You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-25 06:20:02

nibazshab
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 52

[SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

As the title, I don't know how to open tty in GUI, I try to use Ctrl+Alt+F3 - Ctrl+Alt+F6, but nothing happen. I'm sure my keyboard shortcuts have no problem because I never change it

I use GDM + Gnome + Wayland

Last edited by nibazshab (2022-11-28 05:38:07)

Offline

#2 2022-11-25 07:13:20

ekum
Member
Registered: 2022-11-16
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

Sometimes if your keyboard has fn key u have to press ctrl+fn+alt and f2 or f3 to f9 any of those. The F1 is for the current running gui

Offline

#3 2022-11-26 05:48:10

yochananmarqos
Member
Registered: 2020-02-05
Posts: 113
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

Actually TTY1 is GDM and TTY2 is the active session on GNOME.

Offline

#4 2022-11-26 10:18:26

nibazshab
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 52

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

I know TTY1 is GDM, TTY2 is GNOME, so I say F3 - F6, and I try Ctrl+Fn+Alt F3/F4/... . but also no help, nothing happened

Offline

#5 2022-11-26 10:20:30

nibazshab
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 52

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

And I can use "sudo chvt N" ( N -> 3/4/5/6 ), I can go to TTY successfully, and I can come back form TTY by Ctrl+Alt+F1

Offline

#6 2022-11-26 17:23:03

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 7,127

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

Can you ctrl+alt+F4 from tty3, for example? I.e. switch from one VT to another that way? Can you switch with the key combination from GDM to a VT (or gnome)? Just wondering if this is something specific to gnome or more general ....


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#7 2022-11-26 17:29:23

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,786
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

FWIW, one can change between ttys with Alt+F# with no need for the Ctrl key.  Under Xorg one must add the Ctrl so it's Ctrl+Alt+F#, but this is a key combination built into the Xorg server and is not built in to the wayland protocol.  I'd be surprised if major compositors didn't implement these same key combinations just because so many users assume they will be there, but it is not automatic and is entirely up to the compositor and it's configuration.

Having never used gnome, I don't know if mutter on wayland recognizes these keys by default.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#8 2022-11-27 05:21:31

nibazshab
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 52

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

Yeah, I can use Alt+F# from TTY to GDM ( TTY1 ) or others ( TTY2/3... ) , and can Ctrl+Alt+F# from GDM to others ( TTY2/3...(include Gnome) ), I only cann't from Gnome to any

Offline

#9 2022-11-27 12:28:21

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,765
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

Check for any custom keyboard shortcuts that may be intervening. I'm running GNOME Wayland and TTY keyboard switching works just fine here.

Offline

#10 2022-11-28 05:37:46

nibazshab
Member
Registered: 2022-08-25
Posts: 52

Re: [SOLVED] How to go to TTY when I was in Gnome GUI ?

I know the problem, it is "special character input" - "alternate character key", it shouldn't be set at "Left Alt"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB