:58:54

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Post here:

$ cat /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

Is early-KMS loading enabled for the Intel card?


What if you also install Intel drivers (alongside the nVIDIA ones, obviously)?

# pacman -S xf86-video-intel

<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#11 2022-11-23 12:05:34

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

cat /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
https://termbin.com/o93y

Aha how silly of me.. I never even thought about the intel driver. I've just installed it & will reboot now. Brb....

Ok so I installed the driver, then ran mkinitcpio -P & rebooted the system. Everything is still the same, with tty showing on the second monitor....

Is early-KMS loading enabled for the Intel card?

I'm pretty sure it is not. It is whatever the default is....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-23 12:14:09)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#12 2022-11-23 12:36:57

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

It seems multi-display output is unsupported on some models: https://www.dell.com/community/Desktops … ue#M780494
I cant' understand why the Intel card is actually outputting some video.

Boot into Arch without connecting monitor to the Intel GPU.
Run

# dmesg -w

and keep it running while plugging-in the secondary monitor into the Intel GPU's VGA port.

WARNING!!! PAY ATTENTION WHEN PERFORMING FIRMWARE UPDATES!!
Also maybe worth upgrading the Firmware, last version is A29 (18 Jul 2018).
Your is older:

BIOS Information
	Vendor: Dell Inc.
	Version: A16
	Release Date: 09/09/2013

<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#13 2022-11-23 13:04:41

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Whenever I connected the monitor it stayed completely blank & will show nothing at all now. If I reboot it will probably display the tty again.

dmesg -w
https://termbin.com/d91a

Hmmm I'll probably do that firmware update in a week or so. Again never thought about that because my computer has pretty much just worked until now. Just wondering.. The dvi port on my nvidia card.. Would I just be better buying a dvi cable & using that port :?


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#14 2022-11-23 13:35:07

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

furycd001 wrote:

Whenever I connected the monitor it stayed completely blank & will show nothing at all now. If I reboot it will probably display the tty again.

This leads me to think there's some sort of "hardware checker" in the POST phase which controls if the Intel iGPU has something connnected to its port; when the iGPU has no connections - and a dGPU (discrete GPU) is found to be attached - the firmware disables the Intel iGPU.



furycd001 wrote:

The dvi port on my nvidia card.. Would I just be better buying a dvi cable & using that port :?

Absolutely. If you don't care using the Intel iGPU (and it doesn't bother you) I'll recommend you to pursue this route rather than upgrading your PC's Firmware.

furycd001 wrote:

Hmmm I'll probably do that firmware update in a week or so. Again never thought about that because my computer has pretty much just worked until now.

You're right.

Last edited by d.ALT (2022-11-23 13:41:35)


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#15 2022-11-23 13:43:29

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Ok so I'm going to just buy a DVI cable & go with that. Seems like way less hassle. Thank you very much for the input & help....


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#16 2022-11-23 14:20:36

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,685

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

I'm not sure that this is a hybrid graphics setup, so unless you're using one GPU and all outputs attached to that, you might not be able to combine them in one desktop.
That being said:


I have to completely remove the nvidia card in order for it to boot when only connected to the intel port.

https://termbin.com/meyzo has an X11 server that only detects the nvidia chip:

[     6.365] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)
[     6.365] (II) Platform probe for /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/drm/card0
[     6.366] (**) OutputClass "nvidia" ModulePath extended to "/usr/lib/nvidia/xorg,/usr/lib/xorg/modules,/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
[     6.366] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 10de:0fc6:1043:848a rev 161, Mem @ 0xf6000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000e000/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
[     6.366] (WW) Open ACPI failed (/var/run/acpid.socket) (No such file or directory)

but the dmesg and lspci in #9 show both chips.

Under which BIOS setting was the Xorg log generated?

I'm not really sure what kind of error message you get there, but suspect that for some reason you're trying to exclusively run on the nvidia chip, disregard the intel one and if the only output is connected to the latter, things expectably fail.

	Using the first device section listed.
[     6.350] (**) |   |-->Device "NVIDIA Card"

Let's first check your X11 config:

ls -R /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*
grep -irE '(intel|i915|nvidia)' /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*

Offline

#17 2022-11-23 20:59:23

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

seth wrote:

I'm not sure that this is a hybrid graphics setup, so unless you're using one GPU and all outputs attached to that, you might not be able to combine them in one desktop.
That being said:


I have to completely remove the nvidia card in order for it to boot when only connected to the intel port.

https://termbin.com/meyzo has an X11 server that only detects the nvidia chip:

[     6.365] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)
[     6.365] (II) Platform probe for /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/drm/card0
[     6.366] (**) OutputClass "nvidia" ModulePath extended to "/usr/lib/nvidia/xorg,/usr/lib/xorg/modules,/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
[     6.366] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 10de:0fc6:1043:848a rev 161, Mem @ 0xf6000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000e000/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
[     6.366] (WW) Open ACPI failed (/var/run/acpid.socket) (No such file or directory)

but the dmesg and lspci in #9 show both chips.

Under which BIOS setting was the Xorg log generated?

I'm not really sure what kind of error message you get there, but suspect that for some reason you're trying to exclusively run on the nvidia chip, disregard the intel one and if the only output is connected to the latter, things expectably fail.

	Using the first device section listed.
[     6.350] (**) |   |-->Device "NVIDIA Card"

Let's first check your X11 config:

ls -R /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*
grep -irE '(intel|i915|nvidia)' /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*

ls -R /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d:
20-nvidia.conf

/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d:
10-nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf  10-quirks.conf  40-libinput.conf

grep -irE '(intel|i915|nvidia)' /{etc,usr/share}/X11/xorg.conf*

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf:        Identifier "NVIDIA Card"
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf:        Driver     "nvidia"
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf:        VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf:    Identifier "nvidia"
/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf:    MatchDriver "nvidia-drm"
/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf:    Driver "nvidia"
/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-nvidia-drm-outputclass.conf:    ModulePath "/usr/lib/nvidia/xorg"

R O S E . . . .

Offline

#18 2022-11-23 21:51:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,685

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

Please post the entire /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf and answer

seth wrote:

Under which BIOS setting was the Xorg log [ in https://termbin.com/meyzo ] generated?

Offline

#19 2022-11-24 08:18:37

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

My xorg log was from when I had nvidia set as default in my bios & my second monitor was connected & displaying the tty. Here is a fresh copy of my Xorg.0.log with exactly the same setup & a copy of my 20-nvidia.conf.
Must note that although the second monitor is displaying a tty, it does not appear in my XFCE display settings or in xrandr, but it does however show up in lspci....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-24 09:54:15)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

#20 2022-11-24 12:25:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,685

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

with exactly the same setup

This time though, both GPUs show up in the xorg log.

https://termbin.com/9am1 is nonsensical

Section "Device"
        Identifier "NVIDIA Card"
        Driver     "nvidia"
        VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName  "GeForce GTX 650"
EndSection

Aside from a (cosmetic) Identifier, this section does nothing.

While

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    Option         "ForceFullCompositionPipeline" "on"
    Option         "AllowIndirectGLXProtocol" "off"
    Option         "TripleBuffer" "on"
EndSection

this section defines a screen, but references a nonexisting device and monitor.

Move the file away for the moment, restart X11 w/ the same BIOS config - make sure these two lines show up

[     6.515] (--) PCI: (0@0:2:0) 8086:0152:1028:0577 rev 9, Mem @ 0xf7400000/4194304, 0xd0000000/268435456, I/O @ 0x0000f000/64
[     6.515] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 10de:0fc6:1043:848a rev 161, Mem @ 0xf6000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000e000/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072

and post the updated X11 log.

Offline

#21 2022-11-24 12:41:07

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED] Multi-monitor setup with both nvidia & intel....

seth wrote:

with exactly the same setup

This time though, both GPUs show up in the xorg log.

https://termbin.com/9am1 is nonsensical

Section "Device"
        Identifier "NVIDIA Card"
        Driver     "nvidia"
        VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName  "GeForce GTX 650"
EndSection

Aside from a (cosmetic) Identifier, this section does nothing.

While

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    Option         "ForceFullCompositionPipeline" "on"
    Option         "AllowIndirectGLXProtocol" "off"
    Option         "TripleBuffer" "on"
EndSection

this section defines a screen, but references a nonexisting device and monitor.

Move the file away for the moment, restart X11 w/ the same BIOS config - make sure these two lines show up

[     6.515] (--) PCI: (0@0:2:0) 8086:0152:1028:0577 rev 9, Mem @ 0xf7400000/4194304, 0xd0000000/268435456, I/O @ 0x0000f000/64
[     6.515] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 10de:0fc6:1043:848a rev 161, Mem @ 0xf6000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000e000/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072

and post the updated X11 log.

Ok so after moving 20-nvidia.conf out of the folder, my second monitor is now working smile Now all I need to do is to fix the rotation smile Thank you sooooo much for helping me get this working smile

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-24 13:40:18)


R O S E . . . .

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB