You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-29 15:56:17

shilmaz
Member
Registered: 2022-11-29
Posts: 4

[SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

I just installed Arch (plasma desktop) , but i can't find wifi networks , I tried to install networkmanager and run the

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

but it shows no output

lspci -k

output :

03:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
        DeviceName: Sanji2 
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 81c1
        Kernel driver in use: rtl8723be
        Kernel modules: rtl8723be

ip link output :

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp2s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 98:e7:f4:dc:f4:cc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlo1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 52:ae:61:aa:80:ef brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff permaddr 94:e9:79:5a:55:21
    altname wlp3s0

i tried

 ip link set wlo1 up 

  but there was bo output

 sudo dmesg | grep firmware

output :
   

  1.399587] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin failed with error -2
[    1.399591] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] Failed to load DMC firmware i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin. Disabling runtime power management.
[    1.399592] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] DMC firmware homepage: https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git/tree/i915
[    1.485613] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for amdgpu/topaz_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    1.485616] amdgpu: cik_mc: Failed to load firmware "amdgpu/topaz_mc.bin"
[    1.485616] [drm:gmc_v7_0_sw_init.cold [amdgpu]] *ERROR* Failed to load mc firmware!
[   12.842664] platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
[   13.190883] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for rtl_bt/rtl8723b_fw.bin failed with error -2
[   13.190886] Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: firmware file rtl_bt/rtl8723b_fw.bin not found
[   13.887617] rtl8723be: Using firmware rtlwifi/rtl8723befw_36.bin
[   13.896012] rtl8723be 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtlwifi/rtl8723befw_36.bin failed with error -2
[   13.896067] rtl8723be 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin failed with error -2
[   13.896076] rtlwifi: Loading alternative firmware rtlwifi/rtl8723befw.bin
[   13.896081] rtlwifi: Selected firmware is not available
[   22.470680] r8169 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw failed with error -2
[   22.470699] r8169 0000:02:00.0: Unable to load firmware rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw (-2)
[  826.231783] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for rtl_bt/rtl8723b_fw.bin failed with error -2
[  826.231786] Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: firmware file rtl_bt/rtl8723b_fw.bin not found
[  826.542206] r8169 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw failed with error -2
[  826.542228] r8169 0000:02:00.0: Unable to load firmware rtl_nic/rtl8106e-1.fw (-2)

Last edited by shilmaz (2022-12-02 21:00:34)

Offline

#2 2022-11-29 15:58:09

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 10,010

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

Offline

#3 2022-11-29 15:58:40

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,786
Website

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

shilmaz wrote:
sudo enable NetworkManager.service

but it shows

command not found

Yup.  And?

There is no command "enable".  You seem to be missing the actual command systemctl.  Please recheck the wiki for instructions.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#4 2022-11-29 16:17:05

shilmaz
Member
Registered: 2022-11-29
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

Trilby wrote:
shilmaz wrote:
sudo enable NetworkManager.service

but it shows

command not found

Yup.  And?

There is no command "enable".  You seem to be missing the actual command systemctl.  Please recheck the wiki for instructions.

I tried

sudo systemctl NetworkManager.service 

shows no output

Last edited by shilmaz (2022-11-29 16:17:29)

Offline

#5 2022-11-29 16:23:06

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 10,010

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

If you won't read the wiki or man pages, Arch is going to be a very bad experience for you.

Offline

#6 2022-11-29 16:30:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 34,920

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

So you abandoned https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=281668

Also the OP "Last edited by shilmaz (Today 17:13)" and it *now* says

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service
but it shows no output


@shilmaz, the problem remains: you're enabling the service, but that doesn't immediately start it.
Also I don't believe the "no output" part, because it'd print that a symlink has been created.

Read the wiki that Scimmia linked in #2

Next up: read https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NetworkManager - eg. https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Networ … i_examples
Even starting NM will not automagically get you somerandom™ wifi carrier.

Offline

#7 2022-11-29 16:45:21

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 27,786
Website

Re: [SOLVED]No available connections (no networks found)

shilmaz wrote:

I tried

sudo systemctl NetworkManager.service 

shows no output

Please be precise.  While that is also not a proper command, I am quite sure it showed some output.  Specifically, it should have returned:

Unknown command verb NetworkManager.service.

Also note that in most cases, actually showing no output is a sign that the command was successful (e.g. in your previous mention of `ip link set <interface> up`, that returned no output because that was a valid command that worked).

If your systemctl command actually returned no output, then perhaps you typed it properly in the terminal and quoted it incorrectly here (edit: it seems this is the case based on edits above).  In which case you would have succesfully enabled the service - but enabling and starting are two different things.  The difference between these two is covered in the wiki pages you've been directed to.

Last edited by Trilby (2022-11-29 16:46:24)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB