You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-23 11:30:51

scippie
Member
Registered: 2019-06-07
Posts: 136

[SOLVED] Valgrind error, I have no clue

As the error I receive talks about informing the packagers for my Linux distribution, I guess I should post it on the Arch Linux forum.

Summary of what I am trying to achieve: run my project with valgrind to detect memory leaks, something I have been doing for years, but now for the first time since my new pc with new installation (and not having used Linux for a while due to circumstances).

$ valgrind ~/tmp/_proj/zero/test
==125778== Memcheck, a memory error detector
==125778== Copyright (C) 2002-2022, and GNU GPL'd, by Julian Seward et al.
==125778== Using Valgrind-3.19.0 and LibVEX; rerun with -h for copyright info
==125778== Command: /home/me/tmp/_proj/zero/test
==125778== 

valgrind:  Fatal error at startup: a function redirection
valgrind:  which is mandatory for this platform-tool combination
valgrind:  cannot be set up.  Details of the redirection are:
valgrind:  
valgrind:  A must-be-redirected function
valgrind:  whose name matches the pattern:      strlen
valgrind:  in an object with soname matching:   ld-linux-x86-64.so.2
valgrind:  was not found whilst processing
valgrind:  symbols from the object with soname: ld-linux-x86-64.so.2
valgrind:  
valgrind:  Possible fixes: (1, short term): install glibc's debuginfo
valgrind:  package on this machine.  (2, longer term): ask the packagers
valgrind:  for your Linux distribution to please in future ship a non-
valgrind:  stripped ld.so (or whatever the dynamic linker .so is called)
valgrind:  that exports the above-named function using the standard
valgrind:  calling conventions for this platform.  The package you need
valgrind:  to install for fix (1) is called
valgrind:  
valgrind:    On Debian, Ubuntu:                 libc6-dbg
valgrind:    On SuSE, openSuSE, Fedora, RHEL:   glibc-debuginfo
valgrind:  
valgrind:  Note that if you are debugging a 32 bit process on a
valgrind:  64 bit system, you will need a corresponding 32 bit debuginfo
valgrind:  package (e.g. libc6-dbg:i386).
valgrind:  
valgrind:  Cannot continue -- exiting now.  Sorry.

I really have no clue... Anyone?

Last edited by scippie (2022-11-24 08:13:06)

Offline

#2 2022-11-23 21:46:53

ayekat
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 1,589

Re: [SOLVED] Valgrind error, I have no clue

How exactly (which flags etc.) do you build your program?

More precisely, did you enable anything like address sanitizer (or other profiling/debugging)? The two don't play well together.


pkgshackscfgblag

Offline

#3 2022-11-23 22:20:04

scippie
Member
Registered: 2019-06-07
Posts: 136

Re: [SOLVED] Valgrind error, I have no clue

I use premake to generate build files for me, both in Linux and Windows. I don't think I have changed anything flag-wise since the last time I used valgrind.
If I am using address sanitizer or other profiling/debugging, I am not aware of it, so I don't think so. I wouldn't even know how to do it.

Can you maybe tell me what I should show you?

This is my premake.lua file (removed some lines/items with ... as you get it:

#!lua

solution("test")
  configurations({ "Debug", "Release" })
  location(os.getenv("BUILDLOCATION"))

project("test")
  kind("ConsoleApp")
  language("C++")
  location(os.getenv("BUILDLOCATION"))
  files({
    "main.cpp",
    ...
  })
  includedirs({ ".", os.getenv("BUILDLOCATION") .. "/tmp", ... })
  targetdir(os.getenv("BUILDLOCATION") .. "/.")
  debugdir(".")
  prebuildcommands({
    "mkdir -p tmp",
  })
  
  filter("Debug")
    defines({"DEBUG"})
    symbols("On")
      
  filter("Release")
    defines({"NDEBUG"})
    optimize("On")

  filter({"system:linux", "action:gmake"})
    buildoptions({"-g", "-Werror", "-std=c++17" })
    links({ "m", "SDL2", "GL", "GLU", "GLEW", "tinyxml2", "sqlite3", "lua" })

  filter({"system:windows", "action:gmake"})
    libdirs({ "/mingw64/lib" })
    buildoptions({"-g", "-Werror", "-std=c++17" })
    links({ "m", "SDL2", "opengl32", "glu32", "glew32", "tinyxml2", "sqlite3", "lua" })

I run it with

premake gmake

and

make -j 8

.

Last edited by scippie (2022-11-23 22:21:16)

Offline

#4 2022-11-24 00:57:05

topcat01
Member
Registered: 2019-09-17
Posts: 124

Re: [SOLVED] Valgrind error, I have no clue

Try setting the debuginfo url as described in https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Debuginfod

export DEBUGINFOD_URLS="https://debuginfod.archlinux.org/"

Offline

#5 2022-11-24 08:12:40

scippie
Member
Registered: 2019-06-07
Posts: 136

Re: [SOLVED] Valgrind error, I have no clue

Ok, sorry, never mind... I just had a power outage and it seems that was what I needed... a reboot after installing valgrind (and probably some other packages).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB